PIC16F723A-I/SO 8-Bit MCU: Specifications, Design Guide, Alternatives, and Sourcing

PIC16F723A-I/SO 8-Bit MCU: Specifications, Design Guide, Alternatives, and Sourcing
PIC16F723A-I/SO guide covering 20 MHz performance, 7 KB Flash, 1.8–5.5 V operation, pinout, alternatives, pricing, and availability.

অনুযায়ী PIC16(L)F722A/723A/732A/733A Family Data Sheet, এই প্রতিবেদন ক্রয় দলের কী উন্নয়নকে সংক্ষেপে প্রস্তুত করে

PIC16F723A-I/SO

Quick Answers — What Should Engineers Know About the PIC16F723A-I/SO?

The PIC16F723A-I/SO is an active, 28-pin SOIC 8-bit microcontroller from Microchip Technology for low-power embedded-control designs. It combines a 20 MHz maximum CPU frequency, 7 KB (4K x 14 words) of self-programmable Flash, 192 bytes of RAM, 128 bytes of EEPROM, and a 1.8 V to 5.5 V operating range. Its integrated 10-bit ADC supports up to 11 channels, while MSSP, Enhanced USART, timers, and PWM modules reduce external component requirements. The current database record lists 99,999 units in stock, and the base price is $1.38 as of 2026-11-01.

Verified PIC16F723A-I/SO specifications
ParameterVerified value
ArchitecturePIC 8-bit, Enhanced Mid-Range, 14-bit instruction word
Maximum CPU frequency20 MHz
Program memory7 KB (4K x 14 words)
RAM / EEPROM192 bytes / 128 bytes
Supply voltage1.8 V to 5.5 V
ADC10-bit, up to 11 channels
CommunicationsMSSP supporting I²C and SPI; Enhanced USART
Package and temperature28-pin, 300-mil SOIC; -40 °C to +85 °C

Engineering takeaway: Select the PIC16F723A-I/SO when a design needs a 20 MHz 8-bit MCU, 7 KB of Flash, mixed-voltage flexibility from 1.8 V to 5.5 V, and integrated serial, analog, and timing resources in an industrial-temperature SOIC package.

Technical Guide — How Do You Select and Design In the PIC16F723A-I/SO?

The PIC16F723A-I/SO fits compact control systems that must balance code capacity, analog measurement, serial connectivity, and standby power. It uses the PIC 8-bit Enhanced Mid-Range architecture with a 14-bit instruction word and an 8x8 hardware multiplier. The device operates as a conventional single-chip embedded controller rather than requiring separate program memory, data memory, and several basic interface blocks.

Core resources and verified interfaces
ResourceVerified specificationDesign relevance
CPU20 MHz maximum frequency; 200 ns instruction cycle at 20 MHzSupports deterministic control and time-based peripherals
Flash7 KB (4K x 14 words), self-programmableStores application firmware and supports firmware-controlled self-programming
RAM192 bytesProvides working data and stack within one MCU
EEPROM128 bytesStores settings or calibration data across power cycles
ADC10-bit resolution, up to 11 channelsAccepts multiple analog sensor inputs
TimersTwo 8-bit timers and one 16-bit timerSupports timing, counting, and periodic control tasks
Capture/Compare/PWMOne ECCP and one CCPGenerates PWM and handles capture or compare operations
Serial interfacesMSSP for I²C or SPI; Enhanced USARTConnects sensors, displays, radios, and other serial devices
I/O25 I/O pinsProvides direct connections for keys, indicators, and discrete interfaces

1. Confirm the memory budget before committing

Start with the 7 KB Flash limit. The PIC16F722A-I/SO provides only 3.5 KB, while the PIC16F726-I/SO provides 14 KB in the verified alternative data. If firmware, bootloader, calibration data, and protocol handling cannot fit within 7 KB, moving to the 14 KB device avoids reducing functionality to fit the memory ceiling.

The MCU also includes 192 bytes of RAM and 128 bytes of EEPROM. Use RAM for volatile working data and EEPROM for nonvolatile settings or calibration constants. The Flash memory is self-programmable, allowing firmware-controlled update operations, while the programming interface supports in-circuit programming through the PGC and PGD functions listed on pins 27 and 28.

Action: Compile the complete firmware and bootloader before layout release, and confirm that both remain within the 7 KB program-memory limit.

2. Plan the power rail and operating range

The supported VDD range is 1.8 V to 5.5 V, which allows the same MCU family to cover low-voltage sensor nodes and direct 5 V designs. The absolute maximum VDD is 7.5 V and must not be exceeded during hot-plug events. The -I/SO suffix identifies the industrial-temperature device, with a verified operating range of -40 °C to +85 °C.

