Altera

EP20K100QC240-3N - 100K-Gate APEX-20K FPGA | Altera | Industrial

MPN: EP20K100QC240-3N ✓ Active
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
2.375 V to 2.625 V Vdss 240-BFQFP Package 167 MHz Speed 53248 bits Memory
Contact for pricing
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-07
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $0 $0.00
10 $0 $0.00
100 $0 $0.00
500 $0 $0.00
1,000 $0 $0.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

Drop-in alternatives for EP20K100QC240-3N — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

EP20K100QC240-3

✅ Drop-In
Altera
📦 240-BFQFP
Altera · APEX-20K · 4160 cells · 53248 bits · 189 · 263000 gates · 2.5 V · 167 MHz (family rating)

✓ In Stock

$24.5 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP20K100QC240-2

✅ Drop-In
Altera
📦 240-BFQFP
APEX-20K · Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) · 4160 · 416 · 189 · 53248 · 100000 · 263000

✓ In Stock

Contact for price

View Datasheet →

EP20K100QC240-1

✅ Drop-In
Intel
📦 240-BFQFP
APEX 20K · FPGA (Field-Programmable Gate Array) · 4,160 · 100,000 · 189 · 53,248 · 0.22 µm CMOS · 2.5 V

✓ In Stock

$98 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP20K100QC240-1XV

✅ Drop-In
Intel
📦 240-BFQFP
APEX 20K · APEX 20K (MultiCore architecture) · 100,000 gates · 4,160 · 53,248 bits · 189 · 4 · 4

✓ In Stock

$52.1 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP20K100QC240-3N Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Device Type FPGA
Family APEX-20K
Gate Count 100000 gates
Logic Cells 4160 cells
User I/O 189 I/O
Distributed Memory 53248 bits
Macrocells 416 macrocells
Supply Voltage 2.375 V to 2.625 V
Nominal Supply 2.5 V
Maximum Frequency 167 MHz
Operating Temperature 0 C to 85 C
Package 240-BFQFP
Pin Count 240 pins
Mounting Type Surface Mount
Fabrication Process 0.15 um all-layer copper-metal process
Package Pitch 1.27 mm
Package Dimensions 45 mm x 45 mm
RoHS Status unknown
AEC-Q100 not_qualified

EP20K100QC240-3N 45 mm x 45 mm Pin Configuration Guide

Complete pinout information for EP20K100QC240-3N (45 mm x 45 mm package) with 240 pins pins. This digital IC includes GPIO, communication interfaces (UART, SPI, I2C), and power pins. Refer to the manufacturer datasheet for alternate pin functions and configuration options. Essential for embedded system design and PCB layout.

45 mm x 45 mm package pinout diagram for EP20K100QC240-3N

No detailed pinout data available for EP20K100QC240-3N.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Estimated pin count: 240 pins pins (digital package)

Safe Operating Area (SOA) & Thermal Characteristics

Safe Operating Area Chart Default safe operating area chart for EP20K100QC240-3N Drain-to-Source Voltage (Vds) Drain Current (Id)

No official SOA curve available for this digital IC. Always operate within absolute maximum ratings specified in the datasheet. Ensure adequate cooling and derate as needed.

Typical Applications

EP20K100QC240-3N is suitable for 6 applications: Telecommunications Equipment, Industrial Automation Controllers, Consumer Electronics Control, High-Density Interface Bridging, Programmable Test and Measurement Logic, Legacy System Maintenance.

🌐

Telecommunications Equipment

EP20K100QC240-3N fits telecommunications equipment requiring a configurable 100,000-gate logic fabric and 189 user I/O. Its APEX-20K architecture can implement interface adaptation, protocol-state machines, timing control, and data-path glue logic while keeping the implementation programmable. The verified 2.375 V to 2.625 V supply range and 0°C to 85°C operating range support commercial and controlled industrial environments. The 240-BFQFP package provides a leaded surface-mount interface for the external buses, clock signals, and control connections commonly used in telecom equipment. Before release, verify the exact I/O electrical standards, clock resources, configuration method, timing budget, and thermal package information from the manufacturer documentation.

