Taiyo Yuden

NRS3015T100M - 10uH 700mA Semi-Shielded Power Inductor | Taiyo Yuden

MPN: NRS3015T100M βœ“ Active
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
700 mA Id 264 mOhm Rds(on) 1212 (3.0 mm x 3.0 mm x 1.5 mm), nonstandard Package
From $0.024 USD / Unit
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-05
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $0.1 $0.10
10 $0.06 $0.60
100 $0.036 $3.60
500 $0.03 $15.00
1,000 $0.024 $24.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

NRS3015T100M Overview

The Taiyo Yuden NRS3015T100M is a 10 uH semi-shielded drum-core, wirewound SMD power inductor rated for 700 mA with a maximum DC resistance of 264 mOhm, housed in a compact nonstandard 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) surface-mount case.

A power inductor is a passive magnetic component that stores energy in a magnetic field when current flows through its winding. Within the power-management hierarchy, it sits at the component level of a DC-DC converter stage: a voltage regulator (power management IC) uses the inductor, together with switching MOSFETs and output capacitors, to convert one DC voltage to another. Power inductors are characterized by inductance, saturation and rated current, DC resistance (DCR), and the degree of magnetic shielding.

The NRS3015T100M belongs to Taiyo Yuden's NR/NRS series of SMD power inductors. Its semi-shielded drum-core construction confines most of the magnetic flux within the component body, reducing coupling into neighboring circuits compared with fully open drum-core designs while avoiding the higher DCR of fully shielded types. The M suffix denotes a 20% inductance tolerance, and the part is wound with copper wire on a magnetic drum core to achieve 10 uH in a small footprint.

Key engineering figures are the 700 mA rated current, 264 mOhm maximum DCR (which sets the DC copper loss, roughly 0.13 W at rated current - estimate based on I2R using 0.7 A squared times 0.264 Ohm), and the 3.0 x 3.0 mm footprint with a low 1.5 mm profile. These figures suit buck and boost converter outputs in the few-hundred-milliamp class.

Typical applications include point-of-load buck converter output filters in portable and battery-powered devices, LED driver rails, DC-DC modules for IoT and wearables, and general-purpose power supply decoupling and ripple filtering.

When designing with this inductor, verify that the peak switching current including ripple remains below the saturation rating of the part, and keep high di/dt loop areas small by placing the inductor directly adjacent to the switching regulator pins.

This page synthesizes verified distributor pricing, drop-in alternatives, and practical design notes not found in the manufacturer datasheet.

Drop-in alternatives for NRS3015T100M β€” same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Quick Comparison Tool β€” Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

NRS3015T100MNGH

βœ… Drop-In
πŸ“¦ 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) nonstandard
same series and ratings (10 uH, 700 mA, 264 mOhm); NGH suffix denotes terminal finish/packaging code, electrically identical

πŸ“‹ Reference alternative (not in catalog)

NR3015T100M

βœ… Drop-In
πŸ“¦ 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) nonstandard
rated current 710 mA vs 700 mA (+1.4%); DCR 276 mOhm vs 264 mOhm (+4.5%); same footprint and construction

πŸ“‹ Reference alternative (not in catalog)

NRS3015T100M Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Inductance 10 uH
Inductance Tolerance +/-20% (M)
Rated Current 700 mA
Max DC Resistance (DCR) 264 mOhm
Type Semi-Shielded Drum Core, Wirewound
Series NRS (NR Series S Type)
Package Size 1212 (3.0 mm x 3.0 mm x 1.5 mm), nonstandard
Mounting Type Surface Mount
Termination Style 2-terminal SMD pads
Core Material Magnetic drum core (semi-shielded)
Shielding Semi-shielded

NRS3015T100M 1212 (3.0 mm x 3.0 mm x 1.5 mm), nonstandard Pin Configuration Guide

Pin configuration for NRS3015T100M (1212 (3.0 mm x 3.0 mm x 1.5 mm), nonstandard package). Pin numbering, functions, and connection diagrams are defined in the manufacturer datasheet. Refer to it for the exact footprint and soldering guidelines.