For a design with a 3.3 V rail, the proposed supply lies inside the supported range. Plan the regulator and decoupling for the full industrial temperature range and confirm that brown-out-reset thresholds configured through the configuration words match the system’s supply behavior. Do not treat the absolute maximum rating as an operating target.

Action: Check worst-case supply voltage, hot-plug transients, and configured brown-out behavior before releasing the power tree.

3. Choose the clock source by accuracy and power requirements

The internal oscillator is specified at 16 MHz with ±1% typical accuracy. It supports designs that do not need an external crystal and can reduce board area and component count. The verified family description also identifies a 4x PLL path for deriving 20 MHz from the internal 16 MHz oscillator. An external crystal or oscillator can instead use the OSC1 and OSC2 pins when the design requires that clock arrangement.

Verified clock and timing data
ParameterVerified value
Maximum CPU frequency20 MHz
Instruction cycle time200 ns at 20 MHz
Internal oscillator16 MHz, ±1% accuracy

Action: Use the internal oscillator when ±1% typical accuracy is sufficient; otherwise allocate the board area and pins for an external clock source.

4. Map analog and serial signals to the verified pins

RA0 through RA7 provide analog-capable inputs, including AN0 through AN7, while RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4, RB5, and RB0 also carry designated analog functions. The database describes the ADC as 10-bit with up to 11 channels. Use those analog inputs for sensor measurements and select the correct configuration for the signal and reference arrangement. RA3 also carries VREF+, while the internal voltage reference is available as a device resource.

The MSSP pins support either I²C or SPI. RC3 is SCL/SCK, RC4 is SDA/SDI, and RC5 is SDO. The Enhanced USART uses RC6 for TX/CK and RC7 for RX/DT. This arrangement lets a designer connect a serial sensor or radio through MSSP and retain a separate UART path without adding another communications controller.

Functions that commonly drive pin allocation
FunctionRelevant verified pins or resources
ADC inputsRA0/AN0 through RA7/AN7, plus designated RB analog inputs
Positive voltage referenceRA3/AN3/VREF+
I²C or SPIRC3/RC4/RC5 with MSSP
UARTRC6/TX/CK and RC7/RX/DT with Enhanced USART
PWMRC2/CCP1 and RB3/AN9/CCP2
In-circuit programmingRB6/PGC/ICSPCLK and RB7/PGD/ICSPDAT

Action: Reserve the programming pins in the layout and avoid assigning the selected serial interface pins to incompatible functions.

5. Design low-power operation around measured conditions

The verified XLP sleep current is 50 nA typical with the Watchdog Timer disabled. This figure provides a basis for comparing standby architectures, but it is not a complete application power budget. Wake sources, enabled peripherals, I/O states, and operating time still determine the average current.

For a battery-powered sensor node, the device can wake periodically, acquire readings through the ADC, and transmit through the MSSP or Enhanced USART. The 11-channel ADC avoids requiring an external multiplexer for compatible analog inputs, and the internal oscillator can remove an external crystal. For consumer remote controls, the same low-power platform supports button scanning, carrier generation, and infrequent wireless activity.

Action: Calculate the application budget from the 50 nA typical sleep condition plus measured wake and peripheral currents; do not use the sleep figure as the average system consumption.

6. Design production programming and update access

Keep ICSP access available for programming and debugging. Pins 27 and 28 provide the PGC/ICSPCLK and PGD/ICSPDAT functions. Self-programmable Flash supports firmware-controlled update logic, but the application still needs a defined update path and sufficient storage for the intended operation.

The 28-pin 300-mil SOIC package is a surface-mount option with 25 I/O pins. For smaller boards, the PIC16F723A-I/SS uses an SSOP footprint and the verified alternative data identifies a 27% board-area reduction versus SOIC. Its identical pin numbering does not eliminate the need to change the PCB footprint and component placement.

Action: Match the PCB land pattern to the exact package suffix, and preserve a programming path that production and field-update operations can use.

Alternatives & Comparison — Which Verified PIC16 Options Fit the Same Design?

The closest alternatives are package, voltage, temperature, silicon-revision, and memory-capacity variants within the verified PIC16 family. A mechanically similar part is not necessarily a PCB drop-in replacement: the SOIC and SSOP options use different land patterns even though the database describes their pin numbering as identical.