🏭

Industrial Automation Controllers

EP20K100QC240-3N is suitable for industrial automation controllers that need programmable sequencing, machine-control logic, and multiple peripheral interfaces. The 100,000-gate capacity, 4,160 cells, and 189 user I/O provide room for combinational and sequential control functions, while the 416-macrocell listing supports integration of structured logic. The verified 2.5 V nominal supply and 0°C to 85°C operating range are appropriate for controlled industrial environments, although automotive or extended-temperature requirements are not established. Use the FPGA between sensors, actuators, communications interfaces, and the controller processor. Validate noise immunity, I/O voltage compatibility, clock constraints, configuration reliability, and thermal performance in the complete assembly.

🔧

Consumer Electronics Control

EP20K100QC240-3N can serve configurable control and interface functions in consumer-electronics equipment. Its 100,000-gate APEX-20K resource level, 4,160 logic cells, and 189 user I/O allow designers to combine display, keypad, audio-control, bus-management, or peripheral-interface logic in one programmable device. The 2.375 V to 2.625 V supply range requires a regulated 2.5 V rail and careful power-sequence design. The 0°C to 85°C operating range supports standard commercial product environments, but the supplied data does not establish a modern consumer-compliance certificate. Confirm I/O standards, signal-integrity limits, configuration storage, timing margins, and the thermally enhanced package dimensions before production.

🔧

High-Density Interface Bridging

EP20K100QC240-3N is a candidate for high-density interface bridging where several buses, control signals, and format-conversion functions must coexist. The 189 user I/O can connect the FPGA to memory, processors, converters, or application-specific peripherals, while 53,248 bits of distributed memory support state, buffering, and lookup functions. The 100,000-gate capacity is useful when a design is too large for conventional small PLDs but does not require a much larger modern FPGA family. The 240-BFQFP package helps organize many external connections on a surface-mount board. The design must still validate I/O voltage levels, drive strength, pin multiplexing, clock domains, and timing constraints against the complete manufacturer data.

📏

Programmable Test and Measurement Logic

EP20K100QC240-3N can provide configurable timing, control, capture, and signal-conditioning logic in test and measurement systems. The 4,160 logic cells and 100,000 gates support parallel datapaths and control structures, while the 189 user I/O enable multiple instrument channels or interface devices. The 167 MHz device description indicates the scale of the listed performance claim, but it is not a guaranteed operating frequency for every design. The 2.5 V supply must be low-noise and properly decoupled, and the 0°C to 85°C range should be compared with the instrument's environmental requirements. Verify setup, hold, propagation, I/O, and clock specifications from the official datasheet before committing the measurement architecture.

🔧

Legacy System Maintenance

EP20K100QC240-3N is relevant to maintaining or reproducing legacy systems that already use the APEX-20K 100K architecture. The 240-BFQFP package and 189 user I/O may allow replacement of a failed device on an existing board when the exact ordering code, pinout, voltage, timing, and temperature requirements match. Its 4,160 cells and 100,000 gates provide the established logic capacity for such designs, but migration to a newer FPGA family would generally require board and firmware changes. The supplied comparison source identifies EP20K100QC240-3 as a possible complete replacement, while other speed grades need separate validation. Obtain the official package information and configuration documentation before authorizing a production substitution.

