CY7C65640A-LTXC - USB 2.0 Hub Controller | Infineon
MPN: CY7C65640A-LTXC ✗ End of Life| Qty | Unit Price | Extended |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $0 | $0.00 |
| 10 | $0 | $0.00 |
| 100 | $0 | $0.00 |
| 500 | $0 | $0.00 |
| 1,000 | $0 | $0.00 |
CY7C65640A-LTXC Overview
A USB hub controller is an interface IC that manages one upstream USB connection and multiple downstream ports. It belongs to the hierarchy of USB interface controller, interface IC, and semiconductor. The controller coordinates USB signaling, port attachment, downstream status, and hub power-management functions, allowing external USB devices to share a host interface through a controlled internal hub.
The CY7C65640A-LTXC integrates 1.5 kΩ upstream pull-up resistors for full-speed operation, 15 kΩ downstream pull-down resistors, and series termination resistors on USB D+ and D- pins. It also supports an external 24 MHz crystal with an integrated PLL, in-system EEPROM programming, and integrated port-status indicator control. These features reduce the number of external USB termination components and support deterministic clocking for USB data transfer.
The device is packaged in an 8 mm × 8 mm, 0.90 mm-high MO-220 QFN-56 package. The verified source identifies integrated upstream and downstream termination resistors, external crystal support, integrated PLL, and in-system EEPROM programming as principal features. Exact hub-port current limits, transceiver timing values, and programming details are not included in the supplied data and should be confirmed in the manufacturer datasheet before design release.
Typical applications include USB hubs, USB monitors, docking stations, industrial USB interfaces, peripheral connection panels, and embedded USB expansion systems. The 0 °C to 70 °C range is appropriate for commercial-temperature equipment rather than automotive or extended industrial environments. Designers should preserve the specified 3.3 V supply range and validate USB routing, crystal requirements, thermal performance, and hub power budgets on the final PCB.
The key design consideration is that this controller is an obsolete TetraHub product according to the supplied community result. New designs should confirm lifecycle status with the manufacturer or an authorized distributor, while existing designs should compare any proposed replacement against pinout, USB electrical behavior, firmware requirements, and power-management functions. This page synthesizes verified source information, practical design constraints, and replacement-search findings rather than presenting unverified substitute specifications.
Drop-in alternatives for CY7C65640A-LTXC — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.
Variants in this series
Same-series models that are drop-in compatible with CY7C65640A-LTXC (same form factor and footprint) — differing in Device Type.
Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:
No drop-in alternatives available for this product.
Request AlternativesCY7C65640A-LTXC Specifications
| Product Type | High-speed USB 2.0 hub controller |
| USB Protocol | USB 2.0 |
| Supply Voltage | 3.15 V to 3.45 V |
| Nominal Supply Voltage | 3.3 V |
| Device Type | Line / bus controller |
| Operating Temperature | 0 °C to 70 °C |
| Package | 8 mm × 8 mm, 0.90 mm height, MO-220 QFN-56 |
| Number of Pins | 56 pins |
| Mounting Type | Surface mount |
| External Clock | 24 MHz crystal |
| Clock Support | Integrated PLL |
| Upstream Pull-Up Resistor | 1.5 kΩ |
| Downstream Pull-Down Resistors | 15 kΩ |
| Series Termination | Integrated on upstream and downstream D+ and D- pins |
| Programming | In-system EEPROM programming |
| Port Status Control | Integrated port status indicator control |
| Lifecycle Status | Obsolete, according to supplied community result |
CY7C65640A-LTXC 8 mm × 8 mm, 0.90 mm height, mo-220 qfn-56 Pin Configuration Guide
Pin configuration for CY7C65640A-LTXC (8 mm × 8 mm, 0.90 mm height, mo-220 qfn-56 package). Pin numbering, functions, and connection diagrams are defined in the manufacturer datasheet. Refer to it for the exact footprint and soldering guidelines.
No detailed pinout data available for CY7C65640A-LTXC.
Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.
Typical Applications
CY7C65640A-LTXC is suitable for 6 applications: Embedded USB 2.0 Hub, USB Dock, Industrial USB Expansion Panel, USB Peripheral Connection Panel, Legacy USB Monitor Hub, USB Test and Measurement Fixture.
Embedded USB 2.0 Hub
The CY7C65640A-LTXC fits an embedded USB 2.0 hub because it is specifically identified as a high-speed USB hub controller and includes upstream and downstream termination resistors. Place the controller between a host-facing USB connection and the hub’s downstream ports, then validate the 3.15 V to 3.45 V supply and the 24 MHz crystal requirement. Its 0 °C to 70 °C rating supports commercial-temperature equipment, while the obsolete lifecycle status makes lifecycle and supply planning essential.
