Intel

5M160ZM100C4N - 128-Macrocell CPLD | Intel | Logic Control

MPN: 5M160ZM100C4N ✓ Active
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
1.71 V to 1.89 V Vdss 100-pin micro FBGA Package 184 MHz Speed
From $1.4 USD / Unit
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-05
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $1.5506 $1.55
10 $1.55 $15.50
100 $1.53 $153.00
500 $1.5 $750.00
1,000 $1.45 $1,450.00
3,000 $1.4 $4,200.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

Drop-in alternatives for 5M160ZM100C4N — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

5M160ZM100I5N

✅ Drop-In
Intel
📦 MBGA-100
MAX V · 5M160Z · 128 · 79 · 7.5 ns · 118.3 MHz at 1.8 V · 1.8 V · 1.5 V / 1.8 V / 2.5 V / 3.3 V LVCMOS/LVTTL

✓ In Stock

$7.1 / Unit

View Datasheet →

5M160ZM100C4N Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Device Type CPLD
Family MAX V
Macro Cells 128
Propagation Delay 7.5 ns
Internal Frequency 184 MHz
User I/O Pins 79
Supply Voltage Range 1.71 V to 1.89 V
Package 100-pin micro FBGA
Package Type MBGA-100
Package Dimensions 6 mm × 6 mm
Ball Pitch 0.50 mm
Operating Temperature 0 °C to +85 °C
Mounting Type Surface Mount
Configuration Technology Flash-based programmable logic
RoHS Status unknown
REACH Status unknown
AEC-Q100 Qualification not_qualified
Lead-Free Status unknown
Halogen-Free Status unknown
Conflict Minerals Status unknown

5M160ZM100C4N 6 mm × 6 mm Pin Configuration Guide

Complete pinout information for 5M160ZM100C4N (6 mm × 6 mm package) with 79 pins. This digital IC includes GPIO, communication interfaces (UART, SPI, I2C), and power pins. Refer to the manufacturer datasheet for alternate pin functions and configuration options. Essential for embedded system design and PCB layout.

6 mm × 6 mm package pinout diagram for 5M160ZM100C4N

No detailed pinout data available for 5M160ZM100C4N.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Estimated pin count: 79 pins (digital package)

Safe Operating Area (SOA) & Thermal Characteristics

Safe Operating Area Chart Default safe operating area chart for 5M160ZM100C4N Drain-to-Source Voltage (Vds) Drain Current (Id)

No official SOA curve available for this digital IC. Always operate within absolute maximum ratings specified in the datasheet. Ensure adequate cooling and derate as needed.

Typical Applications

5M160ZM100C4N is suitable for 6 applications: Industrial Control Interface, Communications Equipment, Test and Measurement Logic, Display and Peripheral Control, Embedded System Bus Bridge, IoT Edge Controller.

🏭

Industrial Control Interface

The 5M160ZM100C4N fits industrial control-interface logic where 128 macrocells provide moderate programmable capacity and 79 user I/Os support control, status, and peripheral connections. A design can use the CPLD for signal conditioning, sequencing, protocol adaptation, or address decoding while retaining deterministic control-oriented logic. The 7.5 ns propagation-delay value is useful for ordinary control and interface timing budgets, while the 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range requires a tightly regulated rail. Because the verified operating range is 0 °C to +85 °C, confirm that the target environment stays within the commercial-temperature specification. The 100-pin micro FBGA package reduces board footprint but requires verified escape routing, land-pattern data, and assembly capability.

🌐

Communications Equipment

The 5M160ZM100C4N is relevant to communications and networking equipment that needs moderate glue-logic capacity, bus adaptation, or deterministic control functions. Its 79 user I/Os can connect control signals between physical-layer devices, processors, memory interfaces, and status-monitoring circuits without requiring a high-capacity FPGA. The listed 7.5 ns propagation-delay specification helps establish a timing budget for control paths, although the final design must use the manufacturer timing model. The 1.71 V to 1.89 V operating range supports low-voltage digital rails, while the 100-pin micro FBGA package offers high connection density in a 6 mm × 6 mm outline. Validate I/O-bank compatibility, signal-integrity constraints, and the exact configuration interface before release.

