Intel

EP20K100CB356C9 - 252-I/O APEX-20K FPGA | Intel | Embedded Logic

MPN: EP20K100CB356C9 ✓ Active
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
[DATA_NEEDED: core voltage] Vdss 356-LBGA Package [DATA_NEEDED: embedded memory capacity] Memory
Contact for pricing
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-07
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $0 $0.00
10 $0 $0.00
100 $0 $0.00
500 $0 $0.00
1,000 $0 $0.00
3,000 $0 $0.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

Drop-in alternatives for EP20K100CB356C9 — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

No drop-in alternatives available for this product.

Request Alternatives

EP20K100CB356C9 Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Product Type EPROM-based FPGA
Logic Family APEX-20K
User I/O Count 252 I/O
Package Type 356-LBGA
Package Ball Count 356 balls
Manufacturer Intel
Product Category Embedded - FPGAs
Mounting Type Surface Mount

EP20K100CB356C9 356 balls Pin Configuration Guide

Complete pinout information for EP20K100CB356C9 (356 balls package). This digital IC includes GPIO, communication interfaces (UART, SPI, I2C), and power pins. Refer to the manufacturer datasheet for alternate pin functions and configuration options. Essential for embedded system design and PCB layout.

356 balls package pinout diagram for EP20K100CB356C9

No detailed pinout data available for EP20K100CB356C9.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Safe Operating Area (SOA) & Thermal Characteristics

Safe Operating Area Chart Default safe operating area chart for EP20K100CB356C9 Drain-to-Source Voltage (Vds) Drain Current (Id)

No official SOA curve available for this digital IC. Always operate within absolute maximum ratings specified in the datasheet. Ensure adequate cooling and derate as needed.

Typical Applications

EP20K100CB356C9 is suitable for 6 applications: Embedded Control Systems, High-Density Digital Interfaces, Industrial Automation Equipment, Communications and Networking Hardware, Legacy Computing Peripherals, Board-Level Signal Aggregation.

🏭

Embedded Control Systems

EP20K100CB356C9 fits embedded control systems that require configurable hardware and a high number of external connections. Verified data identifies the part as an embedded FPGA with 252 user I/O pins, allowing control logic, status monitoring, and interface management to be implemented in programmable hardware. A typical design uses the device to coordinate machine or equipment functions while the surrounding processor handles software services. The 356-ball BGA supports dense board placement, but the supplied data does not confirm supply voltage, I/O standards, temperature range, or timing limits. Those values must be obtained from the manufacturer datasheet before design freeze. The part is most appropriate for legacy or existing control platforms that already support the APEX-20K family and require a known 356-ball footprint rather than an unverified modern-device migration.

🌐

High-Density Digital Interfaces

EP20K100CB356C9 is applicable to high-density digital-interface equipment because the verified specification lists 252 user I/O pins. The device can be considered for interface aggregation, protocol conversion, signal conditioning, or parallel datapath handling when programmable timing and concurrent logic are needed. Its 356-ball BGA provides a package format suited to designs with many connections, but the 252-I/O count does not by itself establish support for any particular interface standard or voltage. Engineers must verify differential-pair rules, I/O voltage, drive strength, termination, and package escape requirements from the official datasheet. The FPGA can reduce the number of separate logic devices by integrating configurable functions, yet configuration generation and legacy tool support must also be confirmed. A replacement design should compare interface timing and electrical behavior, not only the number of package balls.

🏭

Industrial Automation Equipment

EP20K100CB356C9 can be considered for industrial automation equipment that uses configurable logic for control, sequencing, and communication between subsystems. The verified data identifies 252 user I/O and a 356-ball BGA, which is relevant when a controller must monitor many sensors, actuators, and status lines. The FPGA can implement deterministic hardware functions alongside a processor, but the available data does not provide industrial temperature qualification, core voltage, I/O voltage, or supported signaling standards. Those omissions are critical for an industrial design and require manufacturer documentation. The part should be used in existing equipment where the board already provides the required power, configuration, and footprint arrangements. For new automation platforms, a modern FPGA may be preferable if its toolchain, lifecycle, power data, and safety documentation are stronger, while EP20K100CB356C9 remains a candidate for maintaining established hardware.