Recommended
USB Dock
A USB dock can use the CY7C65640A-LTXC to manage downstream USB connectivity from a single upstream host port. The integrated 1.5 kΩ upstream pull-up and 15 kΩ downstream pull-down resistors can simplify USB signal termination around the controller. Because the verified data does not specify every port-current limit or power-switch requirement, the dock designer must establish the complete power budget and USB electrical compliance before production.
Recommended
Industrial USB Expansion Panel
The controller is suitable for an industrial USB expansion panel where several USB devices need a common upstream interface and commercial-temperature operation is acceptable. Its 3.3 V-class supply range, integrated termination, PLL-based clock support, and in-system EEPROM programming help create a repeatable hub platform. The 0 °C to 70 °C specification is not sufficient for extended industrial environments, so enclosure temperature, USB cable ESD protection, and power-supply headroom need separate validation.
Recommended
USB Peripheral Connection Panel
In a USB peripheral connection panel, the CY7C65640A-LTXC can provide a controlled hub point for external equipment such as keyboards, storage devices, or service adapters. Integrated USB series termination reduces the number of discrete signal-conditioning parts, while port-status indicator control supports user-visible connection feedback. The designer must still verify enumeration behavior, device attach/detach requirements, and the exact downstream-port current limits in the official documentation.
Recommended
Legacy USB Monitor Hub
The CY7C65640A-LTXC is appropriate for a legacy USB monitor or test peripheral that needs a multiport USB 2.0 interface. Its four-port TetraHub context, integrated termination, and external 24 MHz clock support provide a defined hardware basis for a USB hub subsystem. Because the product is obsolete, use it primarily for repair or continuity of an existing platform; a new monitor design should compare actively supported hub controllers before committing the PCB.
Recommended
USB Test and Measurement Fixture
A USB test fixture can use the CY7C65640A-LTXC when the fixture must present a repeatable multiport USB hub interface to instruments or service tools. The controller’s USB 2.0 operation, integrated PLL support, and EEPROM programming capability help simplify a deterministic embedded test hub. The verified 0 °C to 70 °C range is suitable for lab equipment, but obsolete lifecycle status requires careful counterfeit-risk, traceability, and replacement planning.
Recommended
Recommended Products Summary
Engineering reference data for CY7C65640A-LTXC — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.
Selection Guide
Comparison with Alternatives
| Parameter | This Product | CY7C65630-56LTXC | CY7C65630-56LTXI | CY7C65640A-LFXC | CY7C65640B-56LFXC | CY7C65640A-LTXCT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package | QFN-56, 8 mm × 8 mm, 0.90 mm height | QFN-56 | QFN-56 | QFN-56 | QFN-56 | QFN-56 |
| Brand | Infineon | Infineon | Infineon | Infineon | Infineon | Infineon |
| Number of Pins | 56 pins | 56 pins | 56 pins | 56 pins | 56 pins | 56 pins |
Key Differentiators
- Known TetraHub USB 2.0 controller platform (vs CY7C65630-56LTXI)
- Integrated USB termination support (vs CY7C65630-56LTXC)
- Integrated PLL and in-system EEPROM programming (vs CY7C65630-56LTXI)
Design Notes
Design the 3.3 V hub rail with the controller’s verified 3.15 V to 3.45 V operating range in mind. Check USB downstream-port current requirements separately because the supplied data does not specify complete port-current limits. Use a supply with adequate transient response, place local bypass capacitors close to the supply pins, and verify startup current, inrush, and downstream power-switch behavior on the finished board.
Route USB D+ and D- pairs as controlled-impedance, tightly coupled traces with minimal stubs and continuous return paths. Keep the external 24 MHz crystal and its load network close to the controller, and follow the manufacturer’s recommended grounding and via arrangement. Because this is a 56-pin QFN package, inspect solder joints and exposed-pad thermal connections during assembly and use a land pattern derived from the official package drawing.
Do not approve a substitute solely because its part number is similar or its package is labeled QFN-56. Verify pin assignments, USB electrical timing, termination values, clock requirements, EEPROM programming, port-status behavior, and lifecycle status. In particular, the community report for CY7C65630-56LTXC is only a candidate statement and does not constitute a formal manufacturer cross-reference.
The verified operating range is 0 °C to 70 °C, so calculate the maximum enclosure temperature and the temperature rise from USB-power dissipation rather than assuming the ambient rating applies directly to the controller. Confirm the exposed-pad connection, copper area, solder mask, and thermal vias using the package guidance. The supplied data does not provide thermal resistance or power dissipation figures, so these values must be obtained from the manufacturer datasheet.
Compliance Information
The supplied verified data does not explicitly state RoHS, REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals status. AEC-Q100 is not applicable because the supplied data identifies a commercial-temperature USB interface IC rather than an automotive-qualified device.