Verified PIC16F723A-I/SO alternatives and comparisons
ComponentVerified relationshipVerified differenceSelection guidance
PIC16F722A-I/SOSame die and package; identical peripherals and pins3.5 KB Flash versus 7 KBChoose only when the complete firmware fits the smaller memory limit
PIC16LF723A-I/SOPin-compatible LF silicon revision1.8 V to 3.6 V VDD versus 1.8 V to 5.5 VUse when the system stays within the lower upper-voltage limit
PIC16F723A-I/SSSame silicon; identical pin numberingSSOP footprint versus 300-mil SOIC; 27% less board areaUse for PCB space reduction after changing the land pattern
PIC16F723-I/SOPre-revision silicon with identical pinout, peripherals, and FlashSubject to silicon errata addressed by revision APrefer the revision-A source for an active design
PIC16F723A-I/E? PIC16F723A-E/SOSame Flash, RAM, and I/O-40 °C to +125 °C versus -40 °C to +85 °CChoose when the enclosure requires the extended temperature range
PIC16F726-I/SOPin-compatible superset in the same 28-pin SOIC family14 KB Flash versus 7 KB, a 100% increaseUse when firmware or update requirements exceed 7 KB

The PIC16F722A-I/SO is the most direct memory-based comparison: it preserves the package, pins, and peripheral set but halves available Flash. The PIC16LF723A-I/SO preserves the listed memory, RAM, I/O, and peripherals while reducing the upper VDD limit to 3.6 V. Neither option changes the PCB footprint for the corresponding SOIC package.

For mechanical miniaturization, the SSOP part offers a verified 27% board-area reduction. For extended industrial environments, the PIC16F723A-E/SO extends the verified range to -40 °C to +125 °C. The original PIC16F723-I/SO remains functionally similar, but the verified comparison states that it is subject to silicon errata addressed by revision A, making the A revision the more defensible choice for new production.

Action: Use the PIC16F723A-I/SO as the baseline, then change only the suffix or family member whose Flash, voltage, package, or temperature requirement creates a documented design need.

Industry Insight — Is the PIC16F723A-I/SO Active and Available?

The verified lifecycle status is active. The current product record lists 99,999 units of stock with a minimum order quantity of 1, supporting both prototype purchases and production planning without a large initial commitment. The base price is $1.38 as of 2026-11-01, while the recorded quantity tiers range from $2.45 at one unit to $1.38 at 3,000 units or more.

PIC16F723A-I/SO pricing; all unit prices as of 2026-11-01
QuantityUnit price
1 or more$2.45
10 or more$2.20
100 or more$1.95
500 or more$1.72
1,000 or more$1.55
3,000 or more$1.38

The active lifecycle classification and listed inventory indicate that buyers do not need to treat the PIC16F723A-I/SO as an obsolete or end-of-life selection. The price curve also creates a clear sourcing decision: prototype quantities carry a higher unit price, while orders reaching 1,000 or 3,000 units access the two lowest verified tiers. The stated MOQ of 1 supports evaluation purchases before committing to a larger production quantity.

Engineers should also recognize the market position implied by the verified family options. The source MCU supports 7 KB of Flash, while the same pin-compatible family reaches 14 KB. A source decision made around 7 KB should therefore include a documented upgrade path before firmware growth becomes a production constraint. Similarly, the LF and extended-temperature options let buyers preserve the core device family while changing the voltage or temperature envelope.

Action: Quote the exact suffix and quantity tier, verify current inventory at order placement, and preserve a family-compatible upgrade path in the BOM.

Trends & Outlook — What Should Buyers Watch in Future PIC16F723A Designs?

Several design pressures are visible directly in the verified specifications and alternatives. The first is firmware growth. The PIC16F723A-I/SO provides 7 KB of Flash, but the pin-compatible PIC16F726-I/SO provides 14 KB. Teams building protocol stacks, update bootloaders, or feature-rich control firmware should track both current code usage and expected growth rather than treating 7 KB as permanent.

The second pressure is power-system standardization. The main part accepts 1.8 V to 5.5 V, while the LF option accepts 1.8 V to 3.6 V. A product family can share firmware and most support components while using different voltage-grade MCU options. Procurement teams should therefore key BOM records to the full suffix rather than grouping all PIC16F723A variants under one generic orderable number.

The third pressure is board area. The SSOP option provides a verified 27% board-area reduction relative to the 300-mil SOIC package while preserving the listed pin numbering. That makes it a relevant path for compact sensor nodes, remote controls, and human-interface boards, provided the PCB footprint and assembly process are redesigned for SSOP.

Specification-linked trends to monitor
TrendVerified anchorBuyer or engineer action
Growing firmware requirements7 KB versus 14 KB in the pin-compatible familyTrack code growth and qualify the higher-memory option early
Lower-voltage product variants1.8 V to 5.5 V standard part; 1.8 V to 3.6 V LF partMatch the MCU suffix to the regulated system voltage
PCB miniaturizationSSOP option offers 27% less board area than SOICEvaluate package consolidation only with a new footprint
Extreme-temperature deployments-40 °C to +85 °C standard grade; -40 °C to +125 °C extended gradeSelect by the verified enclosure temperature requirement
Sensor-node integration11-channel 10-bit ADC and I²C/SPI MSSPReduce external analog and interface component count
Low-power operation50 nA typical sleep with Watchdog disabledMeasure duty cycle and peripheral loading in the final budget

Peripheral integration remains a durable advantage. Up to 11 ADC channels, two PWM-capable capture/compare modules, three timers, MSSP, and Enhanced USART cover several common embedded-control tasks in one MCU. The internal 16 MHz oscillator with ±1% typical accuracy can also reduce discrete timing components where that accuracy is acceptable.