🌐

Communications and Networking Hardware

EP20K100CB356C9 may fit communications or networking hardware that requires programmable datapaths and a large number of external connections. The verified 252 user I/O count supports designs that aggregate parallel signals, perform protocol handling, or coordinate multiple communication blocks. The 356-ball BGA can support dense routing in a board layout, while the FPGA architecture provides a configurable implementation for timing-sensitive functions. However, the supplied web data does not identify transceiver capability, maximum clock frequency, I/O voltage, supported standards, or power consumption. Those parameters must be verified before the part is selected for a communications design. A replacement must preserve exact I/O electrical behavior and timing, and migration to a different FPGA family may require changes to configuration files, PCB escape, clock constraints, and validation tests. EP20K100CB356C9 is therefore best treated as a legacy programmable-logic option for compatible platforms.

🖥️

Legacy Computing Peripherals

EP20K100CB356C9 is relevant to legacy computing peripherals that rely on programmable hardware for bus handling, control sequencing, or data formatting. Verified data identifies the part as an Intel EPROM-based FPGA in the APEX-20K family with 252 user I/O in a 356-ball BGA package. This makes it a possible maintenance component for established peripheral boards, particularly when firmware and hardware design files already target the device. The part should not be selected solely because a generic FPGA category applies; the designer must confirm configuration support, timing, I/O electrical limits, power sequencing, and software-tool compatibility. A modern FPGA can require a different package, different configuration method, and a new verification process. For legacy peripherals, the principal benefit of retaining the target is avoiding unnecessary board changes, provided current supply and authenticity can be demonstrated.

🔧

Board-Level Signal Aggregation

EP20K100CB356C9 can be used in board-level signal-aggregation designs that collect many digital inputs and outputs into configurable logic. The verified 252 user I/O specification makes the device worth evaluating when a board needs to replace multiple fixed-function devices or centralize signal routing. The 356-ball BGA provides a high-density mechanical interface, but the supplied evidence does not state the exact I/O voltage, current limits, supported I/O standards, or maximum toggle rate. Those electrical details determine whether the package is suitable for the actual signal-integrity environment. The FPGA may help implement deterministic parallel processing, but its configuration, clock, reset, and power architecture must be preserved from the original design. Replacement assessment should include signal-integrity simulations, timing closure, thermal testing, and functional comparison of the generated configuration. The part is most useful when the existing design already uses its APEX-20K architecture and 356-ball footprint.

