USB2514B/M2 - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub Controller | Microchip
MPN: USB2514B/M2 ✓ Active| Qty | Unit Price | Extended |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1.8596 | $1.86 |
| 10 | $1.8596 | $18.60 |
| 100 | $1.8596 | $185.96 |
| 500 | $1.8596 | $929.80 |
| 1,000 | $1.8596 | $1,859.60 |
USB2514B/M2 Overview
A USB hub controller is an interface IC that manages transactions between a USB host, an upstream port, and multiple downstream ports. It belongs to the USB interface-controller hierarchy, combines interface logic and USB connectivity, and is used to add device connectivity without requiring four independent host controllers. USB 2.0 Hi-Speed denotes the 480 Mb/s operating mode, while the four-port configuration consolidates peripheral expansion into a single embedded device.
The verified data specifically confirms four USB 2.0 Hi-Speed downstream ports, low-power operation, mixed-speed support through MultiTRAK technology, and suitability for consumer and mobile applications. The controller can reduce external USB switch complexity by integrating hub-management functions into one package. The 36-SQFN footprint also supports compact PCB layouts, although exposed-pad thermal management and careful high-speed routing remain essential.
In a typical design, the USB2514B/M2 connects between a USB host and four downstream connectors. Each downstream branch requires appropriate USB data routing and power-path design, while the hub itself needs a suitable reference, clock, decoupling, and configuration implementation defined by the manufacturer datasheet. Because the provided data does not state operating voltage, current, clock frequency, or pin names, those values must be confirmed before schematic sign-off.
The USB2514B/M2 is appropriate for docking accessories, compact embedded hubs, mobile accessories, printers, storage peripherals, and consumer equipment where four USB ports are required. Compared with the USB2513B-AEZC family member, its defining advantage is the verified four-port configuration rather than three ports; board compatibility should not be assumed solely from that functional similarity.
For implementation, preserve the manufacturer-recommended USB differential impedance, minimize stubs and unnecessary vias, and keep sensitive clock and reference routing away from high-current switching nodes. Verify downstream-port current limits, power-switch selection, enumeration behavior, and thermal performance against the final enclosure and accessory load.
This page consolidates verified distributor information, manufacturer product positioning, same-package comparison data, and practical integration guidance. It distinguishes confirmed USB2514B/M2 facts from parameters that require the official datasheet, helping engineers identify the correct hub controller without treating incomplete distributor summaries as complete electrical specifications.
Drop-in alternatives for USB2514B/M2 — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.
Variants in this series
Same-series models that are drop-in compatible with USB2514B/M2 (same form factor and footprint) — differing in Package.
Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:
USB2514BT-I/M2
✅ Drop-In📋 Reference alternative (not in catalog)
USB2514B-I/M2
✅ Drop-In📋 Reference alternative (not in catalog)
USB2514B/M2 Specifications
| Product Type | USB 2.0 Hi-Speed hub controller |
| Number of USB Ports | 4 ports |
| USB Standard | USB 2.0 Hi-Speed |
| Maximum USB Data Rate | 480 Mb/s |
| Technology | MultiTRAK |
| Downstream Port Configuration | 4 ports |
| Package | 36-SQFN (6 x 6 mm) |
| Pin Count | 36 pins |
| Mounting Type | Surface mount |
| Power Class | Cost-effective, low-power design |
| Target Market | Consumer and mobile applications |
| Mixed-Speed Support | Supported by MultiTRAK technology |
USB2514B/M2 36-sqfn (6 x 6 mm) Pin Configuration Guide
Pin configuration for USB2514B/M2 (36-sqfn (6 x 6 mm) package). Pin numbering, functions, and connection diagrams are defined in the manufacturer datasheet. Refer to it for the exact footprint and soldering guidelines.
No detailed pinout data available for USB2514B/M2.
Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.
Typical Applications
USB2514B/M2 is suitable for 6 applications: Compact Four-Port USB Hub, Mobile Accessory Dock, Printer and Storage Hub, Embedded USB Expansion Board, Industrial USB-to-Serial Adapter, USB Test and Measurement Hub.
Compact Four-Port USB Hub
USB2514B/M2 fits compact hubs that need four USB 2.0 Hi-Speed downstream connections. Its 4-port architecture consolidates hub control into one 36-SQFN controller, while MultiTRAK technology supports mixed-speed traffic according to Microchip. In a typical design, one upstream USB port connects to a host and the four downstream ports route to external connectors. The 6 x 6 mm package saves board area, but controlled differential impedance, short traces, correct exposed-pad layout, and verified downstream power-path requirements are essential for reliable operation.
