Reported by Electronics Era on 2026-10-10. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
Murata Manufacturing is preparing to discontinue selected MLCC part numbers across nine product series, according to a customer notification circulating in the electronics supply chain.S1 The affected series are GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG and ZRA.S1
The change covers individual part numbers rather than the product series as a whole, and the source states it does not represent a withdrawal by Murata from the MLCC market; Murata continues to offer a broad portfolio including automotive, high-reliability and high-capacitance products.S1 Customers have until December 31, 2027 to complete the relevant review and confirmation. The reported last order date is March 31, 2028, followed by final shipments through March 31, 2029.S1
The notification fits a broader capacity-allocation picture. TrendForce reported in July that the book-to-bill ratios of Murata, Samsung Electro-Mechanics and Taiyo Yuden had reached 1.30, 1.31 and 1.25, respectively, by late June 2026, the highest since the pandemic period, and that the three companies' shipments hit a five-year monthly high in June while some capacity shifted toward MLCCs used in AI applications.S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Affected Murata MLCC series | 9 (GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG, ZRA) | S1 |
| Customer review and confirmation deadline | December 31, 2027 | S1 |
| Last order date | March 31, 2028 | S1 |
| Final shipments through | March 31, 2029 | S1 |
| Book-to-bill, Murata / Samsung Electro-Mechanics / Taiyo Yuden (late June 2026) | 1.30 / 1.31 / 1.25 | S1 |
| Number of individual part numbers affected | Not disclosed |
Background timeline
- - TrendForce reported book-to-bill ratios of 1.30 (Murata), 1.31 (Samsung Electro-Mechanics) and 1.25 (Taiyo Yuden), the highest for the three companies since the pandemic period; shipments from the three reached a five-year monthly high in June S1
- - TrendForce published the book-to-bill and shipment findings cited above S1
- - Deadline for customers to complete the relevant review and confirmation of the Murata change S1
- - Reported last order date for the affected part numbers S1
- - Final shipments through this date S1
XAIPART take
Technical impact
Replacement MLCCs must be checked against capacitance, tolerance, rated voltage, case size, dielectric, temperature characteristics, DC-bias performance and, where mechanical stress matters, termination construction.S1 Even a numerically identical capacitor from another vendor can behave differently under DC bias or board flex, so a drop-in swap is rarely guaranteed.
Market impact
The source describes general-purpose MLCC supply coming under pressure as capacity moves toward AI-server applications, so a qualified second source may not be easy to secure even where parts appear available.S1 Automotive and industrial users face supplier-change qualification cycles — reliability testing, engineering approval and customer qualification — that can stretch well beyond commercial product timelines.S1 The source did not disclose how many individual part numbers are affected, so BOM exposure must be confirmed against Murata's official notification.
Action
Screen every BOM against the nine listed series (GRM, GRJ, GRT, GXM, GXT, GCM, GCJ, GCG, ZRA) before the December 31, 2027 review deadline. For confirmed hits, place last-time-buy quantities ahead of the March 31, 2028 order cutoff and start second-source qualification in parallel, prioritizing long-lifecycle automotive and industrial lines where requalification is slowest.
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART expects qualified alternate-source demand for mainstream GRM-family capacitance/voltage/size combinations to rise sharply, and lead times for selected general-purpose MLCC replacements to exceed 12 weeks for at least one major distributor within 6 months of the December 31, 2027 confirmation deadline (i.e., by 2028-06-30); if quoted lead times for mainstream GRM equivalents remain at or below 8 weeks at that date, this forecast is wrong. XAIPART analysis
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. The customer notification is a single-source, circulating report: Murata's own announcement has not been independently verified, the count of affected part numbers is not disclosed, and the TrendForce figures are secondary market data.
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
Alternativas y ciclo de vida
| Pieza | Relación | Ciclo de vida | Base |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | No hay alternativa registrada FALTAN DATOS | — | Requiere match_type antes de que pueda aparecer cualquier etiqueta de predecesor |
Las etiquetas «predecesor» y «alternativa» proceden únicamente de un tipo de coincidencia registrado, un estado del ciclo de vida o el texto de la fuente. Cuando no hay coincidencia registrada, no se muestra ninguna etiqueta. Nuestros propios anuncios no son una referencia de mercado.
Qué hay que vigilar
| Afirmación | Umbral | Por | Estado |
|---|---|---|---|
| XAIPART expects qualified alternate-source demand for mainstream GRM-family capacitance/voltage/size combinations to rise sharply, and lead times for selected general-purpose MLCC replacements to exceed 12 weeks for a... | quoted lead times for mainstream GRM equivalents remain at or below 8 weeks at that date | Pending |
Las previsiones que resultan erróneas se mantienen visibles y marcadas. No las eliminamos.
Piezas afectadas
Sin coincidencia en el catálogo. Esta historia no se corresponde con ninguna pieza listada actualmente en XAIPART. No inferimos coincidencias ni mostramos una lista de marcador de posición.
Presión de costes por dimensión
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 52 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 5 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
Cómo se elaboró
Evidencia del proceso — obtención, verificación de fuentes, modelo y filtro
| Source fetched | Electronics Era · electronicsera.in · 4,138 chars |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | glm-5.3-flash · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,869 tokens · 34s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.047301 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 5 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
Cada fila anterior la produce el flujo de trabajo, no se escribe a mano.
Comentarios
Sea el primero en comentar.
🔐 Por favor inicie sesión para publicar un comentario.
¿No tiene una cuenta? Regístrese