What is EP20K100CB356C9?
EP20K100CB356C9 is an Intel APEX-20K EPROM-based FPGA with 252 user I/O connections in a 356-ball BGA package. Verified distributor listings classify it as an embedded FPGA. The part is intended for configurable digital-logic designs. The provided data does not include a complete manufacturer datasheet, so architecture details beyond the APEX-20K family identification should be confirmed from manufacturer documentation before a new design is released.
What are the key specifications of EP20K100CB356C9 that engineers should know?
The key verified specifications are 252 user I/O pins and a 356-ball BGA package. The part is identified as an Intel EPROM-based FPGA in the APEX-20K family. Logic-element count, supply voltages, memory capacity, speed grade, temperature range, and configuration interface are not present in the supplied web data. Those missing values require datasheet verification, especially when comparing the device with another FPGA or planning a board redesign.
Where can I buy EP20K100CB356C9 online?
EP20K100CB356C9 can be sourced through the distributors listed in the verified search results, including Heisener, Nantian Electronics, AIChipLink, Jotrin, LoveChip, Veswin, and ETEI. Heisener reports 7,104 pieces in stock, while ETEI reports 2,042 pieces; other stock conditions were not explicitly stated. Availability and pricing can change frequently. Request current quotations and confirm part authenticity, date code, packaging, and inspection requirements before placing a production order.
What is the price of EP20K100CB356C9 as of 2026-09-07?
No firm unit price is available in the verified data as of 2026-09-07. Heisener explicitly lists the unit price as “Request a Quote,” and the search results do not provide a numeric price for other distributors. Do not rely on a stale catalog price or infer a price from the listed inventory. Contact authorized distributors for quantity-based quotations, minimum-order terms, lead time, and payment conditions. Any future quote should record the quotation date and validity period.
What is the lead time for EP20K100CB356C9?
The verified data does not provide a confirmed production lead time for EP20K100CB356C9 as of 2026-09-07. Heisener states that lead time is to be confirmed and gives an estimated delivery range of May 31 through June 5 for an unspecified purchasing context. That range is not a guaranteed current lead time. Procurement teams should request written confirmation of availability, manufacturing status, shipment date, and whether inventory is factory-new, excess stock, or brokered material.
Is EP20K100CB356C9 in stock?
EP20K100CB356C9 is shown as available by some verified distributors, but stock is not guaranteed. Heisener reports 7,104 pieces in its search result, and ETEI reports 2,042 pieces. These figures are distributor-specific and may change after the 2026-09-07 retrieval timestamp. Other sources do not clearly establish inventory. Confirm current stock, order quantity, packaging, date code, and shipping terms directly with the selected supplier before approving a purchase.
Is EP20K100CB356C9 pin-compatible with other APEX-20K devices?
EP20K100CB356C9 cannot be assumed pin-compatible with another APEX-20K device from the family name alone. Pin compatibility requires identical package construction, ball numbering, ball functions, power-pin assignments, I/O electrical characteristics, and device behavior in the target design. The supplied cross-reference results do not identify a verified drop-in equivalent. A same-package device may still differ in density, speed grade, configuration method, or voltage requirements. Verify the manufacturer datasheet and compare the complete ball map before substitution.
What is the difference between EP20K100CB356C9 and a modern FPGA?
EP20K100CB356C9 is an older Intel APEX-20K EPROM-based FPGA, while a modern FPGA may use a different process, configuration technology, I/O standard, embedded-memory architecture, and supported design toolchain. The verified data confirms 252 user I/O and a 356-ball BGA package for the target but does not provide comparative performance data. Modern devices may offer greater logic density, lower power, higher speed, or different configuration interfaces. They may also require a PCB redesign and a new design-flow migration.
Can EP20K100CB356C9 be used in an embedded control system?
EP20K100CB356C9 is suitable for consideration in embedded control systems because verified distributor data classifies it as an embedded FPGA and identifies 252 user I/O pins. Its programmable hardware can support control logic, interface bridging, timing functions, and concurrent digital processing. However, the supplied data does not confirm operating voltage, temperature range, logic capacity, configuration mode, or supported I/O standards. Confirm those characteristics and evaluate clock, power, reset, programming, and signal-integrity requirements on the target board.
What should I check before designing with EP20K100CB356C9?
Before designing with EP20K100CB356C9, verify the complete manufacturer datasheet, package ball map, supply voltages, I/O electrical limits, logic capacity, configuration method, timing characteristics, temperature rating, and supported design software. Confirm that the 356-ball BGA footprint and escape routing are appropriate for the PCB. The verified web data establishes the device family, 252 user I/O, and 356BGA package, but it does not provide all of the electrical information needed for a production design.
What is the best drop-in replacement for EP20K100CB356C9?