🔧

Test and Measurement Logic

The 5M160ZM100C4N can implement configurable sequencing, trigger routing, signal qualification, and instrument-control logic in test and measurement systems. The 128 macrocells are sufficient for moderate state machines, data-path control, and interface glue, while 79 user I/Os provide many connections for sensors, switches, converters, and test buses. The verified 7.5 ns propagation-delay value supports a concrete timing design target, but engineers should validate setup, hold, clock, and I/O timing from the complete device documentation. The 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range simplifies low-voltage digital integration, and the 100-pin micro FBGA package keeps the logic compact. Use controlled impedance, local decoupling, and verified package escape routing to protect measurement accuracy.

📺

Display and Peripheral Control

The 5M160ZM100C4N is suitable for display and peripheral-control functions that require moderate programmable logic, multiple control signals, and compact physical placement. Its 79 user I/Os can coordinate display timing, enable signals, reset sequencing, keypad or touch-interface controls, and status indicators. The 128 macrocells allow implementation of finite-state machines, format conversion, or address decoding, while the 7.5 ns propagation-delay specification provides a reference for ordinary digital-control paths. The 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range supports low-voltage digital systems. Because the device uses a 100-pin micro FBGA package, the PCB design must account for the 0.50 mm pitch, verified ball numbering, assembly rules, and signal-return paths.

🖥️

Embedded System Bus Bridge

The 5M160ZM100C4N can bridge incompatible embedded-system buses by using programmable logic for address decoding, wait-state generation, interrupt handling, and signal-level adaptation. With 128 macrocells, it supports moderate bridge logic without moving to a large FPGA, and the 79 user I/Os allow multiple control and data-path connections. The 7.5 ns propagation-delay value is useful for preliminary timing estimates, while the 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply specification must be matched to the system rail. The 100-pin micro FBGA package helps conserve board area, but its 0.50 mm pitch requires careful fanout. Confirm directionality, voltage tolerance, clocking, and power sequencing in the complete datasheet.

🧩

IoT Edge Controller

The 5M160ZM100C4N can serve as compact edge-control logic in IoT equipment, handling sensor-interface adaptation, power sequencing, status aggregation, and low-to-moderate-speed protocol bridging. The 128 macrocells provide enough capacity for control-oriented state machines and interface glue, while 79 user I/Os support sensors, communication modules, indicators, and management signals. The 7.5 ns propagation-delay value helps define a conservative control-path budget, and the 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range supports low-voltage digital rails. The 100-pin micro FBGA package is advantageous for space-constrained boards, but the 0.50 mm pitch and 6 mm × 6 mm footprint require controlled assembly. Verify the commercial 0 °C to +85 °C range against the deployment environment.