What is EP20K100QC240-3N?
EP20K100QC240-3N is an Altera APEX-20K field-programmable gate array. The verified data identifies 100,000 gates, 4,160 logic cells, 189 user I/O, 53,248 bits of distributed memory, and a 240-BFQFP package. It is a programmable logic IC rather than a fixed-function processor or memory device. According to the manufacturer and distributor search data, it is intended for configurable digital logic in communications, industrial automation, and consumer electronics applications.
What are the key specifications of EP20K100QC240-3N?
The key specifications are 100,000 gates, 4,160 cells, 189 I/O pins, 53,248 bits of distributed memory, and 416 macrocells. The supplied data also lists a 2.5 V nominal supply, 2.375 V to 2.625 V supply range, 0°C to 85°C operating temperature, and 167 MHz maximum frequency. The package is identified as 240-BFQFP by the primary distributor result, while another result contains an inconsistent BGA-652 description that should not be used for PCB layout.
Where can I buy EP20K100QC240-3N online?
EP20K100QC240-3N is listed by DigiKey, Mouser, Octopart, Xecor, Nantian Electronics, and other authorized or independent component suppliers. DigiKey's verified search result states “Buy now, ships today,” but price, stock quantity, and lead time can change. Check the distributor order page for current availability, packaging, and any minimum-order requirements. For production procurement, confirm that the offered parts are new and traceable and obtain a current quote rather than relying on cached inventory information.
What is the price of EP20K100QC240-3N?
The provided web data does not include a verified numeric price, so a current unit price must be obtained from the distributor. As of 2026-09-07, DigiKey identifies the part as available to buy, but no amount is included in the supplied excerpt. Prices can vary with quantity, packaging, stock condition, and distributor terms. Use the live distributor quotation for a defensible procurement decision, and record the quantity, currency, date, and supplier in the purchasing record.
What is the lead time for EP20K100QC240-3N?
The verified web data does not provide a numeric lead time. DigiKey's listing states that the part “ships today,” which indicates a current dispatch message, not a guaranteed lead-time commitment. Lead time may depend on distributor stock, order quantity, packaging, and logistics. Confirm the estimated ship date with the supplier before scheduling assembly, and do not treat an immediate-shipping label as a guarantee for production volumes.
Is EP20K100QC240-3N in stock?
EP20K100QC240-3N is shown as available to buy with a DigiKey “Buy now, ships today” snippet as of 2026-09-07. That is a live commercial signal, but inventory can change after the retrieval timestamp. Octopart also reports distributor availability comparisons, without providing a stable stock quantity in the supplied data. Confirm current stock directly with the selected distributor and order the required quantity promptly if the part is needed for a scheduled build.
What is the difference between EP20K100QC240-3N and EP20K100QC240-3?
EP20K100QC240-3N and EP20K100QC240-3 are related APEX-20K variants with the same 240-pin package family according to the supplied comparison search result. The comparison source describes the -3 part as a complete replacement with consistent parameters and terminals, but the exact voltage, temperature, configuration, and ordering differences are not fully documented in the provided excerpts. Before substitution, compare the complete manufacturer ordering tables, pinout, electrical limits, and package suffixes.
Is EP20K100QC240-3N the same as EP20K100QC240-2?
EP20K100QC240-3N is not confirmed by the supplied data to be identical to EP20K100QC240-2. Both are in the APEX-20K 100K family, but speed-grade and electrical or temperature characteristics may differ. The available search results do not provide a verified parameter-by-parameter comparison for the -2 variant. Treat it as a possible migration only after checking timing, voltage, temperature, configuration, and pinout against the official documentation.
When should I choose EP20K100QC240-3N over another FPGA?
Choose EP20K100QC240-3N when the design requires an APEX-20K device, approximately 100,000 gates, 4,160 cells, and 189 user I/O in a 240-BFQFP package. Its 2.375 V to 2.625 V supply range and 0°C to 85°C operating range fit commercial and controlled industrial environments. Select another FPGA when you need a different package, greater logic capacity, industrial or automotive qualification, or verified modern configuration and tool support. The supplied data does not establish AEC-Q100 qualification.
What is the best drop-in replacement for EP20K100QC240-3N?
No fully verified five-part drop-in replacement set is present in the supplied cross-reference data. The strongest candidate is EP20K100QC240-3, which a comparison result describes as a complete replacement with consistent parameters and terminals, but the evidence is not a manufacturer cross-reference. Use it only after verifying the full pinout, package outline, voltage, timing, temperature, and configuration behavior. A device with a different package, such as a 144-pin or 208-pin part, is not a drop-in replacement.
Can another Altera FPGA replace EP20K100QC240-3N?
Another Altera FPGA can replace EP20K100QC240-3N only if it has the same 240-pin footprint, compatible pin functions, and verified electrical and timing characteristics. EP20K100QC240-3 is the only directly suggested same-family candidate in the supplied comparison results. EP20K100QC240-2 and other speed grades require additional validation. Do not assume that a device with the same logic capacity is interchangeable; configuration interfaces, I/O standards, clock resources, and package orientation can differ.
What is the best non-Altera equivalent for EP20K100QC240-3N?
The supplied Alternatives Cross-Reference Data does not identify a verified cross-brand, same-package drop-in equivalent for EP20K100QC240-3N. A cross-brand FPGA from Xilinx, Lattice, or another vendor would require a new PCB footprint and design verification, so it cannot be classified as a drop-in part under the strict compatibility rules. Use a non-Altera device only as a functional migration candidate after confirming the required logic, I/O, memory, timing, power, configuration, and package constraints.
Where can I download the EP20K100QC240-3N datasheet PDF?
The official datasheet PDF is available at https://www.alterasemi.com/datasheet/alterasemi/EP20K100QC240-3N.pdf. The provided search data states that this device uses a thermally enhanced package and directs designers to the Altera Device Package Information Data Sheet for detailed package size information. Download the FPGA datasheet and package information together, then verify the ordering-code suffix, pinout, thermal limits, and recommended operating conditions before schematic or layout sign-off.
Where is the EP20K100QC240-3N pinout located?
The pinout is in the manufacturer documentation rather than in the short distributor snippets. The verified results identify a 240-BFQFP package, while one secondary result incorrectly describes a 652-pin BGA and 488 user I/O; those values conflict with the primary distributor result of 189 I/O. Locate the pin assignment and package diagrams in the official datasheet or Device Package Information Data Sheet, then cross-check the exact ordering code and package suffix. The complete pin list is [DATA_NEEDED: package pin assignment] in the supplied data.
What should engineers know about EP20K100QC240-3N thermal design?
EP20K100QC240-3N is specified for operation from 0°C to 85°C, and the manufacturer source notes a thermally enhanced package that is taller than the regular package. The supplied data does not provide junction-to-ambient thermal resistance, junction-to-case thermal resistance, power consumption, or recommended copper area. Use the official package thermal data and estimate power from the actual design rather than assuming a generic value. Confirm package height, airflow, and board-level thermal performance before mechanical closure.
Which Altera tools are compatible with EP20K100QC240-3N?
The supplied web data does not specify the exact software toolchain, supported interface, or configuration cable for EP20K100QC240-3N. Because the device belongs to the older APEX-20K family, use the legacy tool version and device support files recommended by the manufacturer for that family. Confirm the device database, supported operating system, programmer, and configuration method from the official documentation. Do not rely on a current tool release without checking backward-device support and license requirements.
Is EP20K100QC240-3N RoHS compliant?
RoHS compliance for EP20K100QC240-3N is not stated in the verified web data, so the compliance status is [DATA_NEEDED: RoHS status]. The same caution applies to REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, and conflict-minerals declarations. Obtain the current manufacturer declaration or the distributor's environmental-compliance record for the exact ordering code and manufacturing lot. Do not infer compliance from the package name, FPGA category, or distributor listing; the part may have legacy product-specific environmental documentation.
What applications use EP20K100QC240-3N?
The supplied data identifies telecommunications, industrial automation, and consumer electronics as application areas. Its 100,000-gate capacity, 4,160 cells, 189 user I/O, and 416 macrocells make it suitable for configurable control, interface bridging, protocol handling, and system-logic integration. The 0°C to 85°C range supports commercial and controlled industrial equipment, but the data does not establish automotive qualification. Validate timing, I/O standards, power, and configuration before selecting it for a new design.

