Murata MLCC Part-Number Discontinuations: What the 2028-2029 Cutoffs Mean for Your BOM

Murata is EOLing selected MLCC part numbers in nine series, with a last-order deadline of March 31, 2028. Procurement teams need a replacement plan now.

Published Updated 4 min read ✓ AI-ready Share

TL;DR — three sentences

  • Murata is discontinuing selected MLCC part numbers across nine series: GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG and ZRA (S1).
  • Deadlines: customer review by December 31, 2027; last orders March 31, 2028; final shipments through March 31, 2029 (S1).
  • The change covers individual part numbers, not whole series, and is not a Murata exit from the MLCC market (S1).

Taken from key_takeaways (real field, max 3 entries). Fact and analysis are labelled separately.

Murata MLCC Part-Number Discontinuations: What the 2028-2029 Cutoffs Mean for Your BOMEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Chip motif; headline "Murata MLCC Part-Number Discontinuations: What the 2028-2029 Cutoffs Mean for Your BOM". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Murata MLCC Part-NumberDiscontinuations: What the 2028-2029Cutoffs Mean for Your BOMXAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

You arrived from an AI answer — this is the verifiable original

An AI summary may have dropped the basis for its claims. The original forecast, the affected parts and every citation are on this page, each traceable to its source.

XAIPART forecast

This brief carries a falsifiable forecast.

Affected parts

No catalog match for this story — nothing is shown rather than inferring a match.

Reported by Electronics Era on 2026-10-10. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

Murata Manufacturing is preparing to discontinue selected MLCC part numbers across nine product series, according to a customer notification circulating in the electronics supply chain.S1 The affected series are GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG and ZRA.S1

The change covers individual part numbers rather than the product series as a whole, and the source states it does not represent a withdrawal by Murata from the MLCC market; Murata continues to offer a broad portfolio including automotive, high-reliability and high-capacitance products.S1 Customers have until December 31, 2027 to complete the relevant review and confirmation. The reported last order date is March 31, 2028, followed by final shipments through March 31, 2029.S1

The notification fits a broader capacity-allocation picture. TrendForce reported in July that the book-to-bill ratios of Murata, Samsung Electro-Mechanics and Taiyo Yuden had reached 1.30, 1.31 and 1.25, respectively, by late June 2026, the highest since the pandemic period, and that the three companies' shipments hit a five-year monthly high in June while some capacity shifted toward MLCCs used in AI applications.S1

Key numbers
MetricReported valueSource
Affected Murata MLCC series9 (GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG, ZRA)S1
Customer review and confirmation deadlineDecember 31, 2027S1
Last order dateMarch 31, 2028S1
Final shipments throughMarch 31, 2029S1
Book-to-bill, Murata / Samsung Electro-Mechanics / Taiyo Yuden (late June 2026)1.30 / 1.31 / 1.25S1
Number of individual part numbers affectedNot disclosed

Background timeline

  1. - TrendForce reported book-to-bill ratios of 1.30 (Murata), 1.31 (Samsung Electro-Mechanics) and 1.25 (Taiyo Yuden), the highest for the three companies since the pandemic period; shipments from the three reached a five-year monthly high in June S1
  2. - TrendForce published the book-to-bill and shipment findings cited above S1
  3. - Deadline for customers to complete the relevant review and confirmation of the Murata change S1
  4. - Reported last order date for the affected part numbers S1
  5. - Final shipments through this date S1

XAIPART take

Technical impact

Replacement MLCCs must be checked against capacitance, tolerance, rated voltage, case size, dielectric, temperature characteristics, DC-bias performance and, where mechanical stress matters, termination construction.S1 Even a numerically identical capacitor from another vendor can behave differently under DC bias or board flex, so a drop-in swap is rarely guaranteed.

Market impact

The source describes general-purpose MLCC supply coming under pressure as capacity moves toward AI-server applications, so a qualified second source may not be easy to secure even where parts appear available.S1 Automotive and industrial users face supplier-change qualification cycles — reliability testing, engineering approval and customer qualification — that can stretch well beyond commercial product timelines.S1 The source did not disclose how many individual part numbers are affected, so BOM exposure must be confirmed against Murata's official notification.