What is 5M160ZM100C4N?
5M160ZM100C4N is an Intel/Altera MAX V-family complex programmable logic device with 128 macrocells, 79 user I/O pins, and a 100-pin micro FBGA package. Verified distributor listings identify a 7.5 ns propagation-delay specification and a 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range. According to the supplied distributor and datasheet-index data, it is intended for programmable digital control, interface, and logic-integration applications.
What are the key specifications of 5M160ZM100C4N that engineers should know?
The key verified specifications are 128 macrocells, 79 user I/O pins, a 7.5 ns propagation-delay value, a 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range, and a 100-pin micro FBGA package measuring 6 mm × 6 mm with 0.50 mm pitch. The supplied listings also identify an operating temperature range of 0 °C to +85 °C. According to the verified distributor data, the device is classified as a MAX V-family CPLD.
What is the supply voltage of 5M160ZM100C4N?
The verified supply-voltage range for 5M160ZM100C4N is 1.71 V to 1.89 V. This value is provided by the LCSC product listing and is also consistent with the 1.8 V description in the supplied product search data. According to the available listings, designers should validate the final rail tolerance and decoupling network against the manufacturer datasheet before production release.
How many user I/O pins does 5M160ZM100C4N provide?
5M160ZM100C4N provides 79 user I/O pins according to the supplied DigChip specification snippet. The 79-pin user-I/O count is useful for estimating the number of address, data, control, status, and peripheral connections that can be supported. According to the package listing, the device is supplied in a 100-pin micro FBGA package, leaving the remaining package connections to package functions and non-user assignments.
What is the propagation delay of 5M160ZM100C4N?
The verified propagation-delay value for 5M160ZM100C4N is 7.5 ns. This timing figure is reported in the supplied Intel/FindIC listing and is relevant to control-logic and interface applications where predictable signal paths are required. According to the available data, the part also has a listed internal frequency of 184 MHz. Final timing closure must use the complete manufacturer timing model and the selected configuration.
What package does 5M160ZM100C4N use?
5M160ZM100C4N uses a 100-pin micro FBGA package, also identified as MBGA-100 in the supplied specification data. The package is listed as 6 mm × 6 mm with a 0.50 mm ball pitch. According to the verified package description, it is a surface-mount package. Designers should verify the exact pin map, ball numbering, land pattern, and assembly recommendations using the manufacturer package information.
Is 5M160ZM100C4N the same as 5M160ZM100I5N?
No. 5M160ZM100C4N and 5M160ZM100I5N are related MAX V-family CPLD listings, but their ordering codes indicate different device grades or conditions, with I5N commonly denoting an industrial-grade option and C4N commonly denoting a commercial-grade option. The supplied comparison listing identifies both as 100-pin packages but does not provide a complete verified pin-by-pin or grade-level equivalence table. According to the cross-reference data, the parts should not be treated as confirmed drop-in replacements without a detailed manufacturer comparison.
Can 5M160ZM100C4N replace 5M160ZM100I5N?
No confirmed drop-in replacement claim can be made from the supplied evidence alone. The comparison search result lists 5M160ZM100C4N and 5M160ZM100I5N as 100-pin devices, but it does not verify that all electrical, timing, configuration, and commercial-versus-industrial temperature characteristics are identical. According to the available cross-reference listing, the industrial-grade designation may be a material difference. Confirm the ordering-code option table and pinout before substitution.
Where can I buy 5M160ZM100C4N online?
5M160ZM100C4N can be sourced through the distributor channels shown in the verified search results, including DigiKey, Mouser, LCSC, Octopart, Xecor, and Avaq. The supplied data identifies a DigiKey product page and a Mouser product page, while LCSC lists a starting price of $1.5506. According to distributor search data retrieved on 2026-09-06, confirm current stock, authorized status, package condition, and quantity pricing before ordering.
What is the price of 5M160ZM100C4N?
The supplied LCSC listing gives 5M160ZM100C4N at a starting price of $1.5506, with stock explicitly reported as in stock. As of 2026-09-06, this is the only verified unit-price datum supplied in the web results; DigiKey, Mouser, and other distributor snippets do not expose a reliable unit price. According to the source data, request current quotes for quantities of 1, 10, 100, 500, 1000, and 3000 because distributor pricing can change.
Is 5M160ZM100C4N in stock?
Yes, the supplied LCSC product listing explicitly reports 5M160ZM100C4N as in stock and prices it from $1.5506. That statement is specific to the LCSC listing and does not guarantee stock at every distributor. According to the verified search results retrieved on 2026-09-06, check live inventory at the selected distributor, confirm the full manufacturer part number, and validate shipment terms before placing a purchase order.
What is the lead time for 5M160ZM100C4N?
The supplied distributor results do not provide a verified lead-time value for 5M160ZM100C4N. The LCSC result states that the part is in stock, but it does not state a delivery commitment. According to the available data, procurement teams should request a current quote and shipping estimate directly from the distributor. Do not infer a lead time from the existence of a product page or from a cached price.
Where can I download the 5M160ZM100C4N datasheet PDF?
The supplied results include a Datasheet.Live page that provides a datasheet reference for 5M160ZM100C4N, and distributor pages are available from DigiKey and Mouser. According to the verified data, use the manufacturer or authorized-distributor product documentation as the controlling source for pinout, timing, configuration, and ordering information. The supplied data does not provide a verified original Intel PDF URL, so the product documentation link should be treated as a datasheet reference rather than a guaranteed manufacturer download.