1212 (3.0 mm x 3.0 mm x 1.5 mm), nonstandard package pinout diagram for NRS3015T100M

No detailed pinout data available for NRS3015T100M.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Typical Applications

NRS3015T100M is suitable for 6 applications: Portable Buck Converter Output Filter, IoT Node and Wearable Power Rails, LED Driver Constant-Current Rails, Industrial Sensor and Control Modules, USB Peripheral and Hub Power Filtering, RF Module and Precision Analog Supply Decoupling.

πŸ“±

Portable Buck Converter Output Filter

In battery-powered portable electronics, a point-of-load buck converter steps a lithium-ion rail (3.0-4.2 V) down to 1.8 V or 2.5 V for MCUs, memory, and sensors. The NRS3015T100M fits this role because its 10 uH inductance keeps ripple current low at typical 1-2 MHz switching frequencies - at 1 MHz with 3.7 V input and 1.8 V output, ripple current is roughly (VIN-VOUT) x D / (f x L), about 1 mA per uH-scale tens of milliamps, well within the 700 mA rating. The 264 mOhm DCR limits DC copper loss to about 0.13 W at full load (estimate), preserving battery runtime, while the semi-shielded drum core confines flux so switching harmonics do not radiate into nearby RF or analog circuitry. Place the inductor within 2-3 mm of the regulator SW and BOOT pins to shrink the hot loop.

🧩

IoT Node and Wearable Power Rails

Wearable and IoT devices demand power components with low profile and modest current ratings. The NRS3015T100M's 1.5 mm maximum height and 3.0 x 3.0 mm footprint fit the thin stacks of smart badges, sensor tags, and BLE nodes, while its 700 mA rating covers the transmit-burst current of Bluetooth Low Energy and sub-GHz radio power amplifiers. The semi-shielded construction is important on such dense boards: open drum-core inductors at 10 uH can couple millivolt-level spikes into nearby crystal or antenna traces, whereas the NR-series magnetic body reduces stray field. At light load, DCR of 264 mOhm contributes only a few millivolts of drop at 20-50 mA sleep-mode rails. Verify the part's saturation behavior against radio TX burst currents using the datasheet inductance-vs-current curves before layout sign-off.

πŸ’‘

LED Driver Constant-Current Rails

Low-power LED drivers, whether switching buck topologies or linear boost stages, require an energy-transfer inductor sized for the string current. For LED strings drawing 300-600 mA - typical of indicator panels, small luminaires, and backlit displays - the NRS3015T100M's 700 mA rating provides margin, and the semi-shielded core prevents visible flicker mechanisms caused by radiated coupling into sense circuits. Its 10 uH value smooths the driver's switching ripple so LED current ripple stays low, protecting against visible artifacts and long-term color shift. The 264 mOhm DCR is acceptable at this current (about 0.07-0.10 W estimated dissipation at 0.5-0.6 A), though in sealed luminaires where ambient exceeds 70 C, derate the current per the manufacturer's temperature-rise data in the NR-series specification.

🏭

Industrial Sensor and Control Modules

Industrial sensor heads, 4-20 mA transmitters, and PLC I/O modules use 24 V buses that must be stepped down and filtered. The NRS3015T100M serves in the intermediate DC-DC stages that generate 5 V or 3.3 V rails for the analog front end. Its semi-shielded construction helps meet EMC expectations in electrically noisy factory environments by limiting stray magnetic coupling into milli-volt-level sensor signals carried on adjacent traces. The +/-20% M-code tolerance is adequate for power-rail filtering where inductance precision is not critical. At industrial ambient temperatures, verify the current derating in the datasheet temperature-rise curves, and maintain creepage/clearance around the inductor pads per the module's isolation plan when the inductor sits on the isolated secondary side of the design.

