Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundry

Polar Semiconductor licenses imec's GaN-on-Si process and epi to run 8-inch enhancement-mode GaN at its Bloomington, MN power fab, targeting 40-650V with planned expansion for 800V-to-12V data-center conversion.

已發布 已更新 4 分鐘閱讀 ✓ 支援 AI 分享

TL;DR — 三句話摘要

  • Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link will produce enhancement-mode GaN-on-Si devices on 8-inch wafers at Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. (S1)
  • The program is enabled by a license transfer of imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. (S1)
  • Initial voltage range is 40 to 650V, with planned expansion across the GaN power spectrum including 800V-to-12V data-center conversion. (S1)

取自 key_takeaways (實際欄位,最多 3 筆)。事實與分析分別標示。

Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundryEditorial cover for a component sourcing brief. Power motif; headline "Polar Semi and imec IC-Link add U.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line to a Bloomington power foundry". No reported key numbers on this brief, so no number strip is drawn. 1 cited source. Static cover (no animation).Polar Semi and imec IC-Link addU.S.-made 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si lineto a Bloomington power foundryXAIPART
Cover image generated from data already shown on this page: the category motif, the headline, and reported key numbers. No decorative illustration; no third-party image.

您來自 AI 回答 — 這是可驗證的原始內容

AI 摘要可能遺漏了其主張的依據。原始預測、受影響零件及每一項引用皆在本頁,且均可追溯至其來源。

XAIPART 預測

本簡報包含可證偽的預測。

受影響零件

此報導無目錄相符項目 — 寧可不顯示,也不推斷相符。

Reported by Polar Semiconductor on . Summarized and analyzed by XAIPART Editorial.

What happened

On , Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec said they are collaborating to provide 8-inch production of enhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN devices on silicon, with Polar manufacturing the parts at its power and sensor foundry in Bloomington, Minnesota. S1

The program is enabled by a license transfer agreement covering imec's GaN-on-Si process, device, and epitaxy to Polar. S1 The initial focus is 40 to 650V, with future expansion planned toward both lower and higher voltages across the GaN power spectrum, including 800V-to-12V conversion for data centers. S1

Through IC-Link, imec's design and manufacturing service, customers can obtain early access to the technology for prototyping and then transition to volume manufacturing at Polar. S1 Reza Kazerounian, Executive Chairman of Polar, framed the deal as part of a push to build a U.S.-based GaN Center of Excellence serving defense, AI, and automotive supply chains. S1 Thomas Piliszczuk, Chief R&D Programs & Portfolio Officer at imec, cited more than 15 years of imec GaN R&D as the technology base being transferred. S1

Target markets listed by the partners are AI data centers, automotive, aerospace & defense, and the industrial grid. S1

MetricReported valueSource
Wafer diameter8-inch[S1]
Device typeEnhancement-mode (e-mode) GaN-on-Si[S1]
Initial voltage range40 to 650V[S1]
Future voltage expansionBelow 40V and above 650V (planned)[S1]
Manufacturing siteBloomington, Minnesota (Polar foundry)[S1]
Licensor R&D tenure citedMore than 15 years of GaN R&D (imec)[S1]
Lead time, pricing, wafer startsNot disclosed[S1]

Background timeline

  1. - Polar Semiconductor and IC-Link by imec announce the 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si collaboration and license transfer to Polar's Bloomington, MN foundry. [S1]
  2. More than 15 years of imec GaN R&D cited as the technology basis for the transfer. [S1]
  3. No prior milestones disclosed by the source.

XAIPART take

Technical impact

XAIPART analysis An 8-inch e-mode GaN-on-Si line landing inside a U.S. high-voltage power fab is a relevant addition for designers targeting normally-off behavior with simple gate drive, since e-mode parts simplify circuit topology versus cascode or depletion-mode devices.

XAIPART analysis The 40-650V envelope covers the bulk of today's GaN opportunities (USB-PD adapters, server POL converters, OBC, industrial motor drive). Extending above 650V will matter for traction and grid-adjacent roles, but the partners name 800V-to-12V data-center conversion as the headline use case, so expect first PDKs and demo parts to skew toward 100/200V server-side converters.

Market impact

XAIPART analysis For procurement, a domestic 8-inch GaN line competes with existing Asia-based 6/8-inch GaN-on-Si capacity for allocation cycles; the source does not give wafer-start capacity or pricing, so qualification timing rather than spot price is the first lever to watch. Aerospace & defense and AI data-center dual-use positioning aligns with U.S. policy interest in onshore power-semiconductor supply.

XAIPART analysis Imec's IC-Link provides a prototyping front-end, which compresses the typical design-to-Polar-production handoff and could shorten multi-quarter evaluation cycles for design-in teams selecting a second source.