Where is the 5M160ZM100C4N pinout located?
The supplied data identifies 5M160ZM100C4N as a 100-pin micro FBGA/MBGA-100 package, but it does not include a complete verified pin-number and pin-name map. According to the available package listings, the exact ball numbering, I/O assignments, and package-specific functions must be obtained from the manufacturer package documentation. The public sources used here are therefore insufficient to publish an exact 100-pin pinout without risking an incorrect assignment.
Is 5M160ZM100C4N suitable for industrial-control logic?
5M160ZM100C4N is suitable for commercial-temperature programmable-control designs, with the verified operating range listed as 0 °C to +85 °C. Its 128 macrocells and 79 user I/Os can support moderate glue logic, interface conditioning, sequencing, and state-machine functions. According to the supplied data, an industrial application requiring operation outside that listed range should not select this commercial-grade option without a separately verified industrial-grade part and confirmation of all relevant qualifications.
How does 5M160ZM100C4N compare with larger programmable-logic devices?
5M160ZM100C4N provides 128 macrocells, which places it in a moderate-density CPLD class, while larger FPGA devices generally provide substantially greater logic capacity, memory, and high-speed serial capabilities. The verified 7.5 ns propagation-delay value and 79 user I/Os make the 5M160ZM100C4N more directly suited to deterministic control and interface functions than to very large parallel data processing. According to the supplied specifications, use a larger device only when its additional resources are justified by the design.
What is the difference between a CPLD and an FPGA in a 5M160ZM100C4N design?
A CPLD is a programmable logic device optimized for moderate logic density, fast configuration, and predictable control-oriented operation, while an FPGA generally offers higher logic capacity and more specialized processing resources. The 5M160ZM100C4N is identified as a 128-macrocell CPLD with 79 user I/Os and a 7.5 ns propagation-delay specification. According to the verified data, it is appropriate when the design needs moderate programmable logic rather than the capacity of a large FPGA.
Does 5M160ZM100C4N support flash configuration?
Yes, the supplied Partstack listings identify 5M160ZM100C4N as a flash PLD. This classification indicates a programmable-logic device using flash-based configuration rather than relying on an external configuration memory in the same way as a typical SRAM-based FPGA. According to the verified listing data, the device belongs to the Altera MAX V CPLD family and is available in a 100-pin surface-mount package. Confirm configuration behavior and supported programming flows in the manufacturer documentation.
What is the best cross-brand equivalent for 5M160ZM100C4N?
No verified cross-brand drop-in equivalent for 5M160ZM100C4N is provided in the supplied cross-reference results. The search results contain cross-reference tools and product pages, but they do not identify a different manufacturer with verified same-package, pin-to-pin, and key-parameter compatibility. According to the available web data, a cross-brand replacement would require a formal manufacturer cross-reference or an independently verified pinout and electrical comparison; it should not be inferred from the 100-pin package count alone.
What is the best drop-in replacement for 5M160ZM100C4N?
No confirmed drop-in replacement is established by the supplied evidence. The available search results identify related 5M160ZM100 ordering-code variants, including 5M160ZM100I5N, but do not provide a complete verified pinout, timing, temperature, and electrical comparison for the target. According to the cross-reference data, treat these listings as related parts rather than guaranteed replacements. A same-package part should only be called drop-in after a manufacturer cross-reference confirms pin-to-pin compatibility.
What is the operating temperature of 5M160ZM100C4N?
The verified operating-temperature range for 5M160ZM100C4N is 0 °C to +85 °C. This commercial-temperature specification is reported by the supplied LCSC listing and is also reflected in the distributor search data. According to the available data, the C4N ordering code should not be assumed suitable for extended industrial or automotive temperature requirements. Select a separately qualified ordering option when the design exceeds the stated range.
What should I check before laying out a PCB for 5M160ZM100C4N?
Before PCB layout, confirm the 100-ball micro FBGA land pattern, 0.50 mm ball pitch, exact ball numbering, supply-voltage rails, decoupling requirements, and configuration connections. The verified package data identifies a 6 mm × 6 mm MBGA-100 package and surface-mount construction, but it does not provide the complete pinout. According to the supplied data, use the manufacturer package drawing and datasheet to generate escape routing, via-in-pad requirements, assembly rules, and thermal analysis.
Does 5M160ZM100C4N meet RoHS and REACH requirements?
The supplied data does not verify RoHS, REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals status for 5M160ZM100C4N. The commercial distributor pages provide product, pricing, inventory, and package information but do not include complete compliance declarations. According to the available evidence, compliance must be confirmed from the manufacturer declaration or authorized distributor documentation before use in a regulated or restricted-substance program.
Is 5M160ZM100C4N active or obsolete?
The supplied product pages list 5M160ZM100C4N for sale and the LCSC listing explicitly reports it as in stock, so this data set supports an active marketplace status as of 2026-09-06. The provided results do not contain a formal manufacturer lifecycle statement, a last-time-buy notice, or an obsolete designation. According to the verified evidence, treat lifecycle status as active for sourcing purposes but recheck manufacturer notices and distributor availability before committing to a long production run.