No verified drop-in replacement for EP20K100CB356C9 is identified in the supplied cross-reference data. The search results provide generic cross-reference tools but do not name a specific substitute that is proven to share the 356-ball BGA footprint, ball functions, electrical limits, configuration flow, and timing behavior. Therefore, a replacement cannot be recommended as drop-in from the available evidence. Contact Intel or an authorized distributor and obtain a formal cross-reference report before considering any replacement.
Is there a same-brand equivalent for EP20K100CB356C9?
No same-brand equivalent is verified in the provided cross-reference results. The site MPN list contains other APEX-20K and FPGA-related part numbers, but their presence does not prove pin or functional compatibility. EP20K100CB356C8ES, EP20K100CB356C8, EP20K100CB356C7ES, and EP20K100CB356C7 are related-looking entries, but the supplied data does not establish their package, ball map, electrical characteristics, or suitability as drop-in replacements. They should not be selected without a manufacturer comparison.
What is the best cross-brand equivalent for EP20K100CB356C9?
No best cross-brand equivalent can be verified from the supplied web data. Cross-brand alternatives require proof of the same 356-ball BGA package, identical pin-to-pin ball assignments, compatible supply and I/O voltages, equivalent programmable behavior, and a supported design migration path. The cross-reference search returned tools and general guides but no confirmed candidate. Any cross-brand recommendation would therefore be fabrication. Use a manufacturer cross-reference tool or distributor specialist and validate the replacement with functional, timing, and PCB-level tests.
Where to download the EP20K100CB356C9 datasheet PDF?
The manufacturer’s official datasheet URL is not provided in the verified data. Distributor pages such as Heisener, Nantian Electronics, and Jotrin list the part and provide datasheet links, but the supplied search results do not expose a verified official PDF address. Use the manufacturer or authorized distributor product page to request the datasheet and confirm the document’s document number and revision before relying on it. Do not use a random file from an unverified download site.
Where can I find the EP20K100CB356C9 pinout?
The complete EP20K100CB356C9 pinout is not included in the verified web data, and a reliable 356-ball ball map cannot be reconstructed safely from the snippets alone. The part is confirmed as a 356-LBGA device with 252 user I/O pins, but the remaining balls and their exact functions require the manufacturer datasheet or package drawing. Obtain the official BGA pin assignment, pin-1 orientation, power and ground grouping, differential-pair rules, and no-connect definitions before PCB layout or replacement analysis.
Does EP20K100CB356C9 require a heatsink or special cooling?
The verified data does not provide power dissipation, thermal resistance, junction-temperature limits, or airflow requirements for EP20K100CB356C9, so a specific cooling design cannot be calculated from the supplied information. Thermal management depends on the configured design, switching activity, supply voltages, package construction, PCB copper, ambient temperature, and enclosure conditions. Obtain the electrical and thermal specifications from the manufacturer datasheet, estimate worst-case dissipation using measured or modeled activity, and validate temperatures on the final board.
Is EP20K100CB356C9 RoHS and REACH compliant?
The supplied verified data does not state that EP20K100CB356C9 is RoHS or REACH compliant. Compliance claims must be established from the manufacturer’s current declaration, lot-specific documentation, or an authorized distributor’s compliance record. The data also does not establish AEC-Q100 qualification, lead-free status, halogen-free status, or conflict-minerals reporting. Request the applicable compliance documents for the exact ordering code and date code; do not infer these attributes from the Intel brand or FPGA category.
What design tools are compatible with EP20K100CB356C9?
The verified data does not identify the supported software, synthesis tools, simulator, device-programming hardware, or configuration-file format for EP20K100CB356C9. Compatibility should be confirmed with Intel documentation or an authorized legacy-product support channel. Engineers should verify the exact ordering code, device family, package, and speed grade supported by the tool version, then test configuration generation, timing analysis, simulation, and programming. A newer tool may require legacy-device support packages or may not support the device at all.
What is the lifecycle status of EP20K100CB356C9?
EP20K100CB356C9 is listed as active in the supplied product data, but the verified results do not include an official Intel lifecycle declaration or a manufacturer product-status record. Distributor availability can exist even when a legacy component is no longer recommended for new designs. Confirm the current lifecycle status, last-time-buy status, and approved successor directly with Intel or an authorized distributor before beginning a new production program. For existing equipment, record the source, date code, and authenticity evidence for each replenishment.
Why is EP20K100CB356C9 difficult to replace in legacy equipment?
EP20K100CB356C9 is difficult to replace because a valid substitute must reproduce the package, ball numbering, I/O behavior, programmable architecture, power requirements, configuration process, and timing characteristics. The verified evidence confirms a 356-ball BGA and 252 user I/O, but does not provide the detailed electrical and functional data needed to prove equivalence. Legacy firmware and design files may also depend on a specific device family and tool flow. Use a formal cross-reference process, controlled engineering samples, and board-level regression testing before changing the BOM.

