Reported by EE Journal on 2026-10-06. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
OMNIVISION has introduced the OG05D, a 2.2-micron 5-megapixel global shutter CMOS image sensor built for industrial machine vision. S1 The company describes it as the industry's first 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR sensor aimed at this segment, with applications spanning barcode scanners, factory automation, compact AI cameras, and humanoid robotics, including data-collection devices used for robotics training. S1
In linear mode the OG05D delivers a maximum output of 146 frames per second, which the source states is 143 percent faster than previous-generation sensors. S1 The die is 30 percent smaller than the prior generation. S1 The design pairs a stacked backside-illuminated pixel array with OMNIVISION's Nyxel near-infrared technology, on-chip RGB-IR processing, dual conversion gain (DCG) for HDR in a single exposure, and a 30 percent power reduction versus the previous-generation 5MP product. S1
The package uses a 1/2.5-inch optical format in a 6.6 mm by 5.3 mm footprint. S1 Key specifications listed by the source include an HDR-capable pixel described as the industry's smallest above 70 dB, NIR quantum efficiency above 55 percent at 850 nm and above 35 percent at 940 nm, 60 fps single-exposure DCG HDR, 60 fps 3-exposure on-chip HDR combination, and support for RGB, mono, and RGB-IR with on-chip re-mosaic. S1 OMNIVISION is described as a global fabless semiconductor organization. S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pixel pitch | 2.2 micron | [S1] |
| Resolution | 5 MP | [S1] |
| Max linear frame rate | 146 fps | [S1] |
| Speed vs. previous generation | 143 percent faster | [S1] |
| Footprint reduction | 30 percent smaller | [S1] |
| Power reduction vs. prior 5MP | 30 percent | [S1] |
| Optical format / package | 1/2.5-inch, 6.6 x 5.3 mm | [S1] |
| NIR QE at 850 nm | Above 55 percent | [S1] |
| NIR QE at 940 nm | Above 35 percent | [S1] |
| HDR pixel dynamic range | Greater than 70 dB | [S1] |
| Unit pricing, availability | Not disclosed | [S1] |
Background timeline
- - OMNIVISION announces the OG05D 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor, described as 143 percent faster than, 30 percent smaller than, and 30 percent lower-power than the previous-generation 5MP product. [S1]
- No prior milestones disclosed by the source.
XAIPART take
Technical impact
The combination of a 2.2-micron global shutter pixel with DCG single-exposure HDR above 70 dB addresses the motion-artifact problem engineers see when stitching multi-exposure HDR frames on moving conveyor lines or robot arms. XAIPART analysis Nyxel QE figures above 55 percent at 850 nm and above 35 percent at 940 nm are useful for eye-safe active illumination designs, particularly in compact AI cameras where LED drive current is thermally constrained. XAIPART analysis
Market impact
The 1/2.5-inch, 6.6 mm by 5.3 mm footprint plus the 30 percent power cut directly enables smaller humanoid robot head modules and embedded AI cameras that have been waiting for higher-resolution GS sensors in this optical class. XAIPART analysis OMNIVISION's first-claim framing for a 2.2-micron 5MP global shutter HDR part signals a refreshed competitive front against Sony Pregius and onsemi Python families in industrial vision, so design-in teams should expect second-source pressure on existing commercial GS 5MP BOMs. XAIPART analysis
Action
Buyers should request an OG05D engineering sample and confirmed lead-time window from franchised distributors before re-spinning a 5MP global shutter BOM, and request a head-to-head NIR QE and HDR characterization against the incumbent commercial GS 5MP part. XAIPART analysis Designers planning humanoid robotics or compact AI cameras should evaluate lens shading at 940 nm and the thermal budget of the 30 percent power reduction before locking the mechanical stack-up. XAIPART analysis
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART expects that within 9 months of publication (by 2027-07-08) at least one second-source commercial 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor will publish a public NIR QE specification at 940 nm above 35 percent; if no competing datasheet meets that threshold by that date this forecast is wrong. XAIPART analysis
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Unit pricing, distributor stock, and confirmed lead times for the OG05D are not disclosed by the source.
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
Alternativas e ciclo de vida
| Peça | Relação | Ciclo de vida | Base |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | Nenhuma alternativa registrada FALTAM DADOS | — | Requer match_type antes que qualquer rótulo de antecessor possa aparecer |
Os rótulos “predecessor” e “alternativa” vêm apenas de um tipo de correspondência registrado, de um status de ciclo de vida ou do texto da fonte. Quando nenhuma correspondência é registrada, nenhum rótulo é exibido. Nossos próprios anúncios não são referência de mercado.
O que observar
| Afirmação | Limiar | Por | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| XAIPART expects that within 9 months of publication (by 2027-07-08) at least one second-source commercial 5MP global shutter HDR image sensor will publish a public NIR QE specification at 940 nm above 35 percent | no competing datasheet meets that threshold by that date | Pending |
Previsões que se revelam erradas permanecem visíveis e marcadas. Não as excluímos.
Cenário competitivo
- 21764 anúncios ativos nesta categoria na XAIPART
- 88 fabricantes representados
- 57 fabricantes mencionados em nosso arquivo de notícias nos últimos 30 dias
As contagens refletem apenas o catálogo da XAIPART — não representam participação de mercado.
Peças afetadas
Nenhuma correspondência no catálogo. Esta história não corresponde a nenhuma peça atualmente listada na XAIPART. Não inferimos correspondências e não exibimos uma lista de espaço reservado.
Onde isso se encaixa na história
- ymtc-employee-sees-memory-shortage-lasting-into-2029-what-it-means-for-nand-buyers
- micron-ceo-flags-tighter-memory-and-storage-supply-through-fiscal-2027-2028-with-no-balance-in-sight
- omnivision-og05d-2-2-micron-global-shutter-sensor-targets-industrial-and-robotics-vision-designs
- semi-nnme-industry-advisory-committee-takes-shape-as-127k-157k-u-s-chip-workforce-gap-looms
- Um funcionário anônimo da YMTC projeta mais três anos de oferta apertada de memória, mesmo com a YMTC transferindo capacidade para chips de maior margem e aumentando os preços. price change trade
- A Micron reporta receita recorde de US$ 54,2 bi no 4º trimestre fiscal de 2026 e alerta que a escassez de DRAM e NAND vai se aprofundar em 2027-2028 à medida que a demanda de IA absorve a nova capacidade de sala limpa. trade
- O sensor HDR global shutter de 5MP OG05D da OMNIVISION reduz a área em 30 por cento e corta o consumo em 30 por cento em relação à geração anterior de 5MP, voltado para câmeras de código de barras, automação de fábrica e robótica humanoide. product launch
- SEMI's NNME names its first Industry Advisory Committee chaired by Micron, with Intel, Samsung, GlobalFoundries and ASML, while NY–Micron starts a three-year apprenticeship pilot. trade
A cadeia é construída apenas com briefs publicados — um nó sem brief não é desenhado.
Pressão de custos por dimensão
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 96 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 6 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
Como isso foi produzido
Evidências do processo — coleta, sanidade da fonte, modelo e filtro
| Source fetched | EE Journal · www.eejournal.com · 3,272 chars · fetch status success |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,648 tokens · 14.1s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.026245 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 1 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
Cada linha acima é produzida pelo pipeline, não escrita à mão.
Pontuação editorial
Auditoria independente (consultiva, não afeta a publicação): 52/100 · nota C — detalhe
Comentários
Seja o primeiro a comentar.
🔐 Por favor entrar para publicar um comentário.
Não tem uma conta? Cadastre-se