Polar Semi und imec IC-Link ergänzen eine in den USA hergestellte 8-Zoll-e-mode-GaN-on-Si-Linie in einer Leistungshalbleiter-Foundry in Bloomington

Polar Semiconductor lizenziert das GaN-on-Si-Prozess- und Epitaxie-Verfahren von imec, um 8-Zoll-Enhancement-Mode-GaN in seinem Leistungshalbleiterwerk in Bloomington, MN, für 40-650 V herzustellen, mit geplanter Erweiterung für die 800V-zu-12V-Umwandlung in Rechenzentren.

Veröffentlicht Aktualisiert 4 Min. Lesezeit ✓ KI-bereit Teilen

TL;DR – drei Sätze

  • Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link will produce enhancement-mode GaN-on-Si devices on 8-inch wafers at Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. (S1)
  • The program is enabled by a license transfer of imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. (S1)
  • Initial voltage range is 40 to 650V, with planned expansion across the GaN power spectrum including 800V-to-12V data-center conversion. (S1)

Entnommen aus key_takeaways (echtes Feld, max. 3 Einträge). Fakt und Analyse werden getrennt gekennzeichnet.

Polar Semi und imec IC-Link ergänzen eine in den USA hergestellte 8-Zoll-e-mode-GaN-on-Si-Linie in einer Leistungshalbleiter-Foundry in BloomingtonEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Factory motif; headline "Polar Semi und imec IC-Link ergänzen eine in den USA hergestellte 8-Zoll-e-mode-GaN-on-Si-Linie in eine…". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Polar Semi und imec IC-Link ergänzeneine in den USA hergestellte8-Zoll-e-mode-GaN-on-Si-Linie in eine…XAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

Sie kommen von einer KI-Antwort – dies ist das verifizierbare Original

Eine KI-Zusammenfassung hat möglicherweise die Grundlage für ihre Aussagen ausgelassen. Die ursprüngliche Prognose, die betroffenen Bauteile und jede Quellenangabe befinden sich auf dieser Seite, jeweils bis zur Quelle zurückverfolgbar.

XAIPART-Prognose

Dieser Kurzbericht enthält eine falsifizierbare Prognose.

Betroffene Bauteile

Keine Übereinstimmung im Katalog für diese Geschichte – es wird nichts angezeigt, statt eine Übereinstimmung zu unterstellen.

Reported by Polar Semiconductor on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

On , Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec said they are collaborating to provide 8-inch production of enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN devices on silicon, with Polar manufacturing the parts at its power and sensor foundry in Bloomington, Minnesota. S1

The program is enabled by a license transfer agreement covering imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. S1 The initial focus is 40 to 650V, with future expansion planned toward both lower and higher voltages across the GaN power spectrum, including 800V-to-12V conversion for data centers. S1

Through IC-Link, imec's design and manufacturing service, customers can obtain early access to the technology for prototyping and then transition to volume manufacturing at Polar. S1 Reza Kazerounian, Executive Chairman of Polar, framed the deal as part of a push to build a U.S.-based GaN Center of Excellence serving defense, AI, and automotive supply chains. S1 Thomas Piliszczuk, Chief R&D Programs & Portfolio Officer at imec, cited more than 15 years of imec GaN R&D as the technology base being transferred. S1

Target markets listed by the partners are AI data centers, automotive, aerospace & defense, and the industrial grid. S1

MetricReported valueSource
Wafer diameter8-inch[S1]
Device typeEnhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN-on-Si[S1]
Initial voltage range40 to 650V[S1]
Future voltage expansionBelow 40V and above 650V (planned)[S1]
Manufacturing siteBloomington, Minnesota (Polar foundry)[S1]
Licensor R&D tenure citedMore than 15 years of GaN R&D (imec)[S1]
Lead time, pricing, wafer startsNot disclosed[S1]

Background timeline

  1. - Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec announce the 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si collaboration and license transfer to Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. [S1]
  2. More than 15 years of imec GaN R&D cited as the technology basis for the transfer. [S1]
  3. No prior milestones disclosed by the source.

XAIPART take

Technical impact

XAIPART analysis An 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line landing inside a U.S. high-voltage power fab is a relevant addition for designers targeting normally-off behavior with simple gate drive, since e-mode parts simplify circuit topology versus cascode or depletion-mode devices.

XAIPART analysis The 40-650V envelope covers the bulk of today's GaN opportunities (USB-PD adapters, server POL converters, OBC, industrial motor drive). Extending above 650V will matter for traction and grid-adjacent roles, but the partners name 800V-to-12V data-center conversion as the headline use case, so expect first PDKs and demo parts to skew toward 100/200V server-side converters.

