Reported by Charged EVs on 2026-10-09. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
A single lithium-sulfur battery pack from Li-S Energy powered the Pegasus long-endurance drone through a test flight of nearly two hours over Queensland, covering more than 75 km, and landed with battery capacity remaining. S1 The Pegasus platform is a twin-motor unmanned aircraft with a 5-meter wingspan built by three Australian companies: V-TOL Aerospace (airframe and power systems), Li-S Energy (battery packs and battery management system), and Halocell Energy (perovskite solar array on the wings). S1
The pack carried on the endurance flight used Li-S Energy cells weighing 1.1 kg and rated at 382 Wh, paired with the V-TOL power management system so the BMS and solar feed-in are coordinated. S1 Li-S Energy filed two patent applications during the program covering the BMS and the pack design. S1
Li-S Energy compares the 1.1 kg of cells against a Tattu 6S lithium polymer drone pack rated at 16,000 mAh (cited as 355 Wh, 1.85 kg, roughly 192 Wh/kg), and states its cells delivered 80% more range and flight time on an equal cell-weight basis. S1 The comparison excludes pack housings and BMS weight, and assumes flight time scales linearly with cell energy. S1
The Pegasus was designed to carry two Li-S Energy packs; with both fitted and upgraded Halocell arrays, Li-S Energy expects the platform to fly five-to-eight-hour missions covering about 250 km for mapping, surveillance, agriculture, utilities and environmental monitoring. S1 The project received just over A$1.35 million from the Australian government under the Emerging Aviation Technology Partnership (EATP), matched by the three partners, and the test flight closes the EATP development and flight test scope. S1 Mark Xavier, CEO of V-TOL Aerospace, said the platform "flew exactly as our team designed it to." S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Single-pack endurance test flight time | ~2 hours | [S1] |
| Distance covered in the test | >75 km | [S1] |
| Pack energy flown | 382 Wh | [S1] |
| Cell mass flown | 1.1 kg | [S1] |
| Comparator Tattu 6S LiPo rating | 16,000 mAh / 355 Wh / 1.85 kg / ~192 Wh/kg | [S1] |
| Equal-weight range/time gain claimed by Li-S Energy | 80% | [S1] |
| EATP grant | just over A$1.35 million, matched by partners | [S1] |
| Target mission profile with two packs | 5-8 hours, ~250 km | [S1] |
| Wingspan | 5 m | [S1] |
| Cycle life, calendar life, C-rate | Not disclosed | [S1] |
| Pack-level specific energy (Wh/kg including housing and BMS) | Not disclosed | [S1] |
Background timeline
- - Li-S Energy announces that a single 382 Wh lithium-sulfur pack powered the Pegasus drone for nearly two hours over Queensland, covering more than 75 km, completing the EATP development and flight test scope. [S1]
- Program funding amount and partners - EATP grant of just over A$1.35 million, matched by V-TOL Aerospace, Li-S Energy and Halocell Energy. [S1]
- Project status - post-flight data analysis and commercial assessment underway. [S1]
XAIPART take
Technical impact
XAIPART analysis: the headline figure to weigh is 382 Wh at 1.1 kg of bare cells, benchmarked by Li-S Energy against a Tattu 6S 16,000 mAh LiPo (355 Wh, 1.85 kg, ~192 Wh/kg). The 80% flight-time claim is conditioned on equal cell weight and linear scaling with energy, and the source explicitly excludes pack housing and BMS, so pack-level specific energy on a buyer's BOM line will land lower. Until Li-S Energy publishes a packaged Wh/kg figure with cycle and calendar data, treat the gain as cell-level only.
XAIPART analysis: the BMS is the integration risk. It is paired with V-TOL's power management system to gate solar feed-in alongside motor draw, and Li-S Energy filed two patents on the BMS and pack design during the program, indicating the control loop - not just the chemistry - is the differentiator.
Market impact
XAIPART analysis: for long-endurance UAV procurement, the relevant shift is energy density at the cell level, because housing, harnesses and BMS subtract from the airframe's payload budget. Until pack-level Wh/kg and a published price-per-kWh are available, Li-S Energy is a risk-tolerant niche option, not a drop-in for LiPo stocking lines.
XAIPART analysis: the source does not disclose cell pricing, cycle life, calendar life, C-rate tolerance, or shipping volume, so lead-time and dual-source risk for buyers cannot be modeled from this brief alone. Single-source confirmation is also a constraint: the report traces back to Li-S Energy's own disclosure and the V-TOL CEO quote, with no independent test house cited.
Action
XAIPART analysis: engineering buyers evaluating Li-S Energy should request a packaged datasheet including Wh/kg at the pack level, BMS part number, certifications (UN 38.3, IEC 62133, applicable UAV airworthiness), and documented cycle and calendar life before substituting it for incumbent LiPo SKUs.
XAIPART analysis: parallel-source the incumbent Tattu 6S 16,000 mAh LiPo at current stock to anchor a like-for-like comparison, and qualify a second lithium-sulfur vendor to avoid single-supplier exposure given the absence of disclosed shipping volume.
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART analysis: if Li-S Energy does not publish a pack-level specific energy figure (housing + BMS included) of at least 300 Wh/kg by 2027-06-30, or does not release cycle-life data showing at least 200 cycles to 80% capacity within 12 months, the 250 km / 5-8 hour mission claim for Pegasus will remain a marketing target rather than a procurement-ready specification. XAIPART analysis
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: the only on-record statements are Li-S Energy's own release and a V-TOL Aerospace CEO quote, with no independent lab or third-party flight-data citation; cell pricing, cycle life, calendar life, C-rate and packaged Wh/kg are not disclosed in the source.
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
代替品とライフサイクル
| 部品 | 関係 | ライフサイクル | 根拠 |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | 登録済みの代替品はありません データ不足 | — | 前身ラベルを表示するには match_type が必要です |
「前身」および「代替」のラベルは、記録された一致タイプ、ライフサイクルステータス、またはソーステキストに基づく場合にのみ付与されます。一致が記録されていない場合、ラベルは表示されません。当社の掲載情報は市場の基準ではありません。
競合状況
- 2 件の商品がXAIPARTのこのカテゴリに掲載されています
- 2 社のメーカー
- 68 社のメーカーが過去30日間のニュースアーカイブで言及されました
件数はXAIPARTカタログのみを反映しており、市場シェアではありません。
影響を受ける部品
カタログに一致するものはありません。 この記事は、現在XAIPARTに掲載されているどの部品にも該当しません。一致を推測することはなく、プレースホルダーのリストも表示しません。
次元別のコスト圧力
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 52 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 5 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
この記事の制作方法
プロセス証跡 — 取得、ソースの妥当性、モデル、ゲート
| Source fetched | Charged EVs · chargedevs.com · 4,819 chars · fetch status success |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 7,894 tokens · 13.4s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict pass · 6/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.046422 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 1 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
上記のすべての行はパイプラインによって生成されており、手作業で書かれたものではありません。
コメント
最初のコメントを投稿しましょう。
🔐 コメントするには ログイン してください。
アカウントをお持ちでないですか? 新規登録