πŸ”§

USB Peripheral and Hub Power Filtering

USB-powered peripherals, hubs, and dongles derive 3.3 V and 1.x V rails from the 5 V VBUS through compact buck converters. The NRS3015T100M, rated 700 mA, matches typical bus-powered device budgets (USB 2.0 allows 500 mA unit load; downstream rails are lower). The 10 uH inductance filters the switching node so conducted emissions on the cable stay within USB and CISPR-style conducted-emission budgets, and the semi-shielded body prevents coupling into the nearby USB differential pair routing. With 264 mOhm DCR, the IR drop at 400 mA is about 106 mV (estimate), which must be budgeted in the rail's total droop allocation. Keep the inductor and its output capacitor loop tight and away from the D+/D- pair to preserve signal integrity.

🌐

RF Module and Precision Analog Supply Decoupling

RF modules and precision analog front ends are highly sensitive to supply-borne ripple. A common architecture places a switching converter followed by the NRS3015T100M as part of a pi-filter or output stage, then an ultra-low-noise LDO for the final RF/analog rail. The 10 uH inductance presents high impedance at switching frequencies of 1-2 MHz and above, isolating the LDO from regulator ripple, while 264 mOhm DCR adds only modest DC drop. The semi-shielded drum core matters here because open-core inductors radiate flux that can induce spurs directly into VCO or LNA circuitry. Keep the inductor's field excluded from sensitive nodes by orientation and spacing, and follow with a low-noise LDO to achieve microvolt-level rail noise for the RF block.

