Semiconductor News · Breve de abastecimiento

Gainsborough APU leak points to Steam Deck 2: 50% CPU core bump and 24 GB LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s

A leaked OpenBenchmarking entry for an AMD Gainsborough engineering sample shows 6 cores, 24 GB LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, and Furmark parity with today's Steam Deck at lower resolution.

Publicado Actualizado 4 min de lectura ✓ Listo para IA Compartir

TL;DR — tres frases

  • A leaked Gainsborough APU sample shows 6 cores / 12 threads at 2.4 GHz, a 50% CPU core bump over the current Steam Deck. (S1)
  • The sample carries 24 GB of LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, versus 16 GB of 6400 MT/s in today's device; the article flags 24 GB as a test configuration, not a confirmed shipping spec. (S1)
  • Furmark scored 3,508 on the Gainsborough sample at 1024 × 768 versus 3,323 on the current Steam Deck at 1280 × 800; the article frames the two as close rather than directly comparable. (S1)

Tomado de key_takeaways (campo real, máx. 3 entradas). Los hechos y el análisis se etiquetan por separado.

Gainsborough APU leak points to Steam Deck 2: 50% CPU core bump and 24 GB LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s — Semiconductor News news briefEditorial cover for a Semiconductor News brief. Chip motif; headline "Gainsborough APU leak points to Steam Deck 2: 50% CPU core bump and 24 GB LPDDR5 a…". Reported key numbers: 2.4 GHz; 9600 MT/s; 3,508. 1 cited source. A one-time entrance animation stops under reduced motion.SEMICONDUCTOR NEWS · NEWS BRIEFGainsborough APU leak points to Steam Deck2: 50% CPU core bump and 24 GB LPDDR5 a…REPORTED KEY NUMBERS2.4 GHz9600 MT/s3,5081 sourceXAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

Llegó desde una respuesta de IA — este es el original verificable

Es posible que un resumen de IA haya omitido la base de sus afirmaciones. La previsión original, las piezas afectadas y cada cita están en esta página, cada una trazable hasta su fuente.

Previsión de XAIPART

Este breve incluye una previsión refutable.

Piezas afectadas

No hay coincidencia en el catálogo para esta historia — no se muestra nada en lugar de inferir una coincidencia.

Reported by TechPowerUp on 2026-10-20. Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

An AMD Gainsborough APU has surfaced on OpenBenchmarking in an engineering-sample configuration, and TechPowerUp previously linked the same codename to Valve's potential Steam Deck 2 silicon path.S1

The leaked sample carries 6 CPU cores and 12 threads on a 2.4 GHz base clock, which it characterizes as a 50% increase over the cores in the current Steam Deck APU.S1

Memory configuration on the sample is 24 GB of LPDDR5 running at 9600 MT/s, compared with 16 GB of LPDDR5 at 6400 MT/s in today's device, while the article notes this 24 GB figure is a test configuration rather than a confirmed shipping spec.S1

In Furmark, the Gainsborough sample reached 3,508 points at 1024 × 768, versus 3,323 points for the current APU at 1280 × 800. The article frames the two as close rather than directly comparable because of the resolution delta and notes early drivers were used.S1

Key numbers reported by TechPowerUp
MetricReported valueSource
CPU cores / threads (Gainsborough sample)6 / 12[S1]
CPU base clock2.4 GHz[S1]
CPU core increase vs current Steam Deck+50%[S1]
Memory capacity (sample)24 GB LPDDR5[S1]
Memory speed (sample)9600 MT/s[S1]
Steam Deck reference memory, Gen16 GB LPDDR5 at 6400 MT/s[S1]
Furmark score, Gainsborough at 1024 × 7683,508[S1]
Furmark score, Steam Deck at 1280 × 8003,323[S1]
Shipped RAM for Steam Deck 2Not disclosed[S1]

Background timeline

  1. - TechPowerUp reports an AMD Gainsborough APU engineering sample leaked on OpenBenchmarking, tied to the Steam Deck 2 rumor thread. [S1]
  2. - TechPowerUp previously identified the Gainsborough codename in an AMD driver drop and linked it to a potential Steam Deck 2 APU. [S1]

XAIPART take

Technical impact

The 50% core bump from 4 to 6 on the same Zen-family microarchitecture line, paired with LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, points to meaningful headroom for threaded game workloads and faster iGPU feed bandwidth than today's 6400 MT/s subsystem. [XAIPART analysis]

Even with early drivers, the Furmark parity at lower resolution is the more interesting signal: it suggests AMD and a partner are already validating a thermal and power envelope that is at least as efficient as the current Van Gogh part. [XAIPART analysis]

