Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundry

Polar Semiconductor licenses imec's GaN-on-Si process and epi to run 8-inch enhancement-mode GaN at its Bloomington, MN power fab, targeting 40-650V with planned expansion for 800V-to-12V data-center conversion.

Published Updated 4 min read ✓ AI-ready Share

TL;DR — three sentences

  • Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link will produce enhancement-mode GaN-on-Si devices on 8-inch wafers at Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. (S1)
  • The program is enabled by a license transfer of imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. (S1)
  • Initial voltage range is 40 to 650V, with planned expansion across the GaN power spectrum including 800V-to-12V data-center conversion. (S1)

Taken from key_takeaways (real field, max 3 entries). Fact and analysis are labelled separately.

Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundryEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Power motif; headline "Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundry". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Polar Semi and imec IC-Link addU.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si lineto a Bloomington power foundryXAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

You arrived from an AI answer — this is the verifiable original

An AI summary may have dropped the basis for its claims. The original forecast, the affected parts and every citation are on this page, each traceable to its source.

XAIPART forecast

This brief carries a falsifiable forecast.

Affected parts

No catalog match for this story — nothing is shown rather than inferring a match.

Reported by Polar Semiconductor on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

On , Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec said they are collaborating to provide 8-inch production of enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN devices on silicon, with Polar manufacturing the parts at its power and sensor foundry in Bloomington, Minnesota. S1

The program is enabled by a license transfer agreement covering imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. S1 The initial focus is 40 to 650V, with future expansion planned toward both lower and higher voltages across the GaN power spectrum, including 800V-to-12V conversion for data centers. S1

Through IC-Link, imec's design and manufacturing service, customers can obtain early access to the technology for prototyping and then transition to volume manufacturing at Polar. S1 Reza Kazerounian, Executive Chairman of Polar, framed the deal as part of a push to build a U.S.-based GaN Center of Excellence serving defense, AI, and automotive supply chains. S1 Thomas Piliszczuk, Chief R&D Programs & Portfolio Officer at imec, cited more than 15 years of imec GaN R&D as the technology base being transferred. S1

Target markets listed by the partners are AI data centers, automotive, aerospace & defense, and the industrial grid. S1

MetricReported valueSource
Wafer diameter8-inch[S1]
Device typeEnhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN-on-Si[S1]
Initial voltage range40 to 650V[S1]
Future voltage expansionBelow 40V and above 650V (planned)[S1]
Manufacturing siteBloomington, Minnesota (Polar foundry)[S1]
Licensor R&D tenure citedMore than 15 years of GaN R&D (imec)[S1]
Lead time, pricing, wafer startsNot disclosed[S1]

Background timeline

  1. - Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec announce the 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si collaboration and license transfer to Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. [S1]
  2. More than 15 years of imec GaN R&D cited as the technology basis for the transfer. [S1]
  3. No prior milestones disclosed by the source.

XAIPART take

Technical impact

XAIPART analysis An 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line landing inside a U.S. high-voltage power fab is a relevant addition for designers targeting normally-off behavior with simple gate drive, since e-mode parts simplify circuit topology versus cascode or depletion-mode devices.

XAIPART analysis The 40-650V envelope covers the bulk of today's GaN opportunities (USB-PD adapters, server POL converters, OBC, industrial motor drive). Extending above 650V will matter for traction and grid-adjacent roles, but the partners name 800V-to-12V data-center conversion as the headline use case, so expect first PDKs and demo parts to skew toward 100/200V server-side converters.

Market impact

XAIPART analysis For procurement, a domestic 8-inch GaN line competes with existing Asia-based 6/8-inch GaN-on-Si capacity for allocation cycles; the source does not give wafer-start capacity or pricing, so qualification timing rather than spot price is the first lever to watch. Aerospace & defense and AI data-center dual-use positioning aligns with U.S. policy interest in onshore power-semiconductor supply.

XAIPART analysis Imec's IC-Link provides a prototyping front-end, which compresses the typical design-to-Polar-production handoff and could shorten multi-quarter evaluation cycles for design-in teams selecting a second source.

Action

XAIPART analysis Engineers evaluating 100-650V high-efficiency converters should request Polar's 8-inch GaN PDK and access path through IC-Link, and confirm JEDEC- or AEC-relevant qualification evidence before committing.

XAIPART analysis Buyers should ask Polar for an allocation roadmap and pin a second-source policy in writing, since the source discloses neither wafer-start capacity nor volume-pricing at announcement.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART analysis XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before ; if Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date, this forecast is wrong.

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: wafer-start capacity, lead time, qualification status (e.g., AEC-Q100/Q101), pricing and mass-production timing are not disclosed by the source and remain single-source until further data appears.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Alternatives and lifecycle

Alternatives on file — catalog scope, not a market ranking
PartRelationLifecycleBasis
— No alternative on file NEEDS DATA — Requires match_type before any predecessor label may appear

“Predecessor” and “alternative” labels come only from a recorded match type, a lifecycle status, or the source text. Where no match is recorded, no label is shown. Our own listings are not a market reference.

What to watch

Falsifiable forecast — threshold, window and current status. Disproved forecasts stay visible.
ClaimThresholdByStatus
XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before 2027-06-30 Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date Pending

Forecasts that turn out wrong are kept visible and marked. We do not delete them.

Affected parts

No catalog match. This story does not map to any part currently listed on XAIPART. We do not infer matches, and we do not show a placeholder list.

Cost pressure by dimension

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.4541, neutral. Composite index -7.6, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.4541 · neutral6 dcomposite −7.6 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt96 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu6 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

How this was produced

Process evidence — fetch, source sanity, model and gate
Audit trail for this brief
Source fetched Polar Semiconductor · polarsemi.com · 2,812 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,580 tokens · 43.1s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.035214 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Every row above is produced by the pipeline, not written by hand.

Editorial score

Deterministic gate result — pure PHP, no model involvement in the verdict
Gate score breakdown 6 applicable checks, 5 passed: 83 percent. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358. Applicable checks passed 5 / 6 = 83% · verdict: hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358 The gate decides publication. The independent audit score is advisory only.
Found an error? Tell us what is wrong — corrections are published alongside the original text and logged. We do not silently edit articles.

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Sources

  1. Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link bring 8-inch GaN-on-Si production to a US foundry — https://polarsemi.com/?p=2242 · rss · accessed

Facts are marked S1/S2 and trace to the linked source. Passages labelled analysis are XAIPART's own reasoning, kept separate from reported facts. Source links are followed rather than nofollow — attribution is intentional.