Recommended
Mobile Accessory Dock
USB2514B/M2 is suitable for a mobile docking product that expands one device connection into four USB ports. Microchip specifically identifies consumer and mobile applications as targets, and the controller's four-port USB 2.0 Hi-Speed configuration supports peripherals such as storage, input devices, and charging accessories. The compact 36-SQFN footprint assists miniaturization, while the low-power positioning supports portable designs. Final approval depends on total bus-current demand, connector mounting, thermal rise, cable length, and whether downstream power can be independently controlled.
Recommended
Printer and Storage Hub
The four-port configuration of USB2514B/M2 allows a printer, external storage, keyboard, and status device to share one USB host connection in a desktop accessory. USB 2.0 Hi-Speed supports a maximum signaling rate of 480 Mb/s, making the controller appropriate for devices that benefit from full-speed or high-speed transfer paths. The design must budget power for all attached accessories, preserve signal integrity across each downstream branch, and use protection or switching components appropriate to the final current and fault conditions.
Recommended
Embedded USB Expansion Board
USB2514B/M2 can provide the central hub function on an embedded expansion board connected to a host processor or embedded controller. Four Hi-Speed ports reduce the number of discrete routing and switch functions needed for multiple external devices. The 36-SQFN package is suited to multilayer PCB construction, but designers must follow the reference layout, maintain USB trace geometry across board layers, and implement the required clock, reference, decoupling, and exposed-pad connections. Firmware must also support enumeration and any device-specific configuration options.
Recommended
Industrial USB-to-Serial Adapter
An industrial adapter can use USB2514B/M2 as a four-port USB 2.0 hub and pair separate interface circuits with the downstream connectors. This arrangement can connect a host computer to multiple serial, control, or data-acquisition adapters while retaining one upstream connection. The confirmed 480 Mb/s Hi-Speed mode supports the signaling class, while MultiTRAK assists mixed-speed operation. Industrial use still requires testing conducted noise, temperature, ground-loop behavior, cable faults, and power-supply tolerances that are not quantified in the supplied source data.
Recommended
USB Test and Measurement Hub
USB2514B/M2 can centralize connections for an embedded test or measurement instrument that accepts several USB peripherals. Its four Hi-Speed ports provide useful expansion without a full host controller on the instrument itself. A laboratory instrument should verify leakage current, ground noise, inrush charging, and cable shielding because the available verified data does not define those limits. Keep sensitive analog or RF circuitry separated from hub clock, switching-node, and high-current VBUS paths, while following controlled-impedance routing for all four branches.
Recommended
Recommended Products Summary
Engineering reference data for USB2514B/M2 — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.
Selection Guide
Comparison with Alternatives
| Parameter | This Product | USB2514BT-I/M2 | USB2514B-I/M2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brand | Microchip Technology | Microchip Technology | Microchip Technology |
| Package | 36-SQFN (6 x 6 mm) | 36-SQFN (6 x 6 mm) - same | 36-SQFN (6 x 6 mm) - same |
| Product Type | 4-port USB 2.0 Hi-Speed hub controller | 4-port USB 2.0 Hi-Speed hub controller | 4-port USB 2.0 Hi-Speed hub controller |
| USB Port Count | 4 ports | 4 ports | 4 ports |
| Maximum USB Data Rate | 480 Mb/s | 480 Mb/s | 480 Mb/s |
| Pin Count | 36 pins | 36 pins | 36 pins |
Key Differentiators
- Verified four-port hub configuration (vs USB2513B-AEZC)
- Clear same-package substitution path (vs USB2514BT-I/M2)
- Compact four-port integration (vs USB2514B-I/M2)
Design Notes
Route each USB 2.0 differential pair as a controlled-impedance pair on the same PCB layer whenever possible. The verified data does not provide a target impedance, so use the value and stackup guidance in the official Microchip USB2514B documentation rather than guessing. Keep stubs, test pads, vias, and branch lengths minimal, and avoid crossing USB data routes with switching-regulator and high-current power-switch traces.
Budget upstream and downstream power as a system rather than a single IC load. The provided data confirms low-power positioning but does not state port-current limits, VBUS requirements, or whether an external power switch is mandatory. Select protection and switching components from the manufacturer reference design, then verify inrush, overcurrent, short-circuit, and backward-powering behavior with the intended USB accessories attached.
Do not treat related hub-controller MPNs as interchangeable solely because their functions appear similar. USB2514BT-I/M2 and USB2514B-I/M2 have the strongest supplied evidence for same-package use, while USB2513B-AEZC is a three-port part and therefore cannot provide the verified fourth downstream port. Before production substitution, compare temperature grade, configuration pins, clock requirements, power behavior, and exposed-pad implementation from the manufacturer documentation.
Compliance Information
The supplied verified product and distributor snippets do not explicitly establish RoHS, REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, conflict-minerals, or automotive qualification status. AEC-Q100 is treated as not applicable because the target is described as a consumer and mobile USB hub controller, not an automotive-qualified device.