Action

XAIPART analysis Engineers evaluating 100-650V high-efficiency converters should request Polar's 8-inch GaN PDK and access path through IC-Link, and confirm JEDEC- or AEC-relevant qualification evidence before committing.

XAIPART analysis Buyers should ask Polar for an allocation roadmap and pin a second-source policy in writing, since the source discloses neither wafer-start capacity nor volume-pricing at announcement.

XAIPART Forecast

XAIPART analysis XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before ; if Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date, this forecast is wrong.

Facts are as reported by the cited source. The design-in, sourcing and forward-looking statements above are XAIPART's analysis, not the source's claims. Uncertainty: wafer-start capacity, lead time, qualification status (e.g., AEC-Q100/Q101), pricing and mass-production timing are not disclosed by the source and remain single-source until further data appears.

Corrections: none at publication. This brief will be updated with a timestamp if the source corrects its report.

替代品與生命週期

已建檔的替代品——目錄範圍,並非市場排名
零件關係生命週期依據
— 檔案中無替代品 需要資料 — 需要 match_type 在任何前代標籤出現之前

「前代」與「替代」標籤僅來自已記錄的相符類型、生命週期狀態或來源文字。未記錄相符項目時,不顯示任何標籤。我們自家的刊登內容不構成市場參考。

值得關注

可證偽預測 — 門檻、時間窗與目前狀態。已證偽的預測仍保留可見。
主張門檻作者狀態
XAIPART expects Polar's 8-inch GaN-on-Si line to surface a customer-qualified 100/200V e-mode GaN device listed on Polar's product page before 2027-06-30 Polar has not published a customer-qualified e-mode GaN part number by that date Pending

事後證明錯誤的預測會保留可見並加以標記。我們不會刪除。

受影響零件

無目錄相符項目。 此消息未對應到 XAIPART 目前上架的任何零件。我們不會推測相符項目,也不會顯示佔位清單。

各維度成本壓力

Source: FRED · Generated · reference output z and composite are algorithm outputs, not a fetch snapshot

Cost pressure by dimension — composite stateDiverging bars for three dimensions around a zero midpoint. Input Cost has no reading; Supply Demand z -1.4711, notable; Fx Energy z 0.1243, neutral. Composite index -10.1, band neutral.0Input costno readingSupply/demandz −1.4711 · notable46 dFX & energyz +0.1243 · neutral5 dcomposite −10.1 · neutral−100 · −40 · −15 · 0 · +15 · +40 · +100
Underlying values — copyable for verification.
DimensionFRED series IDUnitLagAs of
Input costPCOPPUSDM, PALUMUSDM, PNICKUSDMUSD/mt52 d
Supply/demandPCU334413334413, IPG3344Sindex(1982=100) / index(2017=100)46 d
FX & energyDEXCHUS, DCOILBRENTEU, DHHNGSPrate / USD/bbl / USD/MMBtu5 d

No free authoritative interface for: gold · silver · rare earth · polysilicon · lithium carbonate · market share — listed rather than approximated.

本內容的產生方式

流程證據 — 擷取、來源合理性、模型與閘門
此簡報的稽核軌跡
Source fetched Polar Semiconductor · polarsemi.com · 2,812 chars
Source sanity (S1) ok — passed before any model call (no s1_ block recorded)
Model / prompt MiniMax-M3 · prompt Blog Agent - News Summary (v2.8-final) · 6,580 tokens · 43.1s · run completed
Gate verdict hold · 5/6 applicable checks passed · spec v2.9 · C10 ratio 0.035214 · C10 rounds 0
Time contract 4 <time datetime> values in this brief — 0 violations (+08:00 or date-only)

上述每一列皆由流程產生,並非人工撰寫。

編輯評分

確定性閘門結果 — 純 PHP,判定過程無模型參與
閘門評分明細 6 項適用檢查, 5通過: 83 百分比. Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review. Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358. 適用檢查已通過 5 / 6 = 83% · 判定: hold Hold items: C13 (falsifiable forecast) — sent to human review Gate spec: v2.9 (S0 + S1 + C1–C20) · Source affinity (C20): 0.7358 是否發布由審核關卡決定。獨立稽核分數僅供參考。
發現錯誤? 告訴我們哪裡有誤 ——更正會與原文一同發布並記錄。我們不會默默修改文章。

留言

成為第一個留言的人。

來源

  1. Polar Semiconductor and imec IC-Link bring 8-inch GaN-on-Si production to a US foundry — https://polarsemi.com/?p=2242 · rss · 存取於

事實標記為 S1/S2,並可追溯至連結來源。標示為 分析 是 XAIPART 自身的推理,與報導事實分開保留。來源連結會被追蹤,而非 nofollow ——署名為刻意為之。