Action

Screen every BOM against the nine listed series (GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG, ZRA) before the December 31, 2027 review deadline. For confirmed hits, place last-time-buy quantities ahead of the March 31, 2028 order cutoff and start second-source qualification in parallel, prioritizing long-lifecycle automotive and industrial lines where requalification is slowest.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART expects qualified alternate-source demand for mainstream GRM-family capacitance/voltage/size combinations to rise sharply, and lead times for selected general-purpose MLCC replacements to exceed 12 weeks for at least one major distributor within 6 months of the December 31, 2027 confirmation deadline (i.e., by 2028-06-30); if quoted lead times for mainstream GRM equivalents remain at or below 8 weeks at that date, this forecast is wrong. XAIPART analysis

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. The customer notification is a single-source, circulating report: Murata's own announcement has not been independently verified, the count of affected part numbers is not disclosed, and the TrendForce figures are secondary market data.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Dated developments, extracted from this page's timeline (curated milestones = hollow markers).
Timeline of dated developmentsDated entries: 2026-06-30 June 2026 - TrendForce reported bo…; 2026-07-01 2026 - TrendForce published the bo…; 2027-12-31 31, 2027 - Deadline for customers …; 2028-03-31 31, 2028 - Reported last order dat…; 2029-03-31 31, 2029 - Final shipments through….2026-06-30June 2026 - TrendForce reported bo…2026-07-012026 - TrendForce published the bo…2027-12-3131, 2027 - Deadline for customers …2028-03-3131, 2028 - Reported last order dat…2029-03-3131, 2029 - Final shipments through…

Alternatives and lifecycle

Alternatives on file — catalog scope, not a market ranking
PartRelationLifecycleBasis
— No alternative on file NEEDS DATA — Requires match_type before any predecessor label may appear

“Predecessor” and “alternative” labels come only from a recorded match type, a lifecycle status, or the source text. Where no match is recorded, no label is shown. Our own listings are not a market reference.

What to watch

Falsifiable forecast — threshold, window and current status. Disproved forecasts stay visible.
ClaimThresholdByStatus
XAIPART expects qualified alternate-source demand for mainstream GRM-family capacitance/voltage/size combinations to rise sharply, and lead times for selected general-purpose MLCC replacements to exceed 12 weeks for a... quoted lead times for mainstream GRM equivalents remain at or below 8 weeks at that date Pending

Forecasts that turn out wrong are kept visible and marked. We do not delete them.

Affected parts

No catalog match. This story does not map to any part currently listed on XAIPART. We do not infer matches, and we do not show a placeholder list.

Cost pressure by dimension

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.2546, neutral. Composite index -9.1, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.2546 · neutral5 dcomposite −9.1 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt52 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu5 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

How this was produced

Process evidence — fetch, source sanity, model and gate
Audit trail for this brief
Source fetched Electronics Era · electronicsera.in · 4,138 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt glm-5.3-flash · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,869 tokens · 34s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.047301 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 5 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Every row above is produced by the pipeline, not written by hand.

Editorial score

Deterministic gate result — pure PHP, no model involvement in the verdict
Gate score breakdown 6 applicable checks, 5 passed: 83 percent. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast), C15 (four views + no restating), C16 (forecast substance), C19 (factor consistency) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.9222. Applicable checks passed 5 / 6 = 83% · verdict: hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast), C15 (four views + no restating), C16 (forecast substance), C19 (factor consistency) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.9222 The gate decides publication. The independent audit score is advisory only.
Found an error? Tell us what is wrong — corrections are published alongside the original text and logged. We do not silently edit articles.

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Sources

  1. Murata MLCC changes point to a shift in component supply — https://electronicsera.in/muratas-mlcc-changes-point-to-a-shift-in-component-supply · rss · accessed

Facts are marked S1/S2 and trace to the linked source. Passages labelled analysis are XAIPART's own reasoning, kept separate from reported facts. Source links are followed rather than nofollow — attribution is intentional.