Engineering reference data for EP20K100QC240-3N — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose EP20K100QC240-3N when an existing or new system specifically needs an Altera APEX-20K 100K FPGA, a 240-BFQFP footprint, approximately 100,000 gates, 4,160 cells, and 189 user I/O. Its 2.5 V nominal supply and 0°C to 85°C operating range are appropriate for commercial and controlled industrial environments. EP20K100QC240-3 is the most direct listed candidate because the supplied comparison source describes consistent parameters and terminals, but it is a potential substitution rather than a fully manufacturer-documented equivalence. Use EP20K100QC240-2 or EP20K100QC240-1 only when their speed grades and electrical characteristics are verified. Avoid 144-pin, 208-pin, 324-pin, or BGA devices as drop-ins because their land patterns differ.

Comparison with Alternatives

Parameter This Product EP20K100QC240-3 EP20K100QC240-2 EP20K100QC240-1 EP20K100QC240-1XV
Brand Altera Altera Altera Altera Altera
Package 240-BFQFP 240-BFQFP 240-BFQFP 240-BFQFP 240-BFQFP
Family APEX-20K APEX-20K APEX-20K APEX-20K APEX-20K
Gate Count 100000 gates 100000 gates 100000 gates 100000 gates 100000 gates
Logic Cells 4160 cells 4160 cells 4160 cells 4160 cells 4160 cells
User I/O 189 I/O 189 I/O 189 I/O 189 I/O 189 I/O
Supply Voltage 2.375 V to 2.625 V 1.8 V [DATA_NEEDED: target comparison range verification] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-2 supply range] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1 supply range] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1XV supply range]
Operating Temperature 0 C to 85 C [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-3 temperature range] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-2 temperature range] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1 temperature range] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1XV temperature range]
Maximum Frequency 167 MHz 167 MHz [DATA_NEEDED: full condition verification] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-2 frequency] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1 frequency] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1XV frequency]
Macrocells 416 macrocells 416 macrocells [DATA_NEEDED: exact comparison verification] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-2 macrocells] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1 macrocells] [DATA_NEEDED: EP20K100QC240-1XV macrocells]