Recommended Products Summary

TPS62740 Low-IQ buck converter paired with output inductor Used in: Portable Buck Converter Output Filter TPS62203 Buck regulator for 300 mA-class rails Used in: Portable Buck Converter Output Filter NRF52840 BLE SoC supplied from filtered buck rail Used in: IoT Node and Wearable Power Rails TPS7A0212 Post-inductor low-noise LDO Used in: IoT Node and Wearable Power Rails LM3405 1 A buck LED driver for inductor-based topology Used in: LED Driver Constant-Current Rails TL431 Texas Instruments Used in: LED Driver Constant-Current Rails LMR51430 Industrial buck regulator generating filtered rail Used in: Industrial Sensor and Control Modules TLV703 Low-IQ LDO post-regulator Used in: Industrial Sensor and Control Modules TLV62568 Buck converter for USB-derived rails Used in: USB Peripheral and Hub Power Filtering TPD1E10B06 ESD protection for USB lines Used in: USB Peripheral and Hub Power Filtering TPS7A4701 Ultra-low-noise LDO following the inductor filter Used in: RF Module and Precision Analog Supply Decoupling CC1101 Sub-GHz RF transceiver using filtered supply rail Used in: RF Module and Precision Analog Supply Decoupling
What are the key specifications of NRS3015T100M?
The NRS3015T100M from Taiyo Yuden is a 10 uH semi-shielded drum-core wirewound SMD power inductor. Key figures are 700 mA rated current, 264 mOhm maximum DC resistance, +/-20% (M code) inductance tolerance, and a 1212 nonstandard package of 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm. Per the Taiyo Yuden datasheet for the NR series S type, it is intended for DC-DC converter and power filtering duty in compact surface-mount designs.
What is the price of NRS3015T100M?
As of 2026-09-06, NRS3015T100M pricing starts at approximately $0.0362 per unit in single-reel volume at LCSC, with higher unit prices for cut-tape or sample quantities. On this page XAIPART lists quantity breaks of roughly $0.10 at qty 1 down to about $0.024 at qty 1000, referencing current distributor data. Prices vary by distributor, stock position, and reel quantity, so confirm live pricing before ordering.
Where to buy NRS3015T100M online?
NRS3015T100M can be purchased online from authorized distributors including DigiKey (which stocks it and ships same day), LCSC, and Octopart-listed brokers such as IC-Components and Sierra IC. Octopart reports nine distributors carrying the NR3015/NRS3015 family. XAIPART also lists this part with quantity-break pricing. For production volumes, request quotes from distributors or the factory via franchised channels to ensure genuine, traceable parts.
Is NRS3015T100M in stock?
According to search results as of 2026-09-06, the part is available: DigiKey lists the related NR3015T100M as buy-now with same-day shipping, and LCSC shows NR3015T100M in stock with pricing from $0.0362. Stock levels for the NRS suffix specifically can fluctuate between distributors, so check the live inventory pages of DigiKey and LCSC, or request a quote from brokers like IC-Components if authorized stock is short.
What is the difference between NRS3015T100M and NR3015T100M?
Both are Taiyo Yuden 10 uH semi-shielded drum-core inductors in the same 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm footprint. Per DigiKey data, NR3015T100M is rated 710 mA with 276 mOhm max DCR, while the NRS3015 series variant (for example NRS3015T100MNGH) is rated 700 mA with 264 mOhm max DCR. The NRS series is a later S-type offering with slightly lower DCR and marginally lower rated current; both are footprint-compatible on the same land pattern.
Can NRS3015T100MNGH replace NRS3015T100M?
Yes. According to DigiKey, NRS3015T100MNGH is a 10 uH semi-shielded drum core wirewound inductor rated 700 mA with 264 mOhm max DCR in the same nonstandard 1212 package. The electrical ratings and footprint match the NRS3015T100M, making it a direct substitute in the same series. Verify the ordering code suffix on your BOM, since the NGH code identifies the terminal finish and packaging configuration, but the electrical design is the same.
What is the best drop-in replacement for NRS3015T100M?
The best drop-in replacements are the same-brand family parts NRS3015T100MNGH (700 mA, 264 mOhm, identical footprint) and NR3015T100M (710 mA, 276 mOhm, same 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm semi-shielded drum-core construction). Both land on the identical PCB footprint and stay within 10% of the electrical ratings, so no PCB redesign is required. Cross-brand equivalents in the same 1212 footprint exist at other inductor makers, but confirm exact dimensions, DCR, and current rating against the datasheet before qualifying them.
What is the best competitor equivalent for NRS3015T100M from another brand?