Market impact

XAIPART analysis For procurement, a domestic 8-inch GaN line competes with existing Asia-based 6/8-inch GaN-on-Si capacity for allocation cycles; the source does not give wafer-start capacity or pricing, so qualification timing rather than spot price is the first lever to watch. Aerospace & defense and AI data-center dual-use positioning aligns with U.S. policy interest in onshore power-semiconductor supply.

XAIPART analysis Imec's IC-Link provides a prototyping front-end, which compresses the typical design-to-Polar-production handoff and could shorten multi-quarter evaluation cycles for design-in teams selecting a second source.

Action

XAIPART analysis Engineers evaluating 100-650V high-efficiency converters should request Polar's 8-inch GaN PDK and access path through IC-Link, and confirm JEDEC- or AEC-relevant qualification evidence before committing.

XAIPART analysis Buyers should ask Polar for an allocation roadmap and pin a second-source policy in writing, since the source discloses neither wafer-start capacity nor volume-pricing at announcement.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART analysis XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before ; if Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date, this forecast is wrong.

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: wafer-start capacity, lead time, qualification status (e.g., AEC-Q100/Q101), pricing and mass-production timing are not disclosed by the source and remain single-source until further data appears.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Alternativen und Lebenszyklus

Hinterlegte Alternativen – Katalogumfang, kein Marktranking
BauteilBeziehungLebenszyklusGrundlage
— Keine Alternative hinterlegt DATEN FEHLEN — Erfordert match_type bevor eine Vorgänger-Kennzeichnung erscheinen darf

Die Kennzeichnungen „Vorgänger“ und „Alternative“ stammen ausschließlich aus einem erfassten Übereinstimmungstyp, einem Lebenszyklusstatus oder dem Quelltext. Wo keine Übereinstimmung erfasst ist, wird keine Kennzeichnung angezeigt. Unsere eigenen Angebote sind keine Marktreferenz.

Worauf Sie achten sollten

Falsifizierbare Prognose – Schwellenwert, Zeitfenster und aktueller Status. Widerlegte Prognosen bleiben sichtbar.
BehauptungSchwellenwertVonStatus
XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before 2027-06-30 Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date Pending

Prognosen, die sich als falsch erweisen, bleiben sichtbar und werden gekennzeichnet. Wir löschen sie nicht.

Betroffene Bauteile

Keine Übereinstimmung im Katalog. Diese Geschichte lässt sich keinem derzeit auf XAIPART gelisteten Bauteil zuordnen. Wir unterstellen keine Übereinstimmungen und zeigen keine Platzhalterliste.

Kostendruck nach Dimension

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.4541, neutral. Composite index -7.6, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.4541 · neutral6 dcomposite −7.6 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt96 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu6 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

So wurde dies erstellt

Prozessnachweise – Abruf, Quellenprüfung, Modell und Gate
Audit-Trail für diesen Kurzbericht
Source fetched Polar Semiconductor · polarsemi.com · 2,812 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,580 tokens · 43.1s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.035214 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Jede obige Zeile wird von der Pipeline erzeugt und nicht von Hand geschrieben.

Redaktionelle Bewertung

Deterministisches Gate-Ergebnis – reines PHP, kein Modell an der Entscheidung beteiligt
Aufschlüsselung der Gate-Bewertung 6 anwendbare Prüfungen, 5bestanden: 83 %. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358. Anwendbare Prüfungen bestanden 5 / 6 = 83% · Urteil: hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358 Das Gate entscheidet über die Veröffentlichung. Die Bewertung des unabhängigen Audits ist ausschließlich beratend.
Fehler gefunden? Sagen Sie uns, was falsch ist – Korrekturen werden zusammen mit dem Originaltext veröffentlicht und protokolliert. Wir bearbeiten Artikel nicht stillschweigend.

Kommentare

Seien Sie der Erste, der kommentiert.

Quellen

  1. Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link bring 8-inch GaN-on-Si production to a US foundry — https://polarsemi.com/?p=2242 · rss · abgerufen am

Fakten sind mit S1/S2 gekennzeichnet und lassen sich bis zur verlinkten Quelle zurückverfolgen. Passagen, die als Analyse sind die eigene Argumentation von XAIPART, getrennt von berichteten Fakten gehalten. Quellenlinks werden verfolgt und nicht nofollow – die Quellenangabe ist beabsichtigt.