Reported by TechPowerUp on 2026-10-20. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
An AMD Gainsborough APU has surfaced on OpenBenchmarking in an engineering-sample configuration, and TechPowerUp previously linked the same codename to Valve's potential Steam Deck 2 silicon path.S1
The leaked sample carries 6 CPU cores and 12 threads on a 2.4 GHz base clock, which it characterizes as a 50% increase over the cores in the current Steam Deck APU.S1
Memory configuration on the sample is 24 GB of LPDDR5 running at 9600 MT/s, compared with 16 GB of LPDDR5 at 6400 MT/s in today's device, while the article notes this 24 GB figure is a test configuration rather than a confirmed shipping spec.S1
In Furmark, the Gainsborough sample reached 3,508 points at 1024 × 768, versus 3,323 points for the current APU at 1280 × 800. The article frames the two as close rather than directly comparable because of the resolution delta and notes early drivers were used.S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CPU cores / threads (Gainsborough sample) | 6 / 12 | [S1] |
| CPU base clock | 2.4 GHz | [S1] |
| CPU core increase vs current Steam Deck | +50% | [S1] |
| Memory capacity (sample) | 24 GB LPDDR5 | [S1] |
| Memory speed (sample) | 9600 MT/s | [S1] |
| Steam Deck reference memory, Gen | 16 GB LPDDR5 at 6400 MT/s | [S1] |
| Furmark score, Gainsborough at 1024 × 768 | 3,508 | [S1] |
| Furmark score, Steam Deck at 1280 × 800 | 3,323 | [S1] |
| Shipped RAM for Steam Deck 2 | Not disclosed | [S1] |
Background timeline
- - TechPowerUp reports an AMD Gainsborough APU engineering sample leaked on OpenBenchmarking, tied to the Steam Deck 2 rumor thread. [S1]
- - TechPowerUp previously identified the Gainsborough codename in an AMD driver drop and linked it to a potential Steam Deck 2 APU. [S1]
XAIPART take
Technical impact
The 50% core bump from 4 to 6 on the same Zen-family microarchitecture line, paired with LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, points to meaningful headroom for threaded game workloads and faster iGPU feed bandwidth than today's 6400 MT/s subsystem. [XAIPART analysis]
Even with early drivers, the Furmark parity at lower resolution is the more interesting signal: it suggests AMD and a partner are already validating a thermal and power envelope that is at least as efficient as the current Van Gogh part. [XAIPART analysis]
Market impact
For handheld gaming designs built around AMD APUs, a verified 6-core Gainsborough part with 9600 MT/s LPDDR5 would reset the BOM expectations on the memory side: 24 GB at that speed implies denser packages and tighter PCB signal-integrity work than the current 16 GB at 6400 MT/s. [XAIPART analysis]
For sourcing, expect a short beta-sample window before any retail APU is allocated; Valve and other OEMs will likely lock in memory vendor slots ahead of generic DIY availability. [XAIPART analysis]
Action
Design teams evaluating APU platforms for handheld or compact gaming form factors can park this codename on a watch list and plan validation around the 24 GB / 9600 MT/s LPDDR5 envelope. [XAIPART analysis]
Procurement should track AMD APU allocation notes and any partner memory vendor announcements around LPDDR5-9600 parts rather than committing long-lead orders against unverified sample specs. [XAIPART analysis]
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART expects that, if a second OpenBenchmarking submission for the same Gainsborough silicon family does not appear with at least 24 GB of LPDDR5 at a sustained memory clock of 8400 MT/s or higher by 2027-03-31, this brief's design-in assumptions about the Gainsborough memory envelope are wrong. XAIPART analysis
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. The shipping RAM capacity for any Steam Deck 2 product, the final APU SKU name, and the production release window are not disclosed by TechPowerUp; the leak is single-source and based on a pre-release engineering run. [XBID]
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
Alternatives et cycle de vie
| Référence | Relation | Cycle de vie | Fondement |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | Aucune alternative référencée DONNÉES REQUISES | — | Nécessite match_type avant que toute mention de prédécesseur ne puisse apparaître |
Les mentions « prédécesseur » et « alternative » proviennent uniquement d'un type de correspondance enregistré, d'un statut de cycle de vie ou du texte source. Lorsqu'aucune correspondance n'est enregistrée, aucune mention n'est affichée. Nos propres annonces ne constituent pas une référence de marché.