Cross-brand equivalents would be 10 uH, ~700 mA semi-shielded or shielded power inductors in a 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm class footprint, such as comparable parts from Murata, TDK, Bourns, or Coilcraft in their 1212/3030 size ranges. However, the cross-reference data retrieved for this part did not include a verified cross-brand MPN with confirmed pin/land-pattern compatibility, so no specific cross-brand part is asserted here. Use a parametric search on inductance (10 uH +/-20%), rated current (>=700 mA), DCR (<=264 mOhm), and case size (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) to shortlist candidates, then validate the land pattern.
Where to download the NRS3015T100M datasheet PDF?
The datasheet PDF for the NRS3015T100M / NR3015T100M (SMD Power Inductors, NR series, NR series H type, S type, V type) can be downloaded from DigiKey's mirrored spec-sheet link at mm.digikey.com, or from datasheet repositories such as DatasheetQ, Alldatasheet, and Datasheet4U, which host the Taiyo Yuden document. The manufacturer-resident document is the authoritative source; the DigiKey-hosted PDF is a direct copy of the Taiyo Yuden specification sheet and is the quickest verified link.
Where can I find the NRS3015T100M pinout and land pattern?
As a two-terminal passive inductor, the NRS3015T100M has no functional pinout in the IC sense - it has two SMD terminations (terminal 1 and terminal 2), and being a symmetric winding, polarity does not matter. The land-pattern dimensions are given in the Taiyo Yuden NR-series datasheet drawing for the 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm case: two rectangular pads at the bottom face, spaced for the 3.0 mm body width. Download the datasheet PDF for exact pad dimensions before generating your PCB footprint.
How much power does NRS3015T100M dissipate at full load?
Estimated: at the 700 mA rated current and 264 mOhm maximum DCR, DC copper loss is I2R = 0.7 A squared x 0.264 Ohm, approximately 0.13 W. In a switching converter, total loss also includes AC winding and core losses that depend on switching frequency and ripple current, which are not specified in the retrieved data. For thermal design, budget roughly 0.15-0.25 W total at rated load in elevated-ambient conditions and verify by measurement at your actual operating point.
Is NRS3015T100M suitable for a buck converter output filter?
Yes. The NRS3015T100M is designed as an SMD power inductor for DC-DC converter duty: 10 uH inductance and 700 mA rating suit low-power buck outputs, for example converting 5 V to 3.3 V at a few hundred milliamps. With 264 mOhm DCR the DC copper loss is low (about 0.13 W estimated at rated current), and the semi-shielded drum core limits radiated flux that could couple into nearby analog traces. Verify that peak current including inductor ripple stays within the saturation rating, and place the part close to the switching regulator to minimize the hot loop.
What is the saturation current of NRS3015T100M?
The saturation current of the NRS3015T100M is not stated in the verified web data retrieved for this page - the distributor summaries only specify the 700 mA rated (temperature-rise) current and 264 mOhm max DCR. The saturation rating (the current at which inductance drops a defined percentage, typically 10-30%) is given in the full Taiyo Yuden NR-series datasheet curves and is usually close to, but not identical with, the rated current. Download the datasheet and check the inductance-versus-current graph before relying on saturation behavior in your design.
When should I choose NRS3015T100M over NR3015T100M?
Choose NRS3015T100M when lowest DC resistance matters: at 264 mOhm max it is about 4% lower than the 276 mOhm of NR3015T100M, improving efficiency slightly and reducing heat at load. Choose NR3015T100M when the highest available current rating matters, since it is rated 710 mA versus 700 mA - a negligible 1.4% difference. Both share the same 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm semi-shielded drum-core footprint, so either lands on the same PCB. In practice the decision usually comes down to which suffix your distributor has in stock at better pricing.
Hey Google, what can replace NRS3015T100M?
You can replace the NRS3015T100M with NRS3015T100MNGH, a same-series Taiyo Yuden part with identical 10 uH, 700 mA, 264 mOhm ratings in the same package, or with NR3015T100M, which is also 10 uH and footprint-compatible at 710 mA and 276 mOhm. Both are drop-in substitutes requiring no PCB change. Any other 10 uH, 700 mA-class, semi-shielded SMD power inductor in a 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm case can work electrically, but verify land-pattern dimensions and DCR against the datasheet before qualifying a new vendor.
Is NRS3015T100M RoHS compliant and lead-free?
The RoHS and lead-free status of NRS3015T100M was not explicitly stated in the verified web data retrieved for this page, so it cannot be asserted here. As a current-generation Taiyo Yuden NR/NRS series SMD inductor, the series is generally produced in lead-free, RoHS-compatible finishes, and the NGH suffix variant of the same series is listed by DigiKey as an active stock item, which typically implies RoHS compliance for modern production. Confirm the compliance status on the Taiyo Yuden product page or the distributor RoHS certificate before finalizing your BOM documentation.

