Coralboard SL availability and Coralboard SR shift embedded AI sourcing

Synaptics added general DigiKey ordering for Coralboard SL and introduced the lower-power Coralboard SR, giving design teams two distinct Torq-based platforms to evaluate.

Published Updated 3 min read ✓ AI-ready Share

TL;DR — three sentences

  • Coralboard SL became generally orderable through DigiKey with an Astra SL2619 and 1 TOPS NPU. (S1)
  • Coralboard SR uses an Astra SR250-series processor with a 400 GOPS NPU; immediate ordering was not confirmed. (S1)
  • Both platforms use Torq, but memory, cores and operating environments differ. (S1)

Taken from key_takeaways (real field, max 3 entries). Fact and analysis are labelled separately.

Coralboard SL availability and Coralboard SR shift embedded AI sourcingEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Power motif; headline "Coralboard SL availability and Coralboard SR shift embedded AI sourcing". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Coralboard SL availability andCoralboard SR shift embedded AI sourcingXAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

You arrived from an AI answer — this is the verifiable original

An AI summary may have dropped the basis for its claims. The original forecast, the affected parts and every citation are on this page, each traceable to its source.

XAIPART forecast

This brief carries a falsifiable forecast.

Affected parts

No catalog match for this story — nothing is shown rather than inferring a match.

Reported by IN Electronics and Design on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

Synaptics made Coralboard SL generally available through DigiKey, with the board built around an Astra SL2619 processor and a 1 TOPS Torq/Coral NPU.S1 The processor combines two Arm Cortex-A55 application cores operating at up to 2GHz and one Cortex-M52 processor.S1 Its supported Coral technology was developed through Synaptics' collaboration with Google Research.S1

Synaptics also introduced Coralboard SR, which uses an Astra SR250-series processor from the SR200 family.S1 This board pairs an Arm Cortex-M85 core operating at up to 800MHz, an additional Cortex-M52 and a Torq/Coral NPU rated at 400 GOPS.S1 The source did not confirm immediate worldwide ordering through DigiKey for SR.S1

Both boards use the open-source Torq compiler and runtime, while their hardware configurations remain different.S1 SL includes 2GB of DDR4 memory, NOR flash, a microSD interface, CSI, DSI, USB, Qwiic, mikroBUS and an M.2 expansion slot.S1 SR supports up to 8MB of integrated SRAM and up to 256MB of custom high-bandwidth DRAM, along with camera, display, image-signal-processing and digital-microphone resources.S1

MetricReported valueSource
SL NPU capacity1 TOPSS1
SR NPU capacity400 GOPSS1
SL memory2GB DDR4S1
Selected Gemma output rateApproximately 12 to 16 generated tokens per secondS1

Background timeline

  1. - Synaptics introduced an earlier limited-edition Coral development board.S1
  2. - Synaptics announced general distribution of Coralboard SL through DigiKey and introduced Coralboard SR.S1

XAIPART take

Technical impact

XAIPART analysis: Engineering teams should treat 1 TOPS and 400 GOPS as accelerator peaks rather than application throughput. Model precision, supported operators, memory transfers and preprocessing or decoding determine achievable latency.

XAIPART analysis: Portability should be tested at the operator, numerical-precision and memory-footprint levels because the shared Torq toolchain does not make SL and SR interchangeable. Representative sensor and audio pipelines must be benchmarked rather than isolated model runs.

Market impact

XAIPART analysis: SL's immediate DigiKey ordering gives procurement teams an acquisition route, while the absence of confirmed ordering for SR limits supply-chain planning for that option. The source did not disclose prices, lead times or production quantities.

XAIPART analysis: Buyers should preserve platform flexibility until operating-system, memory and peripheral requirements are settled; neither development board automatically defines a production module or validated end equipment.

Action

XAIPART analysis: Request DigiKey quotation and availability data for Coralboard SL, then map required camera, storage, networking and expansion interfaces against its board resources. Track SR commercial terms separately rather than assuming launch equals orderability.

XAIPART analysis: Evaluate representative inference workloads using intended quantization settings, then budget for power delivery, thermal design, electromagnetic compatibility and production conversion. The development kit does not establish production readiness.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART analysis: XAIPART expects a published lead time for Coralboard SR within 6 months of the announcement; if Synaptics or DigiKey does not disclose a lead time of 12 weeks or less by , this forecast is wrong.XAIPART analysis

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. This is a single-source report, and SR availability, pricing and lead time remain unconfirmed.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Alternatives and lifecycle

Alternatives on file — catalog scope, not a market ranking
PartRelationLifecycleBasis
— No alternative on file NEEDS DATA — Requires match_type before any predecessor label may appear

“Predecessor” and “alternative” labels come only from a recorded match type, a lifecycle status, or the source text. Where no match is recorded, no label is shown. Our own listings are not a market reference.

What to watch

Falsifiable forecast — threshold, window and current status. Disproved forecasts stay visible.
ClaimThresholdByStatus
: XAIPART expects a published lead time for Coralboard SR within 6 months of the announcement Synaptics or DigiKey does not disclose a lead time of 12 weeks or less by April 20, 2027 Pending

Forecasts that turn out wrong are kept visible and marked. We do not delete them.

Affected parts

No catalog match. This story does not map to any part currently listed on XAIPART. We do not infer matches, and we do not show a placeholder list.

Cost pressure by dimension

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.2546, neutral. Composite index -9.1, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.2546 · neutral5 dcomposite −9.1 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt52 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu5 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

How this was produced

Process evidence — fetch, source sanity, model and gate
Audit trail for this brief
Source fetched IN Electronics and Design · www.inelectronics.co.uk · 7,639 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,959 tokens · 11.3s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 6/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.01557 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Every row above is produced by the pipeline, not written by hand.

Editorial score

Deterministic gate result — pure PHP, no model involvement in the verdict
Gate score breakdown 6 applicable checks, 6 passed: 100 percent. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.9405. Applicable checks passed 6 / 6 = 100% · verdict: hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.9405 The gate decides publication. The independent audit score is advisory only.
Found an error? Tell us what is wrong — corrections are published alongside the original text and logged. We do not silently edit articles.

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Sources

  1. Synaptics expands the Coralboard family: SL on DigiKey and a new SR board with 400 GOPS of AI — https://www.inelectronics.co.uk/synaptics-expands-coralboard-hardware-for-embedded-ai · rss · accessed

Facts are marked S1/S2 and trace to the linked source. Passages labelled analysis are XAIPART's own reasoning, kept separate from reported facts. Source links are followed rather than nofollow — attribution is intentional.