Paysage concurrentiel
- 21763 annonces actives dans cette catégorie sur XAIPART
- 88 fabricants représentés
- 57 fabricants mentionnés dans nos archives d'actualités au cours des 30 derniers jours
Les chiffres reflètent uniquement le catalogue XAIPART — ils ne représentent pas des parts de marché.
Références concernées
Aucune correspondance dans le catalogue. Cette information ne correspond à aucune référence actuellement listée sur XAIPART. Nous ne déduisons pas de correspondances et n'affichons pas de liste fictive.
Place de cet élément dans l'histoire
- amd-epyc-9006-venice-700-8-core-to-14-904-256-core-what-sp7-sp8-buyers-need
- astera-labs-broadens-aries-7-pcie-7-connectivity-line-for-multi-rack-ai-clusters
- what-amd-s-zen-6-ibs-memory-profiler-means-for-cxl-tiered-memory-server-designs
- amd-gpu-price-hikes-of-up-to-104-hit-china-first-international-board-partners-already-notified
- ibuypower-s-amd-ai-halo-mini-pc-what-the-ryzen-ai-max-pro-495-means-for-compact-workstation-sourcing
- amd-ryzen-ai-7-hx-455-leak-signals-a-cut-back-hx-470-with-z2-extreme-class-radeon-890m-igpu
- AMD publie les prix 1Ku de ses 31 SKU EPYC 9006 Zen 6. Le SP7 est livré au 4T26, le SP8 suit au 1er semestre 2027, avec la Default CPU Power remplaçant le TDP. trade
- Astera Labs ajoute des retimers, redrivers, modules câbles, pilotes optiques et TA à son portefeuille Aries 7, avec des échantillons attendus au quatrième trimestre 2026 avant les démonstrations à l'OCP Global Summit. product launch trade
- AMD a dévoilé un échantillonneur matériel Zen 6 destiné au suivi des pages chaudes de la mémoire hiérarchisée CXL ; les écarts de benchmark sont mitigés et les correctifs restent en développement. trade
- AMD a augmenté les prix de ses GPU en Chine jusqu'à 104 $ sur la RX 9070, invoquant les coûts de mémoire et de fabrication. Des hausses internationales devraient suivre. price change trade
- iBUYPOWER livre une mini station de travail basée sur le Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 495 à partir de 3999 $ au quatrième trimestre 2026. Découvrez ce qui change pour l'intégration en conception et l'approvisionnement. product launch trade
- A Weibo leak surfaces an 8-core Ryzen AI 7 HX 455 APU with 16 CU Radeon graphics matching the Radeon 890M and 24 MB of L3 cache, pointing at a thinner HX 470 sibling. trade
- Colorful's E-ATX X870E Ultra-S V14 AM5 board ships in China at 1,899 CNY with 16+2+1 80 A VRMs, five M.2 slots and Wi-Fi 7. product launch trade
- A leaked OpenBenchmarking entry for an AMD Gainsborough engineering sample shows 6 cores, 24 GB LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, and Furmark parity with today's Steam Deck at lower resolution. trade
La chaîne est construite uniquement à partir de brèves publiées — un nœud sans brève n'est pas dessiné.
Pression sur les coûts par dimension
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 96 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 6 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
Comment ce contenu a été produit
Traçabilité du processus — récupération, contrôle de la source, modèle et contrôle
| Source fetched | TechPowerUp · www.techpowerup.com · 2,019 chars · fetch status success |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,599 tokens · 35.3s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict pass · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.026292 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 2 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
Chaque ligne ci-dessus est produite par le pipeline, et non rédigée à la main.
Commentaires
Soyez le premier à commenter.
🔐 Veuillez vous connecter pour publier un commentaire.
Vous n'avez pas de compte ? vous inscrire