Engineering reference data for EP20K100CB356C9 — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose EP20K100CB356C9 when maintaining an existing Intel APEX-20K platform, preserving a 356-ball BGA footprint, and retaining a proven configurable-logic architecture are higher priorities than adopting a modern FPGA. Its verified 252 user I/O count makes it relevant to dense interface, control, and signal-aggregation designs. Do not choose it merely because another APEX-20K MPN is listed nearby: package, ball map, supply rails, I/O standards, timing, and configuration behavior must match. For new products, compare a current FPGA family for lifecycle support, toolchain availability, power data, and long-term supply. No verified drop-in alternative was found, so replacement requires manufacturer cross-reference confirmation and board-level validation. Use this part for legacy continuity, not as evidence that an unverified alternative is interchangeable.

Key Differentiators

  • Verified high-I/O embedded FPGA positioning (vs Modern fixed-logic or lower-I/O FPGA)
  • Legacy APEX-20K family compatibility target (vs Unrelated FPGA family)
  • 356-ball BGA package for dense routing (vs Cross-package FPGA solution)

Design Notes

Do not treat a similar APEX-20K part number as a drop-in replacement without a full package and electrical comparison. Confirm the 356-ball BGA drawing, ball numbering, power and ground assignments, configuration pins, user I/O mapping, supported I/O standards, timing limits, and programming method. Related same-brand MPNs appear in the site list, but the supplied data does not verify pin compatibility. For a legacy board, preserve the original configuration and compare functional and timing behavior after physical and electrical equivalence are established.

Plan the 356-ball BGA escape strategy before routing begins. Use the official package drawing to identify ball orientation, power and ground grouping, high-speed or differential pairs, and via transitions. The verified data confirms 252 user I/O, but it does not provide the complete ball map or I/O electrical limits. Keep sensitive clock and configuration paths short, provide continuous reference planes, and verify manufacturability with the selected PCB fabricator. Any proposed alternate package requires a new footprint and is outside the strict drop-in classification.

Thermal analysis requires power and thermal specifications that are not included in the verified data. Before production, obtain the core and I/O supply limits, estimated or measured power by configuration, package thermal resistance, ambient range, and allowable junction temperature. Use a realistic activity factor and measure the final board because utilization and switching activity can change dissipation substantially. Provide sufficient copper, thermal vias, airflow, or heat spreading as the datasheet permits. Do not publish a calculated junction temperature from unknown voltage or current values.

Preserve the original power, clock, reset, and configuration strategy until the manufacturer’s documentation is available. Confirm decoupling placement, rail sequencing, clock integrity, and I/O protection against the target schematic. The supplied search data establishes only the 356-LBGA package and 252 user I/O; it does not establish the number or type of power rails. If a replacement is eventually qualified, compare its startup behavior and configuration interface as carefully as its logic resources, because an electrically similar package can still be functionally incompatible.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Unknown
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Unknown
Lead Free
Unknown
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

The verified web data does not provide RoHS, REACH, AEC-Q100, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals declarations.

Data verified on: 2026-09-07 — data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

EP20K100CB356C9 datasheet PDF EP20K100CB356C9 pinout Intel EP20K100CB356C9 FPGA EP20K100CB356C9 252 user I/O EP20K100CB356C9 356-LBGA APEX-20K embedded FPGA EP20K100CB356C9 replacement EP20K100CB356C9 price and stock Where to buy EP20K100CB356C9 What is EP20K100CB356C9 used for EP20K100CB356C9 vs EP20K100CB356C8 356-ball BGA industrial FPGA

Related Components & Terms

Intel EP20K100CB356C9 Altera APEX-20K EP20K100CB356C8ES EP20K100CB356C8 EP20K100CB356C7ES EP20K100CB356C7 FPGA field-programmable gate array EPROM-based FPGA programmable logic embedded FPGA 252 user I/O 356-LBGA BGA surface mount SMD digital logic embedded control industrial automation signal integrity legacy hardware cross-reference RoHS REACH AEC-Q100
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details — our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details