Key Differentiators

  • 100,000-gate APEX-20K logic capacity (vs EP20K100QC240-2)
  • 189 user I/O in a 240-BFQFP package (vs EP20K100QC240-1XV)
  • 4,160 logic cells with 53,248 distributed-memory bits (vs EP20K100QC240-3)
  • 2.5 V nominal supply and 167 MHz listed frequency (vs EP20K100QC240-1)

Design Notes

EP20K100QC240-3N is listed with a 2.5 V nominal supply and 2.375 V to 2.625 V supply range. Use a regulated, low-noise rail and confirm the exact FPGA supply requirements, including any separate I/O or auxiliary rails, in the official datasheet. Place local decoupling at the supply pins and keep the decoupling return path short. The supplied data does not provide current consumption or power-up sequencing limits, so those values are [DATA_NEEDED: current consumption and power sequencing]. Do not assume that the 2.5 V core rail alone defines the complete power tree.

The manufacturer source states that EP20K100QC240-3N uses a thermally enhanced package that is taller than the regular package. Verify the package height, seating plane, lead geometry, and recommended land pattern from the Altera Device Package Information Data Sheet. The supplied data gives a 0°C to 85°C operating range but no thermal-resistance values or power-dissipation figure. Therefore, junction temperature and airflow calculations require [DATA_NEEDED: theta-JA, theta-JC, and design power]. Preserve mechanical clearance and avoid assuming that a generic 240-pin PQFP outline applies without an exact manufacturer drawing.

The primary verified distributor result identifies a 240-BFQFP package, while one secondary result describes a 652-pin BGA. Treat the 240-BFQFP identification as the controlling package value and obtain the official package drawing before releasing the PCB. Check pin numbering, pin-1 orientation, lead coplanarity, escape routing, thermal-pad requirements, and the 1.27 mm pitch listed in the secondary result against the manufacturer documents. Keep high-speed clock and data routes short where possible, provide a continuous reference plane, and separate noisy interfaces from sensitive analog or timing circuitry. Do not use the inconsistent BGA-652 pin count for layout.

The 189 user I/O and 167 MHz device description make signal-integrity validation important for clock, bus, and interface paths. Confirm the supported I/O standards, input thresholds, output drive settings, termination requirements, and maximum toggle rates in the official datasheet; these are [DATA_NEEDED: I/O electrical characteristics and timing]. Apply controlled-impedance routing where the interface requires it, maintain ground continuity, and simulate or measure clock and data timing in the assembled system. The listed 167 MHz value is not a substitute for design-specific timing analysis, especially when the FPGA implements multiple clock domains or external memories.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Unknown
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Not Qualified
Lead Free
Unknown
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

The supplied web data does not state RoHS, REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals status. AEC-Q100 qualification is not established and is recorded as not_qualified rather than assumed. Obtain manufacturer environmental documentation for the exact ordering code.

Data verified on: 2026-09-07 — data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

EP20K100QC240-3N datasheet PDF EP20K100QC240-3N Altera APEX-20K FPGA EP20K100QC240-3N 100000 gates 4160 cells EP20K100QC240-3N 240-BFQFP pinout EP20K100QC240-3N industrial automation EP20K100QC240-3N telecommunications FPGA EP20K100QC240-3N vs EP20K100QC240-3 EP20K100QC240-3N drop-in replacement EP20K100QC240-3N price and stock EP20K100QC240-3N buy online EP20K100QC240-3N 2.375V 2.625V EP20K100QC240-3N equivalent FPGA EP20K100QC240-3N 189 user I/O how to replace EP20K100QC240-3N EP20K100QC240-3N legacy FPGA procurement

Related Components & Terms

Altera Intel EP20K100QC240-3N EP20K100QC240-3 EP20K100QC240-2 EP20K100QC240-1 EP20K100QC240-1XV APEX-20K field-programmable gate array FPGA CPLD programmable logic device logic cell user I/O distributed memory macrocell 240-BFQFP PQFP surface mount SMD 2.5 V 0.15 um process telecommunications industrial automation consumer electronics RoHS REACH AEC-Q100
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details — our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details