Reported by EE Journal on 2026-10-06. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
OMNIVISION has introduced the OG05D, a 2.2-micron 5-megapixel global shutter CMOS image sensor built for industrial machine vision. S1 The company describes it as the industry's first 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR sensor aimed at this segment, with applications spanning barcode scanners, factory automation, compact AI cameras, and humanoid robotics, including data-collection devices used for robotics training. S1
In linear mode the OG05D delivers a maximum output of 146 frames per second, which the source states is 143 percent faster than previous-generation sensors. S1 The die is 30 percent smaller than the prior generation. S1 The design pairs a stacked backside-illuminated pixel array with OMNIVISION's Nyxel near-infrared technology, on-chip RGB-IR processing, dual conversion gain (DCG) for HDR in a single exposure, and a 30 percent power reduction versus the previous-generation 5MP product. S1
The package uses a 1/2.5-inch optical format in a 6.6 mm by 5.3 mm footprint. S1 Key specifications listed by the source include an HDR-capable pixel described as the industry's smallest above 70 dB, NIR quantum efficiency above 55 percent at 850 nm and above 35 percent at 940 nm, 60 fps single-exposure DCG HDR, 60 fps 3-exposure on-chip HDR combination, and support for RGB, mono, and RGB-IR with on-chip re-mosaic. S1 OMNIVISION is described as a global fabless semiconductor organization. S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pixel pitch | 2.2 micron | [S1] |
| Resolution | 5 MP | [S1] |
| Max linear frame rate | 146 fps | [S1] |
| Speed vs. previous generation | 143 percent faster | [S1] |
| Footprint reduction | 30 percent smaller | [S1] |
| Power reduction vs. prior 5MP | 30 percent | [S1] |
| Optical format / package | 1/2.5-inch, 6.6 x 5.3 mm | [S1] |
| NIR QE at 850 nm | Above 55 percent | [S1] |
| NIR QE at 940 nm | Above 35 percent | [S1] |
| HDR pixel dynamic range | Greater than 70 dB | [S1] |
| Unit pricing, availability | Not disclosed | [S1] |
Background timeline
- - OMNIVISION announces the OG05D 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor, described as 143 percent faster than, 30 percent smaller than, and 30 percent lower-power than the previous-generation 5MP product. [S1]
- No prior milestones disclosed by the source.
XAIPART take
Technical impact
The combination of a 2.2-micron global shutter pixel with DCG single-exposure HDR above 70 dB addresses the motion-artifact problem engineers see when stitching multi-exposure HDR frames on moving conveyor lines or robot arms. XAIPART analysis Nyxel QE figures above 55 percent at 850 nm and above 35 percent at 940 nm are useful for eye-safe active illumination designs, particularly in compact AI cameras where LED drive current is thermally constrained. XAIPART analysis
Market impact
The 1/2.5-inch, 6.6 mm by 5.3 mm footprint plus the 30 percent power cut directly enables smaller humanoid robot head modules and embedded AI cameras that have been waiting for higher-resolution GS sensors in this optical class. XAIPART analysis OMNIVISION's first-claim framing for a 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR part signals a refreshed competitive front against Sony Pregius and onsemi Python families in industrial vision, so design-in teams should expect second-source pressure on existing commercial GS 5MP BOMs. XAIPART analysis
Action
Buyers should request an OG05D engineering sample and confirmed lead-time window from franchised distributors before re-spinning a 5MP global shutter BOM, and request a head-to-head NIR QE and HDR characterization against the incumbent commercial GS 5MP part. XAIPART analysis Designers planning humanoid robotics or compact AI cameras should evaluate lens shading at 940 nm and the thermal budget of the 30 percent power reduction before locking the mechanical stack-up. XAIPART analysis
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART expects that within 9 months of publication (by 2027-07-08) at least one second-source commercial 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor will publish a public NIR QE specification at 940 nm above 35 percent; if no competing datasheet meets that threshold by that date this forecast is wrong. XAIPART analysis
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Unit pricing, distributor stock, and confirmed lead times for the OG05D are not disclosed by the source.