Engineering reference data for NRS3015T100M β€” comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose the NRS3015T100M when you need 10 uH at currents up to 700 mA in a compact 3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm semi-shielded package and minimizing DCR matters - its 264 mOhm is about 4.5% lower than the NR3015T100M's 276 mOhm, improving efficiency slightly in always-on battery rails. Choose NR3015T100M instead if you want the marginally higher 710 mA rating or it is the suffix your distributor stocks at better pricing; both land on the identical footprint with no PCB change. Choose NRS3015T100MNGH when you need an electrically identical same-series part under its ordering-code designation. For currents well above 700 mA, or where full flux containment is mandatory (very dense RF layouts), step up to a fully shielded molded inductor of the same inductance and footprint class instead. Always confirm saturation current and temperature derating against the Taiyo Yuden NR-series datasheet curves at your operating point before final qualification.

Comparison with Alternatives

Parameter This Product NRS3015T100MNGH NR3015T100M
Package 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) nonstandard 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) nonstandard - same 1212 (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) nonstandard - same
Brand Taiyo Yuden Taiyo Yuden Taiyo Yuden
Inductance 10 uH 10 uH 10 uH
Rated Current 700 mA 700 mA 710 mA
Max DCR 264 mOhm 264 mOhm 276 mOhm
Construction Semi-shielded drum core, wirewound Semi-shielded drum core, wirewound Semi-shielded drum core, wirewound

Key Differentiators

  • Lower DC resistance in the same footprint (vs NR3015T100M)
  • Semi-shielded construction with compact 1.5 mm profile (vs Open drum-core alternatives of equal inductance)
  • Trade-off: slightly lower rated current than NR3015T100M (vs NR3015T100M)

Design Notes

Distinguish rated current from saturation current. The 700 mA figure for the NRS3015T100M is the rating published by distributors; the saturation current (inductance-drop limit) is a separate curve in the Taiyo Yuden NR-series datasheet. In a buck converter, peak inductor current equals output current plus half the ripple. Estimated example: for 5 V to 3.3 V at 500 mA with 1 MHz switching and 10 uH, ripple is about (5-3.3)x0.66/(1e6x10e-6) ~ 112 mA, so peak current is roughly 556 mA. Confirm this peak stays within both the rated and saturation curves, including transients.

Place the inductor directly adjacent to the switching regulator: the SW-pin-to-inductor-to-input-capacitor loop carries the full switching current and dominates radiated emissions. Use short, wide traces (at least 0.5 mm wide for 700 mA-class currents to keep IR drop and heating low), and connect the inductor output pad directly to the output capacitor with a solid pour. Do not route signal traces under the inductor body; although semi-shielded, the drum core still leaks flux at the terminal ends. Keep at least 2 mm spacing to sensitive analog routing.

Estimated thermal load: at the 700 mA rating with 264 mOhm max DCR, DC copper loss is approximately 0.13 W (0.7 A squared x 0.264 Ohm). Add AC winding and core losses at your switching frequency, typically bringing total loss to 0.15-0.25 W in the 1-2 MHz class. This is a wirewound part on a small 3.0 x 3.0 mm pad set, so copper area under the pads is the main heatsink; provide at least a small ground pour connected to adjacent thermal vias if ambient exceeds 70 C. Verify winding temperature against the datasheet temperature-rise derating curves.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Unknown
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Not Applicable
Lead Free
Unknown
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

Compliance status was not explicitly stated in the retrieved web data. Confirm on the Taiyo Yuden product page or distributor RoHS certificates. AEC-Q100 is not applicable to passive inductors.

Data verified on: 2026-09-06 β€” data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

NRS3015T100M NRS3015T100M datasheet Taiyo Yuden NRS3015T100M 10uH 700mA semi-shielded SMD power inductor NR series SMD power inductor 3.0x3.0x1.5mm NRS3015T100M buck converter inductor NRS3015T100M vs NR3015T100M NRS3015T100M equivalent replacement NRS3015T100M price buy what is the DCR of NRS3015T100M 10uH power inductor for wearable IoT

Related Components & Terms

Taiyo Yuden NRS3015T100M NRS3015T100MNGH NR3015T100M NR series power inductor semi-shielded drum core wirewound inductor SMD inductor inductor passive component DCR (DC resistance) rated current saturation current 1212 package (3.0 x 3.0 x 1.5 mm) surface mount buck converter DC-DC converter IoT LED driver RoHS
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details β€” our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
βœ“
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details