Engineering reference data for 5M160ZM100C4N — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose 5M160ZM100C4N when a design needs a 128-macrocell CPLD, 79 user I/Os, a 1.71 V to 1.89 V supply range, and a compact 100-pin micro FBGA package for commercial-temperature operation from 0 °C to +85 °C. It is a strong fit for interface bridging, control sequencing, and moderate glue logic rather than high-capacity data processing. Evaluate 5M160ZM100I5N only as a related option when an industrial-temperature application is required, and verify every electrical, timing, configuration, and pin-level difference before calling it a drop-in replacement. Use a larger FPGA only if the design needs substantially more logic, memory, or specialized I/O resources beyond the 128-macrocell and 79-user-I/O capability. For production, confirm the package land pattern, timing model, programming flow, compliance documentation, and current distributor availability.

Comparison with Alternatives

Parameter This Product 5M160ZM100I5N
Brand Intel Intel
Package MBGA-100 MBGA-100 - same package family
Macro Cells 128 128
Propagation Delay 7.5 ns [DATA_NEEDED]
User I/Os 79 79
Supply Voltage 1.71 V to 1.89 V [DATA_NEEDED]
Operating Temperature 0 °C to +85 °C Industrial-temperature ordering option; exact range not provided
Internal Frequency 184 MHz 1474.9 MHz listed in comparison snippet; metric context requires verification
Package Pitch 0.50 mm [DATA_NEEDED]

Key Differentiators

  • Moderate CPLD logic capacity (vs 5M160ZM100I5N)
  • Compact high-pin-count package (vs 5M160ZM100I5N)
  • Commercial-temperature operating range (vs 5M160ZM100I5N)

Design Notes

Use a regulated supply within the verified 1.71 V to 1.89 V range and confirm the exact power-up sequencing and decoupling requirements in the manufacturer documentation. Place local ceramic bypass capacitors at the supply pins with the shortest possible return paths, and evaluate the complete design for simultaneous switching noise. The supplied data does not state quiescent current, peak current, or power-consumption values, so those values must not be estimated in a production power budget.

Treat the 100-pin micro FBGA package as a high-density surface-mount design. Confirm the manufacturer land pattern, ball numbering, 0.50 mm pitch, via and escape rules, solder-mask definition, and assembly qualification before routing. The verified data gives a 6 mm × 6 mm package outline but does not provide the complete pinout. Use controlled-impedance planning for critical high-speed paths and keep clock and configuration traces away from noisy power-conversion components.

Do not infer exact compatibility from the 100-pin package count or from the similar 5M160ZM100I5N ordering code. Verify the complete pinout, I/O-bank electrical limits, timing model, configuration interface, temperature grade, and package drawing. The available evidence does not provide the exact 5M160ZM100I5N voltage range, delay, or detailed pin map, so it should be treated as a comparison candidate rather than a guaranteed drop-in replacement.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Unknown
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Not Qualified
Lead Free
Unknown
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

The supplied web data does not provide verified RoHS, REACH, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals declarations. No automotive qualification is stated for the target.

Data verified on: 2026-09-06 — data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

5M160ZM100C4N datasheet 5M160ZM100C4N price 5M160ZM100C4N in stock 5M160ZM100C4N pinout 128 macrocell MAX V CPLD 5M160ZM100C4N vs 5M160ZM100I5N 5M160ZM100C4N MBGA-100 5M160ZM100C4N buy online 5M160ZM100C4N lead time 5M160ZM100C4N industrial control logic 5M160ZM100C4N communication interface what is a 100-pin micro FBGA CPLD 5M160ZM100C4N cross-brand equivalent 5M160ZM100C4N 1.8 V 79 I/O

Related Components & Terms

Intel Altera 5M160ZM100C4N 5M160ZM100I5N 5M160ZM100A5N MAX V CPLD complex programmable logic device programmable logic device 128 macrocells 79 user I/Os 7.5 ns propagation delay 184 MHz internal frequency flash-based programmable logic MBGA-100 micro FBGA 100-pin package 6 mm × 6 mm package 0.50 mm ball pitch surface mount industrial control communications equipment test and measurement IoT edge controller RoHS REACH AEC-Q100
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details — our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details