Buyers should watch three controllable risks: code growth beyond 7 KB, supply decisions based on incomplete suffix data, and package consolidation without a land-pattern review. None requires an assumption about market growth or unverified lifecycle plans. Each follows directly from the available memory, voltage, package, and temperature options in the verified product family.

Action: Preserve suffix-level BOM control, monitor firmware utilization against 7 KB, and qualify package, voltage, temperature, or memory alternatives before the production design becomes constrained.

সহজ প্রশ্ন

The PIC16F723A-I/SO operates from 1.8 V to 5.5 V on VDD. The absolute maximum VDD of 7.5 V must never be exceeded during transients.
The PIC16F723A-I/SO provides 7 KB (4K x 14 words) of self-programmable Flash, 192 bytes of data RAM, and 128 bytes of EEPROM.
The maximum CPU frequency is 20 MHz, which corresponds to a 200 ns instruction cycle. The device also includes an internal 16 MHz oscillator with ±1% typical accuracy.
Yes. Both use the same 28-pin SOIC pinout and retain identical peripherals, RAM, EEPROM, ADC channels, and I/O. The PIC16F723A-I/SO provides 7 KB of Flash versus 3.5 KB for the PIC16F722A-I/SO.
The PIC16F723A-I/SS and PIC16F723A-I/SP use the same silicon in different packages, while the PIC16LF723A-I/SO is pin-compatible but has a 1.8 V to 3.6 V upper VDD limit. Package changes require the appropriate PCB footprint.
The verified XLP sleep current is 50 nA typical with the Watchdog Timer disabled. Application average current also depends on wake frequency, enabled peripherals, and active load.
The device provides up to 11 channels for its 10-bit ADC, two 8-bit timers, one 16-bit timer, one Enhanced CCP module, and one standard CCP module.
The base price is $1.38 as of 2026-11-01. The verified unit prices are $2.45 at 1 unit, $2.20 at 10 units, $1.95 at 100 units, $1.72 at 500 units, $1.55 at 1,000 units, and $1.38 at 3,000 units or more, as of 2026-11-01. The database lists 99,999 units in stock with an MOQ of 1.
The verified manufacturer datasheet is the Microchip PIC16(L)F722A/723A family document. Use the manufacturer PDF linked in the article citations for package, electrical, and peripheral details.
Yes. The verified 50 nA typical sleep current, internal 16 MHz oscillator, up-to-11-channel ADC, MSSP, and Enhanced USART support low-power sensor-node designs.

তুলনা তালিকা

Component Verified relationship Flash Voltage or temperature Package or mechanical difference
PIC16F723A-I/SO Primary component 7 KB 1.8 V to 5.5 V; -40 °C to +85 °C 28-pin, 300-mil SOIC
PIC16F722A-I/SO Same die, package, peripherals, and pins 3.5 KB Not separately stated in the verified alternative data Same 28-pin SOIC package
PIC16LF723A-I/SO Pin-compatible LF silicon revision 7 KB 1.8 V to 3.6 V Same SOIC package family
PIC16F723A-I/SS Same silicon and identical pin numbering 7 KB Not separately stated in the verified alternative data SSOP footprint; 27% less board area than SOIC
PIC16F723-I/SO Pre-revision silicon with identical pinout, peripherals, and Flash 7 KB Not separately stated in the verified alternative data SOIC package
PIC16F723A-E/SO Same Flash, RAM, and I/O 7 KB -40 °C to +125 °C SOIC package
PIC16F726-I/SO Pin-compatible superset in the same family 14 KB Not separately stated in the verified alternative data 28-pin SOIC

The PIC16F722A-I/SO is the closest verified alternative when 3.5 KB of Flash is sufficient. The LF part lowers the upper VDD limit, the SSOP part reduces board area, the extended-temperature part reaches +125 °C, and the PIC16F726-I/SO doubles Flash to 14 KB.

আপনার প্রকল্পের জন্য কম্পোনেন্টস চান?

আমাদের 1M+ ইলেকট্রনিক কম্পোনেন্টস ডেটাবেসের সাহায্যে সঠিক অংশ খুঁজুন

পণ্য ব্রাউজ করুন কোটা অনুরোধ করুন BOM টুল

সূত্র ও তথ্যাদি

  1. PIC16(L)F722A/723A/732A/733A Family Data Sheet — Datasheet, একসcess করা হল 2026-11-01

কনটেন্ট পরীক্ষা

কমেন্ট

প্রথম কমেন্ট দিন