Reported by Polar Semiconductor on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.
What happened
On , Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec said they are collaborating to provide 8-inch production of enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN devices on silicon, with Polar manufacturing the parts at its power and sensor foundry in Bloomington, Minnesota. S1
The program is enabled by a license transfer agreement covering imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. S1 The initial focus is 40 to 650V, with future expansion planned toward both lower and higher voltages across the GaN power spectrum, including 800V-to-12V conversion for data centers. S1
Through IC-Link, imec's design and manufacturing service, customers can obtain early access to the technology for prototyping and then transition to volume manufacturing at Polar. S1 Reza Kazerounian, Executive Chairman of Polar, framed the deal as part of a push to build a U.S.-based GaN Center of Excellence serving defense, AI, and automotive supply chains. S1 Thomas Piliszczuk, Chief R&D Programs & Portfolio Officer at imec, cited more than 15 years of imec GaN R&D as the technology base being transferred. S1
Target markets listed by the partners are AI data centers, automotive, aerospace & defense, and the industrial grid. S1
| Metric | Reported value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Wafer diameter | 8-inch | [S1] |
| Device type | Enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN-on-Si | [S1] |
| Initial voltage range | 40 to 650V | [S1] |
| Future voltage expansion | Below 40V and above 650V (planned) | [S1] |
| Manufacturing site | Bloomington, Minnesota (Polar foundry) | [S1] |
| Licensor R&D tenure cited | More than 15 years of GaN R&D (imec) | [S1] |
| Lead time, pricing, wafer starts | Not disclosed | [S1] |
Background timeline
- - Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec announce the 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si collaboration and license transfer to Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. [S1]
- More than 15 years of imec GaN R&D cited as the technology basis for the transfer. [S1]
- No prior milestones disclosed by the source.
XAIPART take
Technical impact
XAIPART analysis An 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line landing inside a U.S. high-voltage power fab is a relevant addition for designers targeting normally-off behavior with simple gate drive, since e-mode parts simplify circuit topology versus cascode or depletion-mode devices.
XAIPART analysis The 40-650V envelope covers the bulk of today's GaN opportunities (USB-PD adapters, server POL converters, OBC, industrial motor drive). Extending above 650V will matter for traction and grid-adjacent roles, but the partners name 800V-to-12V data-center conversion as the headline use case, so expect first PDKs and demo parts to skew toward 100/200V server-side converters.
Market impact
XAIPART analysis For procurement, a domestic 8-inch GaN line competes with existing Asia-based 6/8-inch GaN-on-Si capacity for allocation cycles; the source does not give wafer-start capacity or pricing, so qualification timing rather than spot price is the first lever to watch. Aerospace & defense and AI data-center dual-use positioning aligns with U.S. policy interest in onshore power-semiconductor supply.
XAIPART analysis Imec's IC-Link provides a prototyping front-end, which compresses the typical design-to-Polar-production handoff and could shorten multi-quarter evaluation cycles for design-in teams selecting a second source.
Action
XAIPART analysis Engineers evaluating 100-650V high-efficiency converters should request Polar's 8-inch GaN PDK and access path through IC-Link, and confirm JEDEC- or AEC-relevant qualification evidence before committing.
XAIPART analysis Buyers should ask Polar for an allocation roadmap and pin a second-source policy in writing, since the source discloses neither wafer-start capacity nor volume-pricing at announcement.
XAIPART Forecast
XAIPART analysis XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before ; if Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date, this forecast is wrong.
Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: wafer-start capacity, lead time, qualification status (e.g., AEC-Q100/Q101), pricing and mass-production timing are not disclosed by the source and remain single-source until further data appears.
Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.
代替品とライフサイクル
| 部品 | 関係 | ライフサイクル | 根拠 |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | 登録済みの代替品はありません データ不足 | — | 前身ラベルを表示するには match_type が必要です |
「前身」および「代替」のラベルは、記録された一致タイプ、ライフサイクルステータス、またはソーステキストに基づく場合にのみ付与されます。一致が記録されていない場合、ラベルは表示されません。当社の掲載情報は市場の基準ではありません。
注視すべき点
| 主張 | しきい値 | 著者: | ステータス |
|---|---|---|---|
| XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before 2027-06-30 | Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date | Pending |
誤りだった予測は表示されたままマークされます。削除することはありません。
影響を受ける部品
カタログに一致するものはありません。 この記事は、現在XAIPARTに掲載されているどの部品にも該当しません。一致を推測することはなく、プレースホルダーのリストも表示しません。
次元別のコスト圧力
| Dimension | FRED series ID | Unit | Lag | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Input cost | PCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDM | USD/mt | 96 d | |
| Supply/demand | PCU334413334413, IPG3344S | index(1982=100) / index(2017=100) | 46 d | |
| FX & energy | DEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSP | rate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu | 6 d |
No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.
この記事の制作方法
プロセス証跡 — 取得、ソースの妥当性、モデル、ゲート
| Source fetched | Polar Semiconductor · polarsemi.com · 2,812 chars |
|---|---|
| Source sanity (S1) | ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded) |
| Model / prompt | MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,580 tokens · 43.1s · run completed |
| Gate | verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.035214 · C10 rounds 0 |
| Time contract | 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only) |
上記のすべての行はパイプラインによって生成されており、手作業で書かれたものではありません。
コメント
最初のコメントを投稿しましょう。
🔐 コメントするには ログイン してください。
アカウントをお持ちでないですか? 新規登録