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
Alternatives et cycle de vie
| Référence | Relation | Cycle de vie | Fondement |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | Aucune alternative référencée DONNÉES REQUISES | — | Nécessite match_type avant que toute mention de prédécesseur ne puisse apparaître |
Les mentions « prédécesseur » et « alternative » proviennent uniquement d'un type de correspondance enregistré, d'un statut de cycle de vie ou du texte source. Lorsqu'aucune correspondance n'est enregistrée, aucune mention n'est affichée. Nos propres annonces ne constituent pas une référence de marché.
À surveiller
| Affirmation | Seuil | Par | Statut |
|---|---|---|---|
| XAIPART expects that within 9 months of publication (by 2027-07-08) at least one second-source commercial 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor will publish a public NIR QE specification at 940 nm above 35 percent | no competing datasheet meets that threshold by that date | Pending |
Les prévisions qui se révèlent erronées restent visibles et signalées. Nous ne les supprimons pas.
Paysage concurrentiel
- 21764 annonces actives dans cette catégorie sur XAIPART
- 88 fabricants représentés
- 57 fabricants mentionnés dans nos archives d'actualités au cours des 30 derniers jours
Les chiffres reflètent uniquement le catalogue XAIPART — ils ne représentent pas des parts de marché.
Références concernées
Aucune correspondance dans le catalogue. Cette information ne correspond à aucune référence actuellement listée sur XAIPART. Nous ne déduisons pas de correspondances et n'affichons pas de liste fictive.
Place de cet élément dans l'histoire
- ymtc-employee-sees-memory-shortage-lasting-into-2029-what-it-means-for-nand-buyers
- micron-ceo-flags-tighter-memory-and-storage-supply-through-fiscal-2027-2028-with-no-balance-in-sight
- omnivision-og05d-2-2-micron-global-shutter-sensor-targets-industrial-and-robotics-vision-designs
- semi-nnme-industry-advisory-committee-takes-shape-as-127k-157k-u-s-chip-workforce-gap-looms
- Un employé anonyme de YMTC prévoit trois années supplémentaires d'offre mémoire tendue, alors même que YMTC réoriente ses capacités vers des puces à plus forte marge et augmente ses prix. price change trade
- Micron annonce un chiffre d'affaires record de 54,2 Md$ au 4e trimestre de l'exercice 2026 et prévient que la tension sur la DRAM et le NAND s'aggravera en 2027-2028, la demande IA absorbant les nouvelles capacités de salle blanche. trade
- Le capteur HDR à obturateur global 5MP OG05D d'OMNIVISION réduit l'encombrement de 30 pour cent et la consommation de 30 pour cent par rapport à la génération 5MP précédente, destiné aux caméras de codes-barres, d'automatisation d'usine et de robotique humanoïde. product launch
- SEMI's NNME names its first Industry Advisory Committee chaired by Micron, with Intel, Samsung, GlobalFoundries and ASML, while NY–Micron starts a three-year apprenticeship pilot. trade
La chaîne est construite uniquement à partir de brèves publiées — un nœud sans brève n'est pas dessiné.
Pression sur les coûts par dimension
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 96 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 6 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
Comment ce contenu a été produit
Traçabilité du processus — récupération, contrôle de la source, modèle et contrôle
| Source fetched | EE Journal · www.eejournal.com · 3,272 chars · fetch status success |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,648 tokens · 14.1s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.026245 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 1 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
Chaque ligne ci-dessus est produite par le pipeline, et non rédigée à la main.
Score éditorial
Audit indépendant (consultatif, sans effet sur la publication) : 52/100 · note C — détail
Commentaires
Soyez le premier à commenter.
🔐 Veuillez vous connecter pour publier un commentaire.
Vous n'avez pas de compte ? vous inscrire