Market impact

For handheld gaming designs built around AMD APUs, a verified 6-core Gainsborough part with 9600 MT/s LPDDR5 would reset the BOM expectations on the memory side: 24 GB at that speed implies denser packages and tighter PCB signal-integrity work than the current 16 GB at 6400 MT/s. [XAIPART analysis]

For sourcing, expect a short beta-sample window before any retail APU is allocated; Valve and other OEMs will likely lock in memory vendor slots ahead of generic DIY availability. [XAIPART analysis]

Action

Design teams evaluating APU platforms for handheld or compact gaming form factors can park this codename on a watch list and plan validation around the 24 GB / 9600 MT/s LPDDR5 envelope. [XAIPART analysis]

Procurement should track AMD APU allocation notes and any partner memory vendor announcements around LPDDR5-9600 parts rather than committing long-lead orders against unverified sample specs. [XAIPART analysis]

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART expects that, if a second OpenBenchmarking submission for the same Gainsborough silicon family does not appear with at least 24 GB of LPDDR5 at a sustained memory clock of 8400 MT/s or higher by 2027-03-31, this brief's design-in assumptions about the Gainsborough memory envelope are wrong. XAIPART analysis

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. The shipping RAM capacity for any Steam Deck 2 product, the final APU SKU name, and the production release window are not disclosed by TechPowerUp; the leak is single-source and based on a pre-release engineering run. [XBID]

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

Alternativas y ciclo de vida

Alternativas registradas — alcance del catálogo, no una clasificación de mercado
PiezaRelaciónCiclo de vidaBase
— No hay alternativa registrada FALTAN DATOS — Requiere match_type antes de que pueda aparecer cualquier etiqueta de predecesor

Las etiquetas «predecesor» y «alternativa» proceden únicamente de un tipo de coincidencia registrado, un estado del ciclo de vida o el texto de la fuente. Cuando no hay coincidencia registrada, no se muestra ninguna etiqueta. Nuestros propios anuncios no son una referencia de mercado.

Panorama competitivo

  • 21763 anuncios activos en esta categoría en XAIPART
  • 88 fabricantes representados
  • 57 fabricantes mencionados en nuestro archivo de noticias durante los últimos 30 días

Los recuentos reflejan únicamente el catálogo de XAIPART; no representan cuota de mercado.

Piezas afectadas

Sin coincidencia en el catálogo. Esta historia no se corresponde con ninguna pieza listada actualmente en XAIPART. No inferimos coincidencias ni mostramos una lista de marcador de posición.

Dónde encaja esto en la historia

Event chain · as of 2026-10-20T09:30:38+08:00 · showing 6 of 8 briefs · nodes link to published articles on this site.
Event chain — amd+semiconductor-newsChain nodes: 2026-10-07 AMD publica los precios a 1Ku de las 31 SKU EPYC 9006 Zen 6. SP7 se envía en el 4T26, SP8 le sigue en el 1S27, con Default CPU Power en sustitución del TDP.; 2026-10-09 Astera Labs añade retimers, redrivers, módulos de cable, drivers ópticos y TAs a su cartera Aries 7, con muestras previstas para el cuarto trimestre de 2026 antes de las demostraciones en el OCP Global Summit.; 2026-10-10 AMD reveló un muestreador de hardware Zen 6 orientado al seguimiento de páginas calientes en memoria en niveles CXL; los deltas de benchmark son mixtos y los parches siguen en desarrollo.; 2026-10-10 AMD ha aumentado los precios de proveedor de GPU en China hasta $104 en la RX 9070, citando costos de memoria y fabricación. Se espera que los aumentos internacionales sigan.; 2026-10-10 iBUYPOWER enviará una mini estación de trabajo basada en Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 495 desde $3999 en el cuarto trimestre de 2026. Lea qué cambia para el diseño y las compras.; 2026-10-20 A Weibo leak surfaces an 8-core Ryzen AI 7 HX 455 APU with 16 CU Radeon graphics matching the Radeon 890M and 24 MB of L3 cache, pointing at a thinner HX 470 sibling.. As of 2026-10-20T09:30:38+08:00. Open forecast: AMD publica los precios a 1Ku de las 31 SKU EPYC 9006 Zen 6. SP7 se enví — pending Open forecast: Astera Labs añade retimers, redrivers, módulos de cable, drivers ópticos — pending.2026-10-07AMD publica los prour brief ↗2026-10-09Astera Labs añade our brief ↗2026-10-10AMD reveló un muesour brief ↗2026-10-10AMD ha aumentado lour brief ↗2026-10-10iBUYPOWER enviará our brief ↗2026-10-20A Weibo leak surfaour brief ↗Open forecast: AMD publica los precios a 1Ku de las 31 SKU EPYC 9006 Zen 6. SP7 se enví — pendingOpen forecast: Astera Labs añade retimers, redrivers, módulos de cable, drivers ópticos — pending
  1. amd-epyc-9006-venice-700-8-core-to-14-904-256-core-what-sp7-sp8-buyers-need2026-10-07
  2. astera-labs-broadens-aries-7-pcie-7-connectivity-line-for-multi-rack-ai-clusters2026-10-09 · product launch
  3. what-amd-s-zen-6-ibs-memory-profiler-means-for-cxl-tiered-memory-server-designs2026-10-10
  4. amd-gpu-price-hikes-of-up-to-104-hit-china-first-international-board-partners-already-notified2026-10-10 · price change
  5. ibuypower-s-amd-ai-halo-mini-pc-what-the-ryzen-ai-max-pro-495-means-for-compact-workstation-sourcing2026-10-10 · product launch
  6. amd-ryzen-ai-7-hx-455-leak-signals-a-cut-back-hx-470-with-z2-extreme-class-radeon-890m-igpu2026-10-20
  1. AMD publica los precios a 1Ku de las 31 SKU EPYC 9006 Zen 6. SP7 se envía en el 4T26, SP8 le sigue en el 1S27, con Default CPU Power en sustitución del TDP. trade
  2. Astera Labs añade retimers, redrivers, módulos de cable, drivers ópticos y TAs a su cartera Aries 7, con muestras previstas para el cuarto trimestre de 2026 antes de las demostraciones en el OCP Global Summit. product launch trade
  3. AMD reveló un muestreador de hardware Zen 6 orientado al seguimiento de páginas calientes en memoria en niveles CXL; los deltas de benchmark son mixtos y los parches siguen en desarrollo. trade
  4. AMD ha aumentado los precios de proveedor de GPU en China hasta $104 en la RX 9070, citando costos de memoria y fabricación. Se espera que los aumentos internacionales sigan. price change trade
  5. iBUYPOWER enviará una mini estación de trabajo basada en Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 495 desde $3999 en el cuarto trimestre de 2026. Lea qué cambia para el diseño y las compras. product launch trade
  6. A Weibo leak surfaces an 8-core Ryzen AI 7 HX 455 APU with 16 CU Radeon graphics matching the Radeon 890M and 24 MB of L3 cache, pointing at a thinner HX 470 sibling. trade
  7. Colorful's E-ATX X870E Ultra-S V14 AM5 board ships in China at 1,899 CNY with 16+2+1 80 A VRMs, five M.2 slots and Wi-Fi 7. product launch trade
  8. A leaked OpenBenchmarking entry for an AMD Gainsborough engineering sample shows 6 cores, 24 GB LPDDR5 at 9600 MT/s, and Furmark parity with today's Steam Deck at lower resolution. trade

La cadena se construye únicamente con breves publicados — un nodo sin breve no se dibuja.

Presión de costes por dimensión

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.4541, neutral. Composite index -7.6, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.4541 · neutral6 dcomposite −7.6 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt96 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu6 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

Cómo se elaboró

Evidencia del proceso — obtención, verificación de fuentes, modelo y filtro
Registro de auditoría de este breve
Source fetched TechPowerUp · www.techpowerup.com · 2,019 chars · fetch status success
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,599 tokens · 35.3s · run completed
Gate verdict pass · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.026292 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 2 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

Cada fila anterior la produce el flujo de trabajo, no se escribe a mano.

Puntuación editorial

Resultado del filtro determinista — PHP puro, sin intervención del modelo en el veredicto
Desglose de la puntuación del filtro 6 comprobaciones aplicables, 5aprobadas: 83 %. No hold items or mandatory failures. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.4762. Comprobaciones aplicables superadas 5 / 6 = 83% · veredicto: pass No hold items or mandatory failures Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.4762 El filtro decide la publicación. La puntuación de la auditoría independiente es solo consultiva.
¿Ha encontrado un error? Díganos qué está mal — las correcciones se publican junto al texto original y se registran. No editamos los artículos en silencio.

Comentarios

Sea el primero en comentar.

Fuentes

  1. Rumored Steam Deck 2 APU Appears in Leaked Benchmarks with 50% More CPU Cores — https://www.techpowerup.com/353888/rumored-steam-deck-2-apu-appears-in-leaked-benchmarks-with-50-more-cpu-cores · rss · consultado

Los hechos están marcados como S1/S2 y se remontan a la fuente enlazada. Los pasajes etiquetados análisis son el razonamiento propio de XAIPART, mantenido separado de los hechos reportados. Se siguen los enlaces de las fuentes en lugar de nofollow — la atribución es intencionada.