Polar Semi et imec IC-Link ajoutent une ligne e-mode GaN-on-Si 8 pouces fabriquée aux États-Unis à une fonderie de puissance de Bloomington

Polar Semiconductor licencie le procédé GaN-on-Si et l'épitaxie d'imec pour produire du GaN à enrichissement 8 pouces dans sa fonderie de puissance de Bloomington, MN, ciblant 40-650 V avec une extension prévue pour la conversion 800 V à 12 V des centres de données.

Publié Mis à jour 4 min de lecture ✓ Compatible IA Partager

TL;DR — trois phrases

  • Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link will produce enhancement-mode GaN-on-Si devices on 8-inch wafers at Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. (S1)
  • The program is enabled by a license transfer of imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. (S1)
  • Initial voltage range is 40 to 650V, with planned expansion across the GaN power spectrum including 800V-to-12V data-center conversion. (S1)

Tiré de key_takeaways (champ réel, 3 entrées max.). Faits et analyse sont étiquetés séparément.

Polar Semi et imec IC-Link ajoutent une ligne e-mode GaN-on-Si 8 pouces fabriquée aux États-Unis à une fonderie de puissance de BloomingtonEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Power motif; headline "Polar Semi et imec IC-Link ajoutent une ligne e-mode GaN-on-Si 8 pouces fabriquée aux États-Unis à une fonderi…". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Polar Semi et imec IC-Link ajoutent uneligne e-mode GaN-on-Si 8 poucesfabriquée aux États-Unis à une fonderi…XAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

Vous arrivez depuis une réponse d'IA — voici l'original vérifiable

Un résumé généré par IA peut avoir omis le fondement de ses affirmations. La prévision d'origine, les références concernées et chaque citation figurent sur cette page, chacune traçable à sa source.

Prévision XAIPART

Cette brève comporte une prévision falsifiable.

Références concernées

Aucune correspondance dans le catalogue pour cette information — rien n'est affiché plutôt que de déduire une correspondance.

Reported by Polar Semiconductor on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

On , Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec said they are collaborating to provide 8-inch production of enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN devices on silicon, with Polar manufacturing the parts at its power and sensor foundry in Bloomington, Minnesota. S1

The program is enabled by a license transfer agreement covering imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. S1 The initial focus is 40 to 650V, with future expansion planned toward both lower and higher voltages across the GaN power spectrum, including 800V-to-12V conversion for data centers. S1

Through IC-Link, imec's design and manufacturing service, customers can obtain early access to the technology for prototyping and then transition to volume manufacturing at Polar. S1 Reza Kazerounian, Executive Chairman of Polar, framed the deal as part of a push to build a U.S.-based GaN Center of Excellence serving defense, AI, and automotive supply chains. S1 Thomas Piliszczuk, Chief R&D Programs & Portfolio Officer at imec, cited more than 15 years of imec GaN R&D as the technology base being transferred. S1

Target markets listed by the partners are AI data centers, automotive, aerospace & defense, and the industrial grid. S1

MetricReported valueSource
Wafer diameter8-inch[S1]
Device typeEnhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN-on-Si[S1]
Initial voltage range40 to 650V[S1]
Future voltage expansionBelow 40V and above 650V (planned)[S1]
Manufacturing siteBloomington, Minnesota (Polar foundry)[S1]
Licensor R&D tenure citedMore than 15 years of GaN R&D (imec)[S1]
Lead time, pricing, wafer startsNot disclosed[S1]

Background timeline

  1. - Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec announce the 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si collaboration and license transfer to Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. [S1]
  2. More than 15 years of imec GaN R&D cited as the technology basis for the transfer. [S1]
  3. No prior milestones disclosed by the source.

XAIPART take

Technical impact

XAIPART analysis An 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line landing inside a U.S. high-voltage power fab is a relevant addition for designers targeting normally-off behavior with simple gate drive, since e-mode parts simplify circuit topology versus cascode or depletion-mode devices.

XAIPART analysis The 40-650V envelope covers the bulk of today's GaN opportunities (USB-PD adapters, server POL converters, OBC, industrial motor drive). Extending above 650V will matter for traction and grid-adjacent roles, but the partners name 800V-to-12V data-center conversion as the headline use case, so expect first PDKs and demo parts to skew toward 100/200V server-side converters.

Market impact

XAIPART analysis For procurement, a domestic 8-inch GaN line competes with existing Asia-based 6/8-inch GaN-on-Si capacity for allocation cycles; the source does not give wafer-start capacity or pricing, so qualification timing rather than spot price is the first lever to watch. Aerospace & defense and AI data-center dual-use positioning aligns with U.S. policy interest in onshore power-semiconductor supply.

XAIPART analysis Imec's IC-Link provides a prototyping front-end, which compresses the typical design-to-Polar-production handoff and could shorten multi-quarter evaluation cycles for design-in teams selecting a second source.

Action

XAIPART analysis Engineers evaluating 100-650V high-efficiency converters should request Polar's 8-inch GaN PDK and access path through IC-Link, and confirm JEDEC- or AEC-relevant qualification evidence before committing.

XAIPART analysis Buyers should ask Polar for an allocation roadmap and pin a second-source policy in writing, since the source discloses neither wafer-start capacity nor volume-pricing at announcement.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART analysis XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before ; if Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date, this forecast is wrong.

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: wafer-start capacity, lead time, qualification status (e.g., AEC-Q100/Q101), pricing and mass-production timing are not disclosed by the source and remain single-source until further data appears.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Alternatives et cycle de vie

Alternatives référencées — périmètre du catalogue, pas un classement de marché
RéférenceRelationCycle de vieFondement
— Aucune alternative référencée DONNÉES REQUISES — Nécessite match_type avant que toute mention de prédécesseur ne puisse apparaître

Les mentions « prédécesseur » et « alternative » proviennent uniquement d'un type de correspondance enregistré, d'un statut de cycle de vie ou du texte source. Lorsqu'aucune correspondance n'est enregistrée, aucune mention n'est affichée. Nos propres annonces ne constituent pas une référence de marché.

À surveiller

Prévision falsifiable — seuil, période et statut actuel. Les prévisions réfutées restent visibles.
AffirmationSeuilParStatut
XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before 2027-06-30 Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date Pending

Les prévisions qui se révèlent erronées restent visibles et signalées. Nous ne les supprimons pas.

Références concernées

Aucune correspondance dans le catalogue. Cette information ne correspond à aucune référence actuellement listée sur XAIPART. Nous ne déduisons pas de correspondances et n'affichons pas de liste fictive.

Pression sur les coûts par dimension

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.4541, neutral. Composite index -7.6, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.4541 · neutral6 dcomposite −7.6 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt96 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu6 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

Comment ce contenu a été produit

Traçabilité du processus — récupération, contrôle de la source, modèle et contrôle
Piste d'audit de cette brève
Source fetched Polar Semiconductor · polarsemi.com · 2,812 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,580 tokens · 43.1s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.035214 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Chaque ligne ci-dessus est produite par le pipeline, et non rédigée à la main.

Score éditorial

Résultat du contrôle déterministe — PHP pur, aucun modèle impliqué dans le verdict
Détail du score de contrôle 6 contrôles applicables, 5réussies : 83 %. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358. Contrôles applicables réussis 5 / 6 = 83% · verdict : hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358 Le contrôle décide de la publication. Le score d'audit indépendant est purement consultatif.
Vous avez trouvé une erreur ? Signalez-nous le problème — les corrections sont publiées avec le texte d'origine et consignées. Nous ne modifions jamais silencieusement un article.

Commentaires

Soyez le premier à commenter.

Sources

  1. Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link bring 8-inch GaN-on-Si production to a US foundry — https://polarsemi.com/?p=2242 · rss · consulté le

Les faits sont marqués S1/S2 et renvoient à la source liée. Les passages étiquetés analyse relèvent du raisonnement propre à XAIPART, tenu séparé des faits rapportés. Les liens sources sont consultés plutôt que nofollow